Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Share August 2, 2003 Just installed two Micro Compressors into my St-R-eam, in place of my Ecotek. Location much better - smack behind the front grille to take in cooler air. Results - car feels smoother, more responsive, brake feel firmer. Except... idle rpm running higher - anyone tried installing this thing and had any such experience ? I suspect it may be my piggy back ECU getting confused with the fuel/air mix, since stock ECUs are supposed to adjust automatically. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Share August 2, 2003 IS it connected to the vacuum pipes? Didn't know you had a piggyback ECU...must be heavily modded Stream... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Share August 2, 2003 Wow ! You took out the bumper ... I believe not just for the installation of these 2 items rite ?? Else that will be a lot of work to install them ! Any other goodies ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chippz Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Share August 2, 2003 bro, putting more tonics to your babe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Author Share August 2, 2003 Yah... connected to vacuum pipes. Myskyline tried one first, and then two. His JDM Accord. Figured mine so much harder to put in (must dismantle bumper), thought I'd just do two at a go. Yah... my car got a Buddy Club Racing Spec B. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Author Share August 2, 2003 Nah... took out bumper just to put that thing in - else cannot reach down to mount the thingy - again, the cramped engine compartment giving problems. Only way to get it to the front of the radiator - else end up like the Ecotek - smack in middle of hot engine bay. Well, actually there was something added - wiremesh at the bottom of the bumper (you know the opening at the bottom ?) - helps a bit to keep leaves and stuff out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Author Share August 2, 2003 Actually, quite sad... because kinda ran out of things to do. Actually was not intending to do this one, since already got Ecotek. Decided to try only after Myskyline told me it worked pretty well on his JDM Accord (actually he put one, and when it worked well enough, he put another). Now got Ecotek to get rid of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear August 2, 2003 Share August 2, 2003 wow bro...long time no see alot of gadget in your car liao, up and coming to makan my car liao when u going to put in the laughing gas tank sure very very responsive one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Author Share August 2, 2003 Boh lah... this two silver things are the only additions in a pretty long time - and no matter what, how to take on your SiR ??? Ur power to weight is so solid And 0-100 U sub-10, I still borderline 10 Yah.. guys been asking me to put in gas, but no space lah... need 7 seater, and available boot space for weekend shopping. Besides, gas good for that extra bit when you hit redline right ?? What I want is lotsa torque and enhanced responsiveness in the sub-3000 rpms - dat way can pull away even at highway speeds. anyway, gotta probably try to find time to go back to Mcwell tomorrow to check the thing out - idle too high leh... after this install, especially when I put into park or neutral, engine running >1000rpm !!! Damned weird. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Share August 2, 2003 Does this micro compressor thing need tuning ? Effect more immediate than Ecotek ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Share August 2, 2003 Time to do something about this ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Author Share August 2, 2003 No tuning... effect was pretty immediate - at least the braking feeling, the slightly better response below 3K, and of course the higher idling speed. Still can't figure the higher idling - not sure if it may be my piggy back ECU getting screwed up - think more air means trottle open, so pump in petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 2, 2003 Author Share August 2, 2003 Yah... I know... was staring hard at it just now to see if can try to pull some 'extension' down to roughly where the micro compressors are so as to get really strong flow of cool air, but couldn't quite figure it out - since most hoses out there are ROUND. Need something more flat. Oh... btw - at least no more annoying whine/rasp fo the Ecotek. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear August 2, 2003 Share August 2, 2003 when u heading back there??? i might wanna go as well cos interested in getting the GTech Pro competition meter lah..... it's quite true for sg car to get more torque....but remember, it has to play with the car weight as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 3, 2003 Author Share August 3, 2003 Probably popping by today (Sunday) afternoon. The higher idle is quite annoying - figure I'm burning off a whole lot more gas also. Yah... now's a good time since GTech finally released the metric firmware and the software to download to PC. Last time my fren early adopter, must learn to read in ft/lbs and cannot download somemore. But be prepared to sink in almost $600 I think. And as for car weight... yah... but $$$$ leh - * carbon fibre bonnet - at least your car got, mine boh * racing seats - really good to sit on, but at least $2000 for two, and figure hard to explain to wife * racing wheels - super $$$ - set of 4 17" good ones easily $3000 to $4000 probably easier and cheaper to go jog and loose 5kg myself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie August 3, 2003 Share August 3, 2003 where you go, man?....did not see you at this week meetup too?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear August 3, 2003 Share August 3, 2003 Go for my lesson lah...too tired to do anything else now thinking two more years to go ....crazy liao lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear August 3, 2003 Share August 3, 2003 i saw one set of rim.....SUPER DUPER lightweight...cost abt 300/rim....it's Enkei F1 rim....very very good weight abt 3.5kg only....but i guess it could be too light for me to handle liao....maybe u could be interested....i think for 17" cost abt 400-450/rim...really impress by the weight...can lift it with one finger ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...