Symptom of battery dying ?

Andrewkb

my brother's car battery just "died" at the junction

Was it confirmed to be battery ?

Thot when engine is running, battery is not used.. all power is supplied by alternator.

yeah it was confirmed to be battery. it is possible lah, if battery reach a stage cannot charge already, even if alternator working, nothing to charge also no use.

do you guys carry a voltmeter around? if batteries dies or alternator faulty, we can use the voltmeter to test right?

anyone got advice on how to test if alternator spoilt? how much does a voltmeter cost?

Edited by Acemundo

other signs to look out for (in addition to those already mentioned) are whether ur clock and radio get reset and whether ur alarm can work or not.

i used my batt for about 3 yrs and had similar symptons as urs (difficult to start car)when the batt life is up (furthermore on CNY eve [sweatdrop] managed to find one shop open on that day). but in addition, i have the above symptons. the batt shop owner said "I use until gao chor already"

Twice this week, I've difficulties starting the car ...

The battery is ~2yr 3mths old and had never given me any problem starting. Normally single crank will get the car going. For that 2 occasions, I've to crank 3 times to start the car!

Does that mean that my battery going to die very soon ? [confused]

Don't want to be caught in a situation where I am strandled with a dead battery !

Your car too cold liow! [rolleyes][laugh][laugh][laugh]

yep.. carry one DVM in my boot.

analog voltmeters cost less than $20.

digital ones cost >$20... sky's the limit depending on the features.

to test battery, put the DVM leads on the battery with any one terminal disconnected.

to test alternator, connect battery and crank car. Measure at the battery terminals.

Just how I would do it... not necessarily the best way or the correct way.

prop open the bonnet, place the DVM on the terminals and measure..

of course can measure after u crank.

voltmeter is portable and runs on 9V battery, so can bring anywhere.gossip.gif

Sorry, I know this is a very old thread liao but I having problem with my battery, I got sympton like headlight and interior light keep on blinking on and off even though travelling on a straight road or expressway without stopping, head unit got reset and come back again.

Can anyone tell me is this the sympton of battery going flat and I am using maintenance free battery, I have change a few times liao and I have 2 amplifier and 1 subwoofer inside the car, should I change to a wet cell battery instead?

Just plug this unit to the cigarette ligher socket - the LEDs will indicate strong ,normal weak under battery for both battery and alternator

post-8-1115803455_thumb.jpg

mebbe ur starter has accumulation of carbon n need to be cleaned? try battery shops, there is one at level 3 of sin ming autopoint tat does check/ repair of starters/ alternator.

My problem previously seems better today, voltage when travelling highway is from 13.7 to 14 volts but when stop, battery slowly drop to 12.0V and below sometimes then when car moving, it pick up voltage again?

Does this means battery going flat soon?

i believe is ur battery not enough power, ur amp pumping power into ur sub, fixed a capacitor and it may solve the oproblem

this is due to the sudden intake of power for the amp ba, thus car not enough power...

i have this problem too, v slight, haf a capacitor in my car, jus when i blasting hifi, my interior light goes blinking..not too bad oso, got disco effect..

Thanks for your advice, I talk to the battery shop owner, he also advise me that and he told me that most audio installer will just tap the power from the battery directly instead of the igition which is better for the battery.

I guess I will direct my audio installer to change the power from the battery to the igition and also install a 2nd hand capacitor or else I will have to keep on changing my dry cell battery!

Sorry, I know this is a very old thread liao but I having problem with my battery, I got sympton like headlight and interior light keep on blinking on and off even though travelling on a straight road or expressway without stopping, head unit got reset and come back again.

Can anyone tell me is this the sympton of battery going flat and I am using maintenance free battery, I have change a few times liao and I have 2 amplifier and 1 subwoofer inside the car, should I change to a wet cell battery instead?

Your prob cud also b some of the wiring is loose. The vibrations when u drive is causing the connection to b intermittent. Check if the connections at the batt terminals r tight. Also the other wiring for the affected circuits.

mebbe ur starter has accumulation of carbon n need to be cleaned? try battery shops, there is one at level 3 of sin ming autopoint tat does check/ repair of starters/ alternator.

I think u mean the carbon brushes in the alternator are worn out. Get a re-con alternator.

do ur amp haf the so called aeroplane sound??

fixed a capacitor and see if the problem stills persist ba.....