K&N Drop In Filter Results

Puash

just a note, after you wash the K & N filter, it needs to be dried before you re-oil it, also you'll need to make sure it's not over or under oiled. That's the reason most owners DIY instead of going back to dealers for the re-oiling sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

What I normally do is this.

1) Soak the K & N with the cleaning lotion for at least 20mins then wash away the oil+dirt under running water.

2) Leave to K & N to dry in the sun or you can use Hair Dryer but do not place too close to the filter elements, 2 to 3" will be fine.

3)Apply the red oil on the filter elements & put the whole filter on top of few pieces of newspaper, this is to ensure any extra oil will be absorb away instead of being suck into the air throttle body & screwup the air flow sensor. I normally leave it overnight, just to be sure nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif.

So, I never trust those free cleaning & re-oiling provided by those workshop shakehead.gifshakehead.gifshakehead.gif

hiya,

i've just washed and re-oiled my K&N a few weeks back. that's after driving 30,000km on quite dusty roads. u can actually do the svc after u hit 50,000km, but depends on the road condition [nod]

for me, after oiling, i'll make sure i dont see any oil still dripping from the gauze. also, make sure the filter element turns reddish - that means it's sufficiently oiled [:)]

not much difference.. mebbe coz i cleaned it before it got that dirty. i just felt like cleaning it hehehe

altho recently my FC has improved a tad, but i cant use that as a comparison coz i also just recently have been using v-power [:p]

but i think it's advisable to clean and oil the filter probably after using it for 40,000km for singapore roads. too much invisible and visible dust flying around on the roads here [shakehead]

So wat's the frequency of wash n re-oil? And how to tell if under or over oiled?

it all depends on the road that you travel but I often take it out to check every 10k km. Mine being a rectangle in shape so I can basically rotate 180 deg & use it again before I need to wash it sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

when it's properly oiled, you can see the element is red in colour when you view it thru' the light. What I normally do is, I'll take out the K & N when I reach home in the evening, wash it & then use hairdryer to dry it, then apply the red oil until all the element is red in colour. Next I'll leave the K & N filter on top of newspaper (a few pages thick) overnight to soakup any excess oil nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif and if I need to go out at night, I'll just drop in the stock paper filter & used it until tomorrow morning sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

nope very tempted to convert laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif dun have lobang too tongue.gif

Hi all

I've found out that the local distributor for Green filters is:

Red Dot Motorsports

Tel: 6726 3280

No address given, tho.

According to them, look out for their advertisement in HotStuff mag next mth. FYI

Hi All,

I check with the owner of Red Dot Motorsports. According to him, the pricing varies depending on the model and make of the car. It is not like KNN which is one price for all types kind.

Regards,

Alan

hmm.. affect low end doesnt apply to all cars. i know of 323s who have put in K&N din affect their low end leh... mabbe VVTI need more fresh air for its low end. our dyno DOHC engines still not so bad. time to do CAI for u liao. [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

cause once u stop, need to apply more energy to start again, as compare to moving all along in a continuous motion, of coz more jiak yu. [;)]