F1fan Neutral Newbie August 21, 2003 Share August 21, 2003 Anyone knows what are air breathers used for? Attached to which part? Any improvement? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Le_jeune Neutral Newbie August 21, 2003 Share August 21, 2003 hi it is supposed to enhance the performance of your car by improving the air intake into the engine to give better burning. the below is the description given one of the leading manufacturer, K&N. In the K&N tradition of engineering power, K&N Performance Kits are designed to dramatically reduce intake restriction as they smooth and straighten air flow. This allows your vehicle's engine to inhale a larger volume of air than the OEM air filter assembly. More air means more usable power and acceleration throughout the engine's RPM range, with even greater power gains in turbocharged and supercharged engines. The filters on these kits are washable and reusable. K&N manufactures three high performance kits for the automotive applications. chk out their website to find out more www.knfilters.com Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie August 21, 2003 Share August 21, 2003 I use to have one of these a long time ago in my 1978 Celica. The original air intake assembly (the plastic the air filter sits in) has a dual pipe .... larger ones go to the dual-carburetor and a smaller one goes to the manifold inlet. When I modified the stock air intake system .... to K&N ... it came with this AIR BREATHER. It is to be attached to the engine block inlet. Am not too sure whether fuel-injected cars got this or not ?? Horepower gain ... 5 bhp easy. However, bear in mind .... IT IS ILLEGAL !! Your inspection sure fail .... so make sure u take it out before going to inspection. Something to do with the CO2 your exhaust churns out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivioman Neutral Newbie August 27, 2003 Share August 27, 2003 Would you know where I can buy air breathers from in Singapore? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orixy 2nd Gear September 27, 2003 Share September 27, 2003 Speedworks Mr Loo sells the K&N breather. His contact is 67437288. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvgoh 1st Gear September 28, 2003 Share September 28, 2003 Hi Vivioman, Does Speedworks also stock up on the stock K&N filters for Toyota G9? How much would they cost? Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orixy 2nd Gear September 30, 2003 Share September 30, 2003 Hi there, Sorry not too sure about K&N for G9. Give Mr Loo a call and he will advise you accordingly. He is very nice and friendly person to talk to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2003 Share September 30, 2003 he should have it lah. CL7 also have liao lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvgoh 1st Gear September 30, 2003 Share September 30, 2003 Thanks bros for the info. Will contact them once my FC (wife) releases the funds Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangie Neutral Newbie September 30, 2003 Share September 30, 2003 Think its $90. Get the cleaning kit too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eo8888 Neutral Newbie October 1, 2003 Share October 1, 2003 Hi, Correct me if i'm wrong, but I thought breather pipes are for the excess unburn fuel and air mixture to re-enter ur air induction kit > engine? This is because you are not allowed to let off such harmful fumes into the atmosphere. Therefore, air breather filter is used to filter off the contaminants before the air is redirected back into the engine. It is used commonly with an "oil catch tank". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lwongcc Neutral Newbie October 1, 2003 Share October 1, 2003 Thanks for info!! already got mine few months back. Actually I'm the guinea pig the gave him the part no. and ask him to bring in 1 to try.. and it fits!! Now car breathes so much better.. sometimes can hear the air suction too! but have to add in the CAI.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie October 1, 2003 Share October 1, 2003 (edited) Pretty stupid for CAI to be illegal, as CAI will not change the emission too much. Most emission precautions are done by the engine. I think pipercross has very good design for CAI. http://www.pipercross.com (check out the gallery for chicks :) There are 2 factors being changed when using CAI. 1, air flow mass, 2. intake air temp. CAI will lower intake temp, and air flow mass is increased due to the cone filter. However, pipercross positioned the scoop efficiently on high pressure region such that the intake mass is drastically improved over normal CAI. I'm modding my car to have a scoop inside the bumper for my CAI. Edited October 1, 2003 by Zrun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie October 1, 2003 Share October 1, 2003 so how much you buy..........i always got special price Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttleb Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 CAI is not illegal. check out the LTA website. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttleb Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 (edited) it is directly/indirectly attached to your rocker cover to reliev crank case pressure. sorry, i earlier thought this was the one way valve thing that fits bewteen your inlet and brake manifold,. Edited October 2, 2003 by Throttleb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lwongcc Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 I got mine at about 90 lor.. and the cleaning kit additional 20.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttleb Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 Not too sure why it would give power, replaces the pipe that would normally recirculate the air back into the intake. It actually doesnt suck in air but discharges air?! regds ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...