Loosecannon Neutral Newbie September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 hi all: i was talking to workshop owner about problems about fit/jazz. apperently some owners overfilled the battery water. Right below the battery is the connectors for the gearbox . hence, when the sulphric acid from the battery spill out, the connectors/controller get "burnt". thus resulting in gearbox problem. just a friendly warning , not to let uncle at the petrol station overfill battery water beyond the Max mark ... cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 hi Loosecannon, Thanks for sharing, well done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 abit out of topic here but if u ask the uncle at petrol station to top up your battery water, is it free? its generally not advisable to top up fully right, not only for fit cars? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 "...right, not only for fit cars..." I guess he means specifically FIT! Since the gearbox is directly under it....On my prev suzuki i overfilled, and yeah, there is some overflow..but no bad effect did occur...but not recommended la.. And Loosecannon...tks for the advise!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 Oh...and some uncles at the petrol stations normally do it for free..they are really nice, and normally a small token sum suffices their gesture.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 (edited) um,... question, battery water must fill one meh? i've never done it all these 8 months leh btw, Loosecannon! thanks for the heads up!! Edited September 2, 2003 by Jazziegirl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 Yep...there is a marker you have to look out for...think 12mm above the lead plates or sth lidat.....u have to check ur battery...or ask UNCLE...and make sure u use battery water, not newater or Evian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 um,... question, battery water must fill one meh? i've never done it all these 8 months leh Depend on your battery type, there also maintenance-free battery where no maintenance require. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 Yep! Actually most newer cars come wif maintenance-free?? Yes/No?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 oops! i better go check the manual! thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 that's a good info for fellow Jazz/Fit owners well done Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 I knew that Honda come with semi-maintenance-free, viewing window from the top with one hole only, fill or not fill not very much diff. Anyway, when battery is okay, normally not necessary to fill water.... can anyone confirm that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 (edited) "...Anyway, when battery is okay, normally not necessary to fill water.... " Fm wat I understand...it is not healthy as the plates will dry up and shorten the life of the battery... ? Edited September 2, 2003 by RadX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 Manual may not be 100% becoz sometime the spec is diff, check with your agent/mechanic better, IMHO. Tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 Better check now before it complaint and refused to work. I also dun bother to check for first 9 months after I own my car. One day hand itchy to check and discovered all battery water way below the min level. Luckily it still working. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 so mine might be m-free? cool! will check! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 Oh...and some uncles at the petrol stations normally do it for free..they are really nice, and normally a small token sum suffices their gesture.. u mean its not free ie. u got to give them $2 after they do the job Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear September 2, 2003 Share September 2, 2003 A bottle of battery water in Petrol station is $1. The service is free but not the battery water hor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...