Assassin Clutched February 10, 2003 Share February 10, 2003 (edited) NEVER use dishwashing liquid to wash your car...UNLESS you want to strip your car of all the polish and wax before you claybar, and put on a totally new coat of polish/wax from scratch again. The reason why I use Armourall Blue [$7.50 @ C4] is that it suds very well...lots of foam..which helps to lift off the dirt. Other brands you can use is 3M car wash shampoo....and Meguairs Soft Wash Gel also seems to be good. If you want to remove some minor scratches...Meguairs Scratch-X will do the job....but dont buy a tube...I can pass you my tube to use first.. its a big tube so might as well help to finish off one tube first before buying another one. We can discuss more in detail as to what is what when we meet up. Personally, this would be my preferred list of products to use [those in bold are what I'm using now]: - Car Wash: Armourall Blue, 3M Car Wash, Meguairs Soft Wash Gel, Autoglymn Car Shampoo - ClayBar: Soft99 [Green Colour] ~$13 - Polish: Hi-Glaze88, Glare Polish, Klasse AIO/KSG, Zaino, SuperGlaze Teflon Polish - Leather Cream/Conditioner: Autoglym, Mother's - Tyre Shine: Formula 1 Black Gold, Meguairs Endurance Tyre Gel - Engine Bay Cleaning & Shine: Selleys Engine Degreaser, Pennzoil Multi-purpose cleaner, Meguairs Endurance Tyre Gel - Detailing cloth: 3M Microfibre cloth ~$8, Marine cloth, 100% cotton cloth or Stockinette - Applicator pads: Meguairs [$2 @ C4] Just my 2 cents.... Cheers Edited February 10, 2003 by Assassin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 10, 2003 Share February 10, 2003 You can get any car shampoo so long it does not strip the wax off.... try Polyglaze one, quite good ..... Washing detergent strip the wax off.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 10, 2003 Share February 10, 2003 Assassin list is pretty comprehensive, you can use that as a reference.......... Personally, I prefer to use Autoglym products the resin polish and high gloss protection......I find that it give a smoother finish than HiGlaze88 which I also have......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 10, 2003 Share February 10, 2003 wah, the ways you guys take care of your paint/car, reminds me of the old days in army when we got to polish our boots until they are like mirror....... nowaday, no need liao..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabss Neutral Newbie February 10, 2003 Share February 10, 2003 bo pian leh, muz polish until kilat kilat, if not CO tekan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 10, 2003 Share February 10, 2003 compare with you all, all my previous cars were like straw-shoes wore my vietcons...... ......... i drove my previous Camry for two years and she had not seen any wax within 10m of her body........ before i advertised her for sale in Dec last year, i brought her to JB and spent RM120 to groomed her nice nice....... the Japanese buyer fell in love with her at first sight a week later.........heng ahhh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabss Neutral Newbie February 10, 2003 Share February 10, 2003 (edited) Wah man, next time i see a silver Air-trek for sale i know liao lah , dun wanna pichia your lobang Edited February 10, 2003 by Saabss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 10, 2003 Share February 10, 2003 sshhhhhhhhhhhh........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 11, 2003 Share February 11, 2003 what to do......cars so expensive so must take care loh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 11, 2003 Share February 11, 2003 hehehehe..... i m the lazy bum, dun really feel like being slave to my car...... but now new car, so shining, bobiang, gotta keep up with her.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabss Neutral Newbie February 11, 2003 Share February 11, 2003 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched February 11, 2003 Share February 11, 2003 Personally, I prefer to use Autoglym products the resin polish and high gloss protection......I find that it give a smoother finish than HiGlaze88 which I also have......... Yup, Autoglym products are quite smooth ...I used to use the Super Resin Polish and the Extra Gloss Protection also....but I had to keep polishing quite often...and also...I'm lazy .. dont want to wait for 1 hour in between polishing before buffing...hence I got the all in one. After applying on...can start buffing off already. also like the idea of haveing an extra layer of 'protection' on top of my clearcoat. To get the extra smoothness...I can top off with my SuperGlaze Teflon Polish. Everyone has their own preference for these products, so it really depends on what we want out of it. A lot of times, its trial and error before we stick to what we want to use. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 11, 2003 Share February 11, 2003 I might just try your method... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched February 11, 2003 Share February 11, 2003 Happy polishing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 12, 2003 Share February 12, 2003 Thanks.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched February 12, 2003 Share February 12, 2003 You're welcome. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackford Neutral Newbie February 12, 2003 Share February 12, 2003 Good List! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched February 12, 2003 Share February 12, 2003 Thanks ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...