Legacyb4 Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 Like to ask brudders here on their comments. Seen many reviews & promos on these Super Fuel Max & Magnetizer Fuel Energizer thingy. http://www.tinet.org/~sje/mag_fuel.htm This also ken disputed claims by FTC, another Slick 50 job:- http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2001/11/gadget.htm http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/autos/gasave.htm If magnets so good, someone suggested stripping the old scrap HDD & use the neodymium iron boron magnets & taped it ard the fuel line Wonder if the Broquet has similar claims or settlement on theirs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 I tried a similar product from UK where two pairs of magnets are strapped onto the fuel inlet line and got poor results. Fuel economy went south by 1km/l !!! Throttle response improved slightly but IMHO at the expense of fuel economy is not justified. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 I you're talking about HDD magnets sticking onto oil filter it works! A friend of mine tried this test where he collected used engine oil into mineral water bottle and strapped a pair of magnets onto the side of the bottle. Then the bottle is flipped upside down and the debris is left on the magnet's contact area inside the bottle! Fine example indeed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoctorDrake Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 Take a look at this: http://www.thebeartrap.com/index.html I you're talking about HDD magnets sticking onto oil filter it works! A friend of mine tried this test where he collected used engine oil into mineral water bottle and strapped a pair of magnets onto the side of the bottle. Then the bottle is flipped upside down and the debris is left on the magnet's contact area inside the bottle! Fine example indeed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 Here's another http://www.magnaforce.com/about.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoctorDrake Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 Hmmm...USD 24.95. Wonder if it fits Bosch oil filters. Here's another http://www.magnaforce.com/about.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 I think the magneforce thingy has two universal sizes that either fit the Jap smallish filters or jumbo ones like my brick's oil filter. Alternatively stick two HDD magnets at opposite ends of the filter lah, cheap and good. How big is your Octy filter? cup or milo can size? Mine is half milo can Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoctorDrake Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 Dunno. Haven't had the car around long enough to look! Have to get under the car and remove the sound absorber panels. From the drawing in the service manual it looks like half milo can. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 Your oil filter should be similar to the VW/Audi 1.8T's ones right? Similar engine I suppose. Mine half milo can filter takes about 0.5litres. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoctorDrake Neutral Newbie January 24, 2002 Share January 24, 2002 Not similar engine. Exactly the same engine! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 25, 2002 Share January 25, 2002 Ahh.....the VAG trademark Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoctorDrake Neutral Newbie January 26, 2002 Share January 26, 2002 Yup! Skoda has used so many parts from the VAG parts bin that their cars are to all intents and purposes VWs under the skin. JTA even has an arrangement with VW to have access to VW's spares depot in Singapore! Ahh.....the VAG trademark Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vr_geek Neutral Newbie January 27, 2002 Share January 27, 2002 Just wanna find out if installation is easy? Me driving a 2001 Galant VRG. Is it useful in terms of fuel consumption? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 27, 2002 Share January 27, 2002 U mean the fuel magnet thingy or oil filter magnet? Both are relatively easy to install but the oil filter magnet is for protection rather than performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched January 27, 2002 Share January 27, 2002 one thing that strikes me. typically most of the moving parts within the engine block is aluminium. AFAIK, aluminium is extremely feebly magnetic when subjected to a magnetic field. hence, how does the minute metal scraps kena attracted to the magnet? any brudders ever installed this thingy and after say 10k take out and see wad kind of metal sludge it attracts??? U mean the fuel magnet thingy or oil filter magnet? Both are relatively easy to install but the oil filter magnet is for protection rather than performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 27, 2002 Share January 27, 2002 I do have a pair of magnets on my oil filter but never bothered to cut the oil filter open to check the crud stuck to the magnet area within the filter. Another way to check is to take used oil from a non-magnet treated car and do a test with the used oil in a clear bottle with magnets strapped to the bottle exterior. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vr_geek Neutral Newbie January 27, 2002 Share January 27, 2002 U mean the fuel magnet thingy or oil filter magnet? Both are relatively easy to install but the oil filter magnet is for protection rather than performance. OIC. Both protection and performance are important to me too... BTW, do you work at Valley Point? Your car looks familiar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 27, 2002 Share January 27, 2002 Bro U work at Valley Point too? Must catch up for Kopi! I usually park at the multi-storey side. I can hook up the fuel magnet thingy for you to trial as well. Cheers! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...