Questionable Petrol Station

Sky8807

Fill-up at the exxonmobil station at Lorong 2 Toa Payoh on 19 Jan. with syn8000.

So far driving with the last fill-up, not shiok, like not much power and also the car is not as smooth as before.

Suspect something fishy with the petrol. Wander anyone have had that experience.

These things does happen when we pump at certain station in sin, maybe we can lists them down to play safe and let other know of these questionable station.

Petrol Station

1. Lor 2 Toa Payoh exxonmobil

Cud b the underground tank have a leak somewhere but seems unlikely as they now must have double tanks n r checked regularly.

Maybe petrol has been contaminated by something? Water leak in from top?

U cud inform the head office,i think at penjuru road.

They wud prob take samples from the tanks to confirm.

Meantime try not to fill up there.

Hi, ground tanks could have leaks but the station owner will be more alarmed than you. The petrol will leak into the soil fast and he loses much money. Don't forget, the tank pressure is higher than outside.

Water can seep into the tank from the top but this possiblity occurs when there is a flood. Water and oil don't mix, so they will form 2 layers in the tank.

Next thing is the station owner is dishonest. He mix 92 octane into 98 octane. But this is a very serious crime. BTW, station owners have to submit daily report on tank status to Head office. Petrol companies also know these loopholes.

Conclusion : I don't think its the station's problem.

Leak tanks most unlikely cause they have somekind of monitoring system for that. As for mixing, water in tanks, they are possibilities.

Main concern is there maybe some deterioration in the fuel used. Maybe I felt it and other don't, could be my car are more sensitive to it or the driver sensitivity. Anyway, don't thnik it could cause serious harm to the engine, it just that whenever I refuelled my car petrol, most of the times you get the shiok feeling, like car got more oomph.. Sometimes, certain station don't give you that feeling. And this is one of them.

Do not want to speculate anything without any evidence, just highlight my feeling and encounter. thanks.

Next thing is the station owner is dishonest. He mix 92 octane into 98 octane. But this is a very serious crime. BTW, station owners have to submit daily report on tank status to Head office. Petrol companies also know these loopholes.

I dun think got such things happen anymore lah...since 99% of the petrol station now is owned by the petrol companies themselves.

Sometime these things happen....like you pump on tank of petrol that give super performance or economy but when you pump again.....the performance is gone.....maybe QC from the petrol company not so good ???

BTW....does anyone have any idea.....does petrol have a lifespan ?? Maybe like potatoe chips....open liao must finish ASAP is not will "lau hong" ??

Most likely due to water in the petrol, must inform the station manager or the parent company about and let them take some action.

Mixing is unlikely in Singapore as our authorities controls this pretty tight and I don't think the major petrol chemical firms are willing to risk.

A few years ago, a petrol company accidentally put diesel into a petrol storage tank. Someone filled up with diesel, car ran like ****. Result, petrol company paid for engine rebuild. Came out in newspapers..... very bad PR.

If mixing occurs, it's not the petrol companies that do it, and in fact, as earlier pointed out, the petrol companies monitor to try and prevent this from happening. This is from my sources in the petrol companies.

Most likely due to water in the petrol, must inform the station manager or the parent company about and let them take some action.

Mixing is unlikely in Singapore as our authorities controls this pretty tight and I don't think the major petrol chemical firms are willing to risk.

Nah. Don't want to make a small observation sound serious. Unless something serious happen to my engine or something like that.

Could be just my feeling, get used to it alreadi. But I will record it in my book, not to pump from that station in future. that all.

Thanks for your suggestions. anyway.

I think as for mixing or diluting, the main suspect would b the tanker driver. He has the best opportunity to sell off some petrol somewhere n maybe dilute with a little kerosene or something to cover the shortfall, but in sin, very unlikely. Ive seen them checking the seals n stuff but dont know if they always so on.

Heard it was being done in my some time back n they caught the syndicate involved.

For water in the petrol, it has happened b4 n a few cars stalled outside the station. Investigations revealed that the tanks had a seepage problem n the station paid for all the cars to be rectified.

As for diesel in petrol,its not so bad. Can u imagine what will happen if they mix petrol in the diesel tanks. Man those taxis will explode right there in the station.

I think most likely is just innocent water seepage into the underground tanks, by accident. SG laws so strigent I don't think people willing to risk their jobs and future by playing punk and mixing fuels. [:|]

Hmm, sounds like you have sources in the oil industry :-) Yes, this was one of the many scams, usual diluent was kerosene or spirit (smell closer to petrol, kerosene smell gives things away). Another very profitable scam exploited the tendency of materials to expand when warmed up (that's enuff details for you to run the scam now).

I think as for mixing or diluting, the main suspect would b the tanker driver. He has the best opportunity to sell off some petrol somewhere n maybe dilute with a little kerosene or something to cover the shortfall, but in sin, very unlikely. Ive seen them checking the seals n stuff but dont know if they always so on.

And what did you say the problem is? Sounds more like a solution :-P

As for diesel in petrol,its not so bad. Can u imagine what will happen if they mix petrol in the diesel tanks. Man those taxis will explode right there in the station.

And what did you say the problem is? Sounds more like a solution :-P

[/reply]

After driving for 150 km added Super Mexon F2-21 and fill up 12 litres to full. Car now back to normal, shiok to drive now. The F2-21 seem to work. Think is a good product.

Had my refill last week with shell fusion along choa chu kang, and the car didn't feel good also after that.

Maybe it is my feeling and not the petrol station as mention b4. My fuel comsumption was ok around 11.4 km/l since last fillup which indicate a healthy engine state. (25% urban)

Just to update.

Ok, u see.... from what i know is that all this oil companies... they buy different grades of petrol.... and then..... they store at those bunkering island out there..... and all this bunkers.... will provide service like mixing (legal type) and other services..... so i realised that if they want to saving $$... they'll produce petrol with 98.... but they don't mix it well..... so in terms of concentration... there might be differences.

All this is my personal conclusion.... cos i come across bunkering customers... and they told me that they provide mixing etc.... for their customers.... so i reckon that it could be due to the fact that they didn't fully even things out...... [shocked]