Lightspeed Clutched July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 Here I go again, going on about the same old thing for the 4th time running.. Yes... 4th time... Parked at single lot on deck 3B this time at my estate's carpark (those of u who know me...will know where) Tire caps stolen again... was using cheapo ones that cost $3.50 and yet still stolen again... yes... all 4 of them... for the 4th time running... in 6 months? ... What is with these people? I wonder if my car is being targeted or something by some low life idiot who simply cannot afford his own tyre caps. Point is...if its the same person, he has already got hold of 3 sets from me! Why the need for another set? grrrrrrrr ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 Wow lau... not again... .. Think you better put those original black colour type of caps liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 Sorry to hear that, man. Somehow, I can't help but feel someone out there's being a typical (fill in the blank with appropriate expletive) clown and has somehow decided to target your car. Any way to set up some form of surveilance to get this clown ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 I was just discussing this over the breakfast meetup yesterday. I lost 2 valve caps a few days back (I parked close to the wall, so the perp cannot reach 2 of them) This is only the second time I lost caps, but it's irritating. So I was discussing with them: 1) Solder some needle points / spikes to the cap (I'm using metal ones) (downside, if the idiot hurts himself, he might scratch the car instead.) 2) Remove all the caps every night (downside: troublesome) 3) Use "loctite" to attach the caps. (downside: need a tool to remove when pumping tyres.) Any other ideas? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 Bro.. you always park at that corner, even up coming cars cannot see. I suggest you change location, say inbetween cars.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched July 24, 2003 Author Share July 24, 2003 What's this "loctite" thingy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 Some super-strong clear adhesive similar in nature to super-glue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 It's a semi-permanent bond, like a glue. It makes it much harder to unscrew certain things. Especially by hand. So to remove the item (like the valve cap) you will need a tool like a wrench, spannar or ratchet for leverage. I used it in the army for keeping certain screws from coming off vibrating items/vehicles. (Lock - tight, get it) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 but unlike superglue, the bond is not extremely strong. It's kinda like UHU glue, but less messy. BTW, how's your baby and MRenegade doing? Send her my regards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched July 24, 2003 Author Share July 24, 2003 The 4 times I kena... all parked at different locations leh Cool Only the 1st time I kena that the car was parked at deck 5B The rest of the times were at lower decks, yesterday car was at Deck 3B Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched July 24, 2003 Author Share July 24, 2003 Sorry to hear that, man. Somehow, I can't help but feel someone out there's being a typical (fill in the blank with appropriate expletive) clown and has somehow decided to target your car. Any way to set up some form of surveilance to get this clown ? Yes, seriously think my car's being targeted by this low life. Thought of cameras and such, but not cheap and dun think its feasible too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched July 24, 2003 Author Share July 24, 2003 Think the only way to solve the problem is to use those black caps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 4 chrome caps are not really valuable... 4 black caps dun make a difference too... Cos if low-life is targeting you and NOT for the profit from those chrome caps, you'll still have to suffer the trouble of replacing the black plastic caps too. Yeah I know how it feels man... sigh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 Long time no see man!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched July 24, 2003 Author Share July 24, 2003 Hmm... might be a silly proton wira I once honked at ... come to think of it... he's probably the only person who has an issue with me. anyway, I've so far lost 2 sets of silver ones, one set of blue, and one set of red caps. with the last one being the cheapest at $3.50 for 5 now using cheap blue ones at $3.50 as well. Can anticipate them being gone again soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 GO and get 1 big box of the cheap black plastic one lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear July 24, 2003 Share July 24, 2003 I think its not coz he need the cap. I think you have offended this particular guy somehow, and now being targetted for revenge. Want to get back? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eliew Neutral Newbie April 21, 2004 Share April 21, 2004 Mine got stolen over the weekend .. strange , just one .. but have been driving around without the cap for the entire week, until I can get the same replacement. According to my mechanic, it is ok to do so ... was he right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...