Why the Suzuki Ignis is not popular ???

Super7

Suzuki Ignis 1pix.gif

How come this car is not so popular in sgp???

car_portal_pic_11519_t.jpg car_portal_pic_11520_t.jpg 1pix.gifmore_images_1.gif 1pix.gif_W.gif

With a value-led pricing policy, excellent reliability record and a range of well packaged vehicles, it's a wonder Suzuki doesn't sell more cars in the UK.

Recent models, such as the Liana, have taken the Japanese firm to new levels of dynamic ability and interior quality, and while it's still nowhere near the top of its class, the Ford Focus rival does a pretty good job of providing family transport for not much money.

Similar things could be said of the original Ignis. Built to take on the Toyota Yaris and Ford Ka, it offered a surprising amount of space for less cash, and was a pleasant enough vehicle to drive, with handling and performance leagues ahead of other budget rivals.

Now there's an all-new Ignis, driven here for the first time in the UK - and it adds more to the mix. Available as a five-door with a new 1.3-litre engine featuring variable valve timing, the car can hold its head up against rivals such as the Ford Fusion and Vauxhall Meriva - especially when you look at the cost.

post-2-1063355592_thumb.jpg

Edited by Super7

On the road, the ride is adequate, if not brilliant, but the top-heavy style results in dramatic body roll when cornering hard. We're not keen on the gear-box, either, with its vague, notchy shift.

Where the Ignis does score highly, though, is under the bonnet. The 1.3-litre unit is eager to please, revving freely and maintaining an even torque spread throughout the powerband. Performance is excellent and economy is fairly good, although a fuel tank capacity of less than 41 litres limits the Ignis's range.

The switchgear has been improved, too. General Motors was involved in the car's development, and Suzuki was allowed to raid the US company's parts cupboard. As a result, the selection of dials and switches will be familiar to owners of Vauxhall Corsas and Astras.

The interior is reasonably stylish, with a number of classy touches, including the hooded instruments and built-in stereo controls, all of which have a quality feel. If these kind of advances are to be expected from other new Suzukis in the future, we're looking forward to a massively improved range.

Craig Cheetham 30_nice_fig_autoexp_200_x_200.gif30_nice_fig_autoexp_200_x_200.gif30_nice_fig_autoexp_200_x_200.gif

post-2-1063355733_thumb.jpg

The problem with Suzuki cars is that their range of engines are pretty outdated.

Honda has VTEC, Toyota has VVTi, Daihatsu has DVVT. What has Suzuki got?

The engines used in the 1.3l Suzuki Jimny, Liana & Ignis is shared with the Carry van. Who wants to pay big money for an old technology engine used in a van.

i guess you have a pt there.

heard that previous batches of hondas or nissans got problem with the cvt or some other technology.

also, i seemed to have noticed a few cars getting into flames on their own accord. mostly relates to bmw and a honda accord. understand for the bmw case, the car is heavily reliant on electronics which might have caused the short circuit.

don't flame me hor, any bmw or accord or even nissan and honda (who have problem with cvt or vtec or vti) owners - this seems to be the case i observed. but just a casual observation.

exactly. sometimes i would rather go fr older with improvement rather than pure switch to a new one. just like computer software. sometimes old ones work better, you just need to hv patches and upgrade. i m sure susukee is doing their part in improving their engines. and if something old can stay so long, they hv their worth.

for me i try to strike a balance in my purchases.

usually if its a new technology, i wait for others to use it first and be the guinea pig. Then after the technology stabilised, I evaluate whether i want the stuff. But of course, I do want the new technology but not at the expense of being a guinea pig.

For mobile phones at least, this is my strategy. So far all my mobile phones not much problem. Car, I can't comment too much though as I was quite green when i bought my car.

Agree with you.

I remembered fiddling with the carb engine of my dad's '81 Lancer.

If the timing runs, all I needed to do is take a coin and turn the valve clockwise (trial & error) and hey presto, the idling speed is stable again.

Edited by Vit4wd

side-track abit.... i use your strategy for hp also... any recommendations for above average price range hp??...... i need to replace mine in a month or two...many thanks... smile.gifsmile.gif

(camera is not necessary, tri-band quite must, radio will be bonus... light weight and small but not too small, looks not too particular... eyeing Siemen SL55 (the one which slides open)......)

In Singapore, everything is about BRAND.

Suzuki does not invest a lot in Brand Imaging and Projection. How many times have u seen a Suzuki ad ?? [dizzy]

People in Singapore watch lots of TV and read Newspapers and get influenced by what they see in the adverts. Thus, when their neighbours get Hondas, they get Nissans ... then its status quo. [crazy]

They scared the neighbours and relative will not envy their new Suzuki. [shakehead] Worst , some feel its like getting the same status as buying a Proton.

Like my dad always reminds me :

In other countries, people buy the type of cars they like, in Singapore .... people buy the cars their neighbours like.

He brought me up with this statement so even when I bought the Peugeot, I was the only Peugeot in my estate carpark, and I dun care what people say. [nod]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Hitman

Yup, agree totally:- many people do things, buy things, to 'please' others who are not really related to them or who dont really matter in their lives.... eg our neighbours, so what if they dun like what i drive... so what??? laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

but sometimes, resale value must be considered abit lah... (but if i buy 2nd hand, the first owner suffered first....)thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Edited by Super7

Yes, 2nd hand let the 1st owner suffer .... furthermore in this economic climate ... CASH IS KING !!! [nod][thumbsup]

Thats why I changed my mind from the 307 SW to the 323 .... prefer to hold onto MAXIMUM CASH [crazy]

Wah...I fully agree with you...CASH IS KING....HOLD YOUR CASH AND YOU ARE EMPEROR nowsaday...hehehe....

Anyway...I really don't understand why people why to drive cars which is considered class by others...if you are really a car enthusiast...then you would appreciate why some cars are made in some ways...every car has its own strength and weakness...so am I right that by saying this...that those car owners driving cars other people like are just making use of their cars to show themselves off...sorry man...but i really find it quite sickening at times....

And I really really hope more car model can come in too...whenever read foreign car mags...wah lao...i can see so many different models...singapore turn left turn right all sunny, corolla, lancer, accent, benz and bmws....anyone knows why mits spyder is not in?...really don't understand...can bring in evo cannnot bring in spyder meh??...that car is really [inlove][inlove][inlove]

"but i really find it quite sickening at times.... "

That is life in SG manz [shakehead] . You gotta uphold your honours I guess.

anyone knows why mits spyder is not in?...really don't understand...can bring in evo cannnot bring in spyder meh??...

Its mostly boils down to costs and the COE factor which is not evident in other countries. To bring in a car, there are procedures to go through with LTA and when u bring in a car, it has to be a minimum order. What if the car dun sell ?? Thats the problem with the car market here. [rifle]

Good choice. That's why I went for a COE vehicle! Maximum cash cos I dun think I'll sell. Will hug onto this car til it goes out of production especially in M'sia! But that will never happen cos it's like a proton Saga!