Of discs and drums

Renegade

Been faced by this debate quite a few times and I'm still curious over the general stand here at MCF on whether drum brakes are inferior to discs in a car.

So, fire away, boys and girls - fact and fiction welcome..... [:)]

Err....thanks, but I was actually looking to some real-world, real-driver-based type comments. [laugh]

But thanks all the same.... [;)]

Edited by Renegade

Err....thanks, but I was actually looking to some real-world, real-driver-based type comments. [laugh]

But thanks all the same.... [;)]

Ok. i had cars with both systems, so i can say its fair of me to comment. Frankly, at the sort of speeds we encounter in Singapore, it makes no difference. Discs are probably better for cooling during track use or ah beng beating use [:p] But if normal driving is the norm, there arent any disavantages by using drums, its just a perception that discs are better, not to mention the looks of course.

Edited by Magfocus

My answer is that disc better than drum of performance, especially when using 4 pots calipers & above. Beside this, drum pads are more exp than disc pads. For exterior, disc brakes are good looking than drum brakes..agree?? but then drum brakes will not dirt the rims, so cleaning is easier. But when changing brake pads, discs pads are easier the drum, and drum brake will accumlate the brake dust inside, so be careful when open the cover. 0.0002cts

What we meant was stock standard! Of course not using 4pot lah!!! [laugh] Like that its def better what!

I mean for normal everyday driving, drum brakes work as well as disc brakes, if not better.

What we meant was stock standard! Of course not using 4pot lah!!! [laugh] Like that its def better what!

I mean for normal everyday driving, drum brakes work as well as disc brakes, if not better.

That Y, disc brake can be upgrade which drum can't! A lot of cars with 2pots frm manufaturers. If U are 70yrs old then u can have yr 'nornal everyday driving', most of us have adnormal driving everyday right! [:p], and dun forget that U need to cleand the brake dust under the cover frequently, otherwise...yr brake can be affected the 'normal performance' by hugh dust. [crazy]

Most of the braking force is at the front wheels, the rears have less of a bias.

But one thing, the handbrake works better with drums than with discs at the rear. Of course, cars would look cool with huge cross drilled and slotted discs! So when is yours coming? This would complete the look! [cool]

Most of the braking force is at the front wheels, the rears have less of a bias.

But one thing, the handbrake works better with drums than with discs at the rear. Of course, cars would look cool with huge cross drilled and slotted discs! So when is yours coming? This would complete the look! [cool]

This' also can proof that dics brake is better, otherwise the front still is drum brake.. [:p] But then why do some cars still with drum brake, most reason affected by the production cost.

Frankly, drum brake still can work well with those not powerful car.

This' also can proof that dics brake is better, otherwise the front still is drum brake.. [:p] But then why do some cars still with drum brake, most reason affected by the production cost.

Frankly, drum brake still can work well with those not powerful car.

Of cse, the price point of cars with drums are naturally lower, although i cannot say the same of my prev SiR with discs all round, braking was worse than my drum brake equipped Focus! [crazy][crazy]

I feel disc/drum setup usually has better braking stabability at lower town driving speed. Disc/Disc will be good for hard driving, high speed braking as they are usually cool faster then drum

Older jap cars with disc/disc combi usually require the driver to stom harder on the brake pedal.

Been faced by this debate quite a few times and I'm still curious over the general stand here at MCF on whether drum brakes are inferior to discs in a car.

So, fire away, boys and girls - fact and fiction welcome..... [:)]

I feel disc/drum setup usually has better braking stabability at lower town driving speed. Disc/Disc will be good for hard driving, high speed braking as they are usually cool faster then drum

Older jap cars with disc/disc combi usually require the driver to stom harder on the brake pedal.

Reg harder stomping - was thinking about it and I don't think I've ever driven a car with a disc/disc setup till now and the impression I get is the exact opposite. Could it be that things on my side aren't too well seasoned yet or is the hard-stomping a characteristic of a Jap disc/disc setup ? [:p]

like I said, older cars only. Conti and newer jap cars in 90s have bigger brake booster and the leg effort is much reduced.

Of cse, the price point of cars with drums are naturally lower, although i cannot say the same of my prev SiR with discs all round, braking was worse than my drum brake equipped Focus! [crazy][crazy]

I still prefer the braking of my prev cxxxc esi with all disc brakes. I agree that disc/drum combination is as effective but the "smoothness" in the braking process is better with disc/disc setup.

Anyway, cxxxc now also disc/drum setup... [:/]

I still prefer the braking of my prev cxxxc esi with all disc brakes. I agree that disc/drum combination is as effective but the "smoothness" in the braking process is better with disc/disc setup.

I guess for drivers in Sillypore, discs/drums is sufficient. Its more for aesthetics than anything else. Of course for the benefit of 'you know who', the Bimmers brakes ROCK!! [cool][:p][laugh]

Couldn't agree with u more!!! Tried and tested, they do ROCK!! [cool]

Ahhhh...something we agree on for a change? [:p]

Seems like the germans know how to make good brakes, for the benefit of braking on the autobahn perhaps?? [cool]