Attn: fit/jazz owners batterywater overfill

Loosecannon

hi all:

i was talking to workshop owner about problems about fit/jazz. apperently some owners overfilled the battery water. Right below the battery is the connectors for the gearbox . hence, when the sulphric acid from the battery spill out, the connectors/controller get "burnt". thus resulting in gearbox problem. just a friendly warning , not to let uncle at the petrol station overfill battery water beyond the Max mark ... cheers

abit out of topic here but if u ask the uncle at petrol station to top up your battery water, is it free?

its generally not advisable to top up fully right, not only for fit cars?

"...right, not only for fit cars..."

I guess he means specifically FIT! Since the gearbox is directly under it....On my prev suzuki i overfilled, and yeah, there is some overflow..but no bad effect did occur...but not recommended la..wink.gif

And Loosecannon...tks for the advise!!!thumbsup.gif

Oh...and some uncles at the petrol stations normally do it for free..they are really nice, and normally a small token sum suffices their gesture..nod.gifthumbsup.gif

um,... question, battery water must fill one meh? i've never done it all these 8 months leh unsure.gif

btw, Loosecannon! thanks for the heads up!! thumbsup.gif

Edited by Jazziegirl

laugh.giflaugh.gifYep...there is a marker you have to look out for...think 12mm above the lead plates or sth lidat.....u have to check ur battery...or ask UNCLE...and make sure u use battery water, not newater or Eviantongue.gif

um,... question, battery water must fill one meh? i've never done it all these 8 months leh unsure.gif

Depend on your battery type, there also maintenance-free battery where no maintenance require.wink.gif

I knew that Honda come with semi-maintenance-free, viewing window from the top with one hole only, fill or not fill not very much diff. Anyway, when battery is okay, normally not necessary to fill water.... can anyone confirm that?confused.gif

"...Anyway, when battery is okay, normally not necessary to fill water.... "

Fm wat I understand...it is not healthy as the plates will dry up and shorten the life of the battery...smile.gif ?

Edited by RadX

Better check now before it complaint and refused to work. laugh.giflaugh.gif

I also dun bother to check for first 9 months after I own my car. One day hand itchy to check and discovered all battery water way below the min level. Luckily it still working. sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Oh...and some uncles at the petrol stations normally do it for free..they are really nice, and normally a small token sum suffices their gesture..nod.gifthumbsup.gif

u mean its not free ie. u got to give them $2 after they do the job [;)]