Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 16, 2003 Share September 16, 2003 A simple question for all. Are anti-roll bars normally mounted at the bottom of the car and strut bar at the suspension tower top ? Because I notice this thick bar holding both side of the engine bay (at the engine mounting height), but not on the top of the suspension tower, probably 10cm below. So, am curious if this is anti-roll bar or strut bar ??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 16, 2003 Author Share September 16, 2003 Here's a pic .. see the arrow pointed bar .. not very clearly presented. Note: Not the gold colored bar, that's the steering rack Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flaser Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Share September 17, 2003 I think it should be the anti-roll bar. Is it a bar shaped like a U or |___| , with the centre of the U connected to the body and the 2 ends connected to either side's suspension? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Author Share September 17, 2003 Nope .. just a >------< look-alike bar ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flaser Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Share September 17, 2003 OIC, then it's most likely not the anti-roll bar. Is it connected to the chassis or the suspension? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Author Share September 17, 2003 Chassis ... Reason why I ask, because most 2L Honda cars come with stock strut bar, e.g. Accord, Oddessey, CRV, all mounted onto the suspension top. But on the Stream, there isn't any (obvious ones) and there is only ONE aftermarket strut bar ... Recently, I notice this bar, so asked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cloverleaf Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Share September 17, 2003 (edited) that's not an antiroll bar. can't see where's the other end mounted to, so won't be able to tell, it could be a support bar for something. Edited September 17, 2003 by Cloverleaf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Author Share September 17, 2003 That's what I thut .. too high to be an anti-roll bar .. but too low to be a strut bar (or is it just plain generalization that strut bar must be on top ??) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cloverleaf Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Share September 17, 2003 well, it is widely known as strut bar because it holds the 2 suspension struts together, thus strut bar or strut brace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Author Share September 17, 2003 So in my case, it hold the chassis (near the suspension area) ... it's purpose there is to strengthen the chasis, just like strut bar ? But not a "strut" bar ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cloverleaf Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Share September 17, 2003 beats me man! haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Share September 17, 2003 Since we are on the topic of such things, ever heard of a Master Brake Cylinder Stopper? I've read it from somewhere. Any idea what is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Share September 17, 2003 uh... pardon my blurness... but I thought anti-roll are those things that protect the passengers if the car turns turtle ? Or is that roll-over bar ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Share September 17, 2003 wah.. you took out your airbox... what did you do this time ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Share September 17, 2003 Chassis ... Reason why I ask, because most 2L Honda cars come with stock strut bar, e.g. Accord, Oddessey, CRV, all mounted onto the suspension top. But on the Stream, there isn't any (obvious ones) and there is only ONE aftermarket strut bar ... Recently, I notice this bar, so asked. dun think so leh... fren's JDM Accord didn't see any strut bars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Author Share September 17, 2003 When you stepped your brake hard, the master brake cylinder, the black circle thing on your firewall will move OUT. The stopper is to prevent it from moving OUT, thus translate into more braking firm power Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Author Share September 17, 2003 NO LAH .. just some photo I found on the web ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 17, 2003 Author Share September 17, 2003 Actually why I ask, coz Oddy has stock strut bar, CRV has stock strut bar, new JDM accord has stock strut bar .. why Stream dun have .. so suspect it's that one loh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...