Got my lightweight pulley !

Modeldriver

Yo bro's.... finally got my lightweight pulley from Unorthordox (meant originally for DC5).... supposed to be set of 3 - crank, alternator and power steering... but to my dismay, found out that power steering pulley is specially bolted on - and you'll need special tools to take out, and the [furious] Stream alternator pulley is structured differently with this stupid extension... so end up only with the crank replaced.

post-6-1060785810_thumb.jpg

Results : definitely feels lighter... more responsive... compared to this one, the stock crank feels weighs in like an elephant !

Those of you with JDM Accord can also fit... in fact even better - yours can also do the alternator pulley - dun even have to change fan belt. But because the JDM Accord steering is electrical... there's no power steering pulley to change.

Hi hi,

Not splash cold water ah, but there are a couple of things to consider... [gossip]

Someone pointed out this to me to ponder upon before... [sweatdrop]

Why are our normal pulleys so dumb design one? They look abit way over-weighted than needed, too much materials at the spokes, edges etc, without any need since its not really taking so much stress from just a few rubber belts tugging them... They only turn... why? why? why? [dizzy]

Racing cars need to extract every bit of power from the restrictions imposed by the competition. Lightweight pulleys reduces dead-weights and blah blah blah, give u more response power blah blah blah, moreover reduces weight blah blah blah... but racing cars rebuild their engines every race. Your car lasts AT LEAST as long as ur COE (or your fancy). What that someone suggested to me was, yes it may not cause permanent damage, but VERY HARD TO SAY. Cause what damage? [confused]

Pulleys in normal cars are designed with an additional purpose. To absorb or counter the harmonic vibrations during operation. Think about it. Light-weight pulleys being unable to do so, creates stress to your shafts, mounts, seals, life-span of your belt etc... everything imaginable that moves under your hood. [:/]

Don't seem useful? Revolutions per minute are in '000s... just what i hear, i think think, i feel its a very very reasonable answer. Lose that what you think as "insignificant" harmonic dampening, you dunno what long term side-effects it might give you... [:(]

hmm.. questions again.. *as usual* tongue.gif What are the pulleys? what's their use? Err.. think I need someone to give me FREE tuition on all these.. laugh.gif Any takers?? tongue.gif

Another "special" Stream feature again .... [bigcry]

So, what happen to your Alternator and Power Steering Pulley ?

So, how shiok is the feeling ?

I think that the dumb designed ugly looking pulleys are way cheaper than these. Just like why they give you ugly rims and not Volks Ultra forge lightweight rims, or a ugly black restricted box and not a CAI setup. And also why some only give you a single disc player and not a full ICE system with LCD and GPS. And why not all cars come with leather seats. Same principles. To cut cost, increase profit and also let you have something to mod. Modding is not a need, but a pleasure/hobby. Why is Corolla the best selling car now? Why do you see more Hyundai on the road? Coz the are copying the 90's Civic trend. The ability to mod.

more tonics again... [thumbsup]

Yep... but believe my ECU and piggy back ECU completely screwed liao... mileage yo-yo high/low like mad... think it's time for another trip to Autowerke for retuning and redyno.

A bit curious - how lightweight pulley help improve performance? Any hp or torque gains?

Basically less weight... less effort for the engine to work... more energy translated to driving the wheels.

True... but nebber keep my car that long to find out anyway... so let's see lor... I'd probably consider it the other way too... something that is that much heavier to spin around would no doubt also create stress on the engine too ?

Alternator and power steering stay stock - because cannot fit the DC5 pulleys...

Dunno real shiok-ness yet... have some improvement, but these two days rain too much to really try out.

As posted above. Harmonic vibrations and dampening. Not about cost cutting. What cost is not the material. It's the design.

Again as posted above, nevermind. [:/]

Erm... ability to mod so best selling car? [:(]

Edited by Icerain