Rudyaziz Neutral Newbie August 15, 2003 Share August 15, 2003 I recently bought a second-hand late '00 Elantra. Here are my concerns, I hope some experience driver/tuner can help with these... 1. Loud engine noise (revving) when pulling from 0-60. My impression is that the engine is underpowered. 2. It also happen when I drove up to KL on the North-South highway and the car got very loud when cruising above 110km/h. Noise was even loud from the back seats. 3. Rear left suspension seems soft. A few times when travelling above 110km, the rear left tire kept scraping against the chassis (or sounded like scrapping sound from tyre touching against the body) 4. Car and steering vibrate strongly at speeds between 110-140km/h. To the point that even the back seat passenger compartment feels vibrating. I've changed the engine oil twice in past 3 weeks (thinking that maybe the engine oil could be a factor). But no effect. Are these normal? Can someone give me advise on how to keep engine noise and vibrations down? How about the suspension? Please help! I love my Elantra hatchback, it's spacious and very comfortable with lots of leg room. the problems above are nagging at me and I'm worried that the car may not be performing as economically as I want it to be. I sent it for servicing to 2 places (Autobacs and Shell)... but I never seem to get my problems addressed coz I get the feeling that they only wanted to go through the motion of the "changing oil" package. So I don't think I was getting an honest opinion. Please help... any suggestions/advise is very much appreciated. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear August 15, 2003 Share August 15, 2003 ha, these 2 places are more for the regular servicing only lah, sent it to a workshop get the mechanic to check lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hkfung Neutral Newbie August 15, 2003 Share August 15, 2003 change yr air-filter/spark-plug/air-con svc? these may helps wat engine oil u using? yr suspension may be wearing out...clean yr throttle body? my 2cts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie August 15, 2003 Share August 15, 2003 (edited) Hi! there, RudyAziz, 1. Loud engine noise (revving) - Can this be a feature from the Hyundai engine?? Anyone can enlighten?? I'm not familiar with Hyundai engines. You might want to send the car for tuning - check valve clearance, cam timing. Timing belt? has it been changed? tensioner bearing? How about CV-joints, wheel bearings, clutch release bearing? 2. Scrapping sound from tyre - Seems like your shockers are worn. 3. Car and steering vibrate strongly - You might have dented front wheels, send the front wheels for balancing, or swap with the rear ones first, then do balancing. Is the car pulling to either the left or right? If not, then it's not an alignment problem. 4. Changed the engine oil twice - You've tried the cheapest way to diagnose, good for you, if you DIY, if not, then it's overspending. But then, did you also changed the gear oil?? 5. Did you considered checking the engine mounts too?? Are there anything rubbing the drive-shaft? Is the exhaust system mounted properly? Is it rubbing the chassis?? Bear in mind that if there's something touching the chassis, it will resonate on the whole chassis, that's why the rear passengers can feel it too. If you find that your shockers are worn, you might want to consider changing to adjustable shock absorbers. I hope you can solve all these problems, for an enjoyable ride. Rgds Paul Yong Edited August 15, 2003 by Pauly75ts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lester Neutral Newbie August 15, 2003 Share August 15, 2003 Hi there Rudyaziz 1. Loud engine noise is an attribute of of a well used Hyundai engine. I'm not suggesting you've bought a lemon but worst scenerio is your clutch set is going soon. 2. Have you checked your tires for uneven wear? Could it be your tires are of a less refine thread pattern or harder compound that gives louder tire noise when travelling fast? 3.Just your rear left? What about your rear right? Check your tirewell or inner fender for tire scrapping. If it happens only on one side, indication that your shock is failing. The Elantra is not a difficult vehicle to maintain. 4.Try driving at normal speeds over a few flat road stretches and pay attention if your steering is pulling to one side. Your alignment might be out? Could be your tire balancing is out as well? Sometimes problems are not as complex as it seems... just that as times when you are over sensitive, the molehill becomes a mountain! Well, it happens to everyone. Glad that you love the Hyundai Elantra Hatchy! It's a great and economical vehicle to own. Hope this is helpful. Regards Lester Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie August 31, 2003 Share August 31, 2003 Lester is right about the clutch, I had mine changed and it sounds so much often...almost totally quiet. If you do an engine brake and it roars like nobody's business, then it's the clutch... cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dudemobile Neutral Newbie September 10, 2003 Share September 10, 2003 I recently bought a second-hand late '00 Elantra. Here are my concerns, I hope some experience driver/tuner can help with these... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear September 10, 2003 Share September 10, 2003 Loud noise could be tire noise too. May be can try to rev up during stationary and feel the noise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greenelantra Neutral Newbie December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 I recently bought a second-hand late '00 Elantra. Here are my concerns, I hope some experience driver/tuner can help with these... 1. Loud engine noise (revving) when pulling from 0-60. My impression is that the engine is underpowered. 2. It also happen when I drove up to KL on the North-South highway and the car got very loud when cruising above 110km/h. Noise was even loud from the back seats. 3. Rear left suspension seems soft. A few times when travelling above 110km, the rear left tire kept scraping against the chassis (or sounded like scrapping sound from tyre touching against the body) 4. Car and steering vibrate strongly at speeds between 110-140km/h. To the point that even the back seat passenger compartment feels vibrating. I've changed the engine oil twice in past 3 weeks (thinking that maybe the engine oil could be a factor). But no effect. Are these normal? Can someone give me advise on how to keep engine noise and vibrations down? How about the suspension? Please help! I love my Elantra hatchback, it's spacious and very comfortable with lots of leg room. the problems above are nagging at me and I'm worried that the car may not be performing as economically as I want it to be. I sent it for servicing to 2 places (Autobacs and Shell)... but I never seem to get my problems addressed coz I get the feeling that they only wanted to go through the motion of the "changing oil" package. So I don't think I was getting an honest opinion. Please help... any suggestions/advise is very much appreciated. Hi, Try this shop,they can give you advice free of charge,The guys there are very helpful and friendly.And most important,they really knows our car.According to the boss,the shop been around since 1985 before the existent of Komoco. They are one of the authorised dealers in parts,and all sort of equipments including the ECU diagnosis PDA to service Hyundai cars. Best of all,the charges there are about half or lesses then Komoco charges according to what I've done today. This shop is at; Sebs Auto Enterprise Blk 1065 Eunos Ave 4 #01-170 Tel : 6747 1538 By the way,I'm not earning any commission or extra discount by posting this here.Its just something good to share with you all. Just say intro by Ah liang may get better discount. Regards Liang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mmythos Neutral Newbie December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 "Car and steering vibrate strongly at speeds between 110-140km/h" You are driving a HYUNDAI ELANTRA... not surprise... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 (edited) Got fren who told me about his exp with his old Hyundai Elantra, choked cat was the problem...... (Too early for a newer car?) Edited December 13, 2003 by Normal_aspirated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 (edited) Welcome to MCF, do join us for meetup 1.the engine is not under power,maybe u need to change your air filter,change air-intake in elantra can improve the power as i have done with accent. 2.elantra sound-insulation is quite gd,loud should be due to tires also. 3.suspension,maybe is time to change your damer=shock aborder 4.steeling,time to do a wheel aligment cheerz WHY M IANSWER ATHREAD IN AUG???? 3 Edited December 13, 2003 by King Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 WHY M IANSWER ATHREAD IN AUG???? ya, why dig out an old thread to ans?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 Abang Rudy .... 1. Loud engine noise (revving) when pulling from 0-60. My impression is that the engine is underpowered. 2. It also happen when I drove up to KL on the North-South highway and the car got very loud when cruising above 110km/h. Noise was even loud from the back seats. = Same problem I have with the 323 ... so I dun think its underpowered. Just not up to its maximum potential without mods. Bang , I suggest u come meet some of us with your car and we can help u further. Type until pengsan also cannot help you solve your worries Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 eh, how come you not in KL??? when are you leaving??? me leaving after sunday lunch.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 "Car and steering vibrate strongly at speeds between 110-140km/h" You are driving a HYUNDAI ELANTRA... not surprise... Could you please explain further? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 Welcome to MCF Do join our weekly meetup on fridays Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear December 13, 2003 Share December 13, 2003 I recently bought a second-hand late '00 Elantra. Here are my concerns, I hope some experience driver/tuner can help with these... 1. Loud engine noise (revving) when pulling from 0-60. My impression is that the engine is underpowered. I presumed its auto. Auto car when accelerating hard, U must be decisive. Don't accelerate and then decide to throttle back,then u experience loud revving and no pickup. Technique, hit the accel down (all the way if you want 0-60 test)and let the car pick up until speed and noise level back to normal then release the pedal and set new setting. Or release the accel pedal completely then accelerate slowly (normal driving) if u decide to change your mind. 2. It also happen when I drove up to KL on the North-South highway and the car got very loud when cruising above 110km/h. Noise was even loud from the back seats. Standard elantra (no mods done) shd not be noisy. Sometimes petrol and tyre can contribute to the noise plus unbalance rear tyres. 3. Rear left suspension seems soft. A few times when travelling above 110km, the rear left tire kept scraping against the chassis (or sounded like scrapping sound from tyre touching against the body) What tyre size did you use. Are they correct type recommended for the car. If not, then that maybe the problem. 4. Car and steering vibrate strongly at speeds between 110-140km/h. To the point that even the back seat passenger compartment feels vibrating. Need to balance the four tyres. Some tyre shop machine are out of calibration, so they blame on your wheel and tyres. I've changed the engine oil twice in past 3 weeks (thinking that maybe the engine oil could be a factor). But no effect. Engine oil seldom contribute to the noise describe Are these normal? Can someone give me advise on how to keep engine noise and vibrations down? How about the suspension? First, you have to check whether your car is in standard form. Any accident b4. What tyre you are using, tuning is okay, injector may require cleaning. For me, my first service for a 2nd hand car is agent, then later on outside workshop. Please help! I love my Elantra hatchback, it's spacious and very comfortable with lots of leg room. the problems above are nagging at me and I'm worried that the car may not be performing as economically as I want it to be. I sent it for servicing to 2 places (Autobacs and Shell)... but I never seem to get my problems addressed coz I get the feeling that they only wanted to go through the motion of the "changing oil" package. So I don't think I was getting an honest opinion. Please help... any suggestions/advise is very much appreciated. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...