Effects of high flow cat?

Dptm

Yo Mike,

thanks for de tip, so having a free flow cat will add potential on your car and will not and should not consume more petrol unless driven harder then normal after mod. [crazy]

i will not decat my car.

You're right, a free flow cat is still a cat but with less restrictions. There should be some improvement in power and throttle response but the improvements could be marginal. Happy modding...... [;)]

Hi! there, Dptm,

The high flow cat isn't a straight thru, it's less restrictive than a stock one. it'd increase the hp by a bit.

Rgds

Paul Yong

Would we lose our low end torque??

Hi! there, Guyver,

Please check with the factory for the cat that you are buying. Just think of it as, for every action, there's an equal and opposite reaction.

Rgds

Paul Yong

Shag, I suppose this will help the engine to breath better in term of back pressure. [:)] This will certainly help save petrol in a way if u drive as per normal. [:|] But after the change to hi flow cat, [cool] u may find the car is better in power and i bet u cannot resist to push it further. [sly] This will comes to square one in term of fuel consumption and that is always so ( More power equates to more fuel used.) [:(] reply]

hmm, pardon me for my ignorance. Will having a high catalytic convertor has drastic improvement on fuel consumption? Or fuel consumption may suffer instead?

Say if my old old car wanna renew a cat, should I use high flow for low cc cars (less than 1.6L) and stick to original extractor/rear muffler?

Any advise appreciated. [:)][/reply]

[angelic]

thanks everyone for your reply, I guess I know what I want already [:p]

it may sound stupid lah, but i use vaccum gauge to monitor my driving behavior instead of a/f meter. Its pretty useful.

[angelic]

it may sound stupid lah, but i use vaccum gauge to monitor my driving behavior instead of a/f meter. Its pretty useful.

Remeber to show yr vaccum gauge next meet up, OK? [:)]

okie, pls dun expect much from a $45 vac meter [:p]

[angelic]

Remeber to show yr vaccum gauge next meet up, OK? [:)]

i am referring to the high flow cat alone, sorry for the confusion caused.

legal sports meow meow will set u back by about $700+ if I'm not wrong

illegal headers around $200+ (no legal ones except stock)

legal muffler another $700+

rite guys? [dizzy]

Edited by Lightspeed

>>Does removing the ceramic thing inside the cat convertor considered removing the cat convertor?

Techincally, yes, as it's those stuff inside the cat converter that makes it work. But................in the eyes of LTA, no, as they still see the shell! [sly] Unless they bother to look inside, which is highly unlikely! [laugh][laugh]

I've heard ppl use a rod to ram the inside of the converter and shake all the loose bits out. HEARD only ah! Please don't quote me hor! [sly][laugh][laugh]

Actually it's quite simple to tell whether a car has been de-catted or the cat is kaput. A rice fuel smell or rotten egg smell from the exhaust is a tell tale sign. The irony is even without a cat the car can still pass LTA inspection as they tend to test for CO rather then Nitrogen in the exhaust. CO levels are usually low for modern cars due to the efficient burn of the engine, however without the cat the poisonous Nitrogen gases are present in high volumes which is bad in the long run.

That's one reason why I chose to install a race cat in my brick's aftermarket exhaust setup last time. [nod]

sorry to barge in,

but is the straight thru cat = dummy cat?

will the straight thru one serve the function of the cat?

so if i want to change to 421 extractor,high flow cat and muffler would cost me around $1500?

Har!! in m'sia got alot of cars without CAT... siao liao... but come to think of it.. they got so many trees... guess... some recycling would get rid of the nitrogen oxide?? [laugh]

Yeah.. lots of malaysian cars has no CAT... Well.. even with CAT, the stoopid buses/lorries are puking out like 105% of NO, CO, C, and everything else..

The CAT replacement is called down pipes, race pipes, test pipes, etc...

My friend install the pipes and only change back the cat once a year for inspection.

Dunno what's the content in those CAT... However, I believe platinum is one of the catalysts... It is very expensive stuffs that they are shaking out of the CAT...

Such a waste destroying a good CAT.

I think it's a waste to destroy such stuff too. I prefer to change to another one and if I ever need to reuse the original cat, I'll still have it.

Technically there is no "striaght-thru" cat. Only race cat or straight pipe replacing the cat. Race cat have stainless steel plates rather then honeycomb containers for the catalytic material to "treat" the exhaust gases whereas a straight pipe is essentially an empty pipe allow the exhaut to flow right through with all the nasty stuff into the environment. [:|]