Guyver 1st Gear June 15, 2002 Share June 15, 2002 Place dried pandan leaves in your car, apparently, they do not like the smell. it smells sweet to me though. But how do u guys deal with the dried up pandan leaves.. that makes the car messy? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 15, 2002 Share June 15, 2002 I hope not!! but it smells different from the usual jap car ones.[/reply] Guess the cows in US is reared under different temperature... so maybe that's why..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 Place dried pandan leaves in your car, apparently, they do not like the smell. it smells sweet to me though. But how do u guys deal with the dried up pandan leaves.. that makes the car messy? Well, I guess it'll be messy if you were to leave scraps of them all over the car. In cases involving both my friend's and the cabbies that I've met, they usually tie up the pandan leaves in one clump and leave them either under the seat or in the boot and allow the smell to naturally permeate throughout the car. As pandan leaves dry pretty nicely (ie., they don't flake as they dry like some leaves do) the can be easily removed when the time for replacement comes around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 Your leather is Syn? ok I'll give it a smell I hope not!! but it smells different from the usual jap car ones. Ai-yah....different cow used ma..... But seriously, unless they've come up with some way to make plastic smell like leather, I believe yours are the real thing. I was once told the smell depends on the materials used in the processes that the leather has undergone. Think about it - have you ever entered any car that smelled like a brand-new wallet or handbag ? Of course, laternatively, you could always run a burn-test through your seats..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nilkz Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Author Share June 16, 2002 Thanks to all the replies, i personally not a big fan of the "pandan leave" smell but guess have to try it cos it seems like the only practical solution, thankyous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lester Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 One way you might want to try is to use a gauze or stocking to bundle up a bunch of Jasmine flowers. This has not been proven and tested by myself. But I heard it from some Indonesians friends I have. If it doesn't work lemme know. No harm giving it a try. Lester Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 (edited) Your leather is Syn? ok I'll give it a smell I hope not!! but it smells different from the usual jap car ones. Ai-yah....different cow used ma..... But seriously, unless they've come up with some way to make plastic smell like leather, I believe yours are the real thing. I was once told the smell depends on the materials used in the processes that the leather has undergone. Think about it - have you ever entered any car that smelled like a brand-new wallet or handbag ? Of course, laternatively, you could always run a burn-test through your seats..... Just checked, mine has the real thing [angelic] And yes i have entered carsthat smelled like new wallets. No kidding! Edited June 16, 2002 by Magfocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 One way you might want to try is to use a gauze or stocking to bundle up a bunch of Jasmine flowers. This has not been proven and tested by myself. But I heard it from some Indonesians friends I have. If it doesn't work lemme know. No harm giving it a try. Lester Alamak then the car will smell like little india lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 Just checked, mine has the real thing [angelic] And yes i have entered carsthat smelled like new wallets. No kidding! Genuine stuff, cannot bluff right? Hey not all new wallets smell nice too bro Just keep your leather cleaned and conditioned regularly and it'll retain the new leather smell abit not that strong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 One way you might want to try is to use a gauze or stocking to bundle up a bunch of Jasmine flowers. This has not been proven and tested by myself. But I heard it from some Indonesians friends I have. If it doesn't work lemme know. No harm giving it a try. Lester Alamak then the car will smell like little india lah Best is to leave the interior alone. Maybe an aircon mounted fragrance would do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 I've tried several fragrances for the car including aroma therapy burner, so far ambi-pur for car in Aqua scent is most pleasing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 True true! After today, must start using the conditioner liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 I've tried several fragrances for the car including aroma therapy burner, so far ambi-pur for car in Aqua scent is most pleasing. Ambi pur is nice, but the mounting quite fragile, mine dropped off a few times for my prev car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 Ford provided cleaner and conditioner in separate bottles right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 Ambi pur is nice, but the mounting quite fragile, mine dropped off a few times for my prev car I get the same mounting problem, issit the bottle of liquid not holding to the plastic holder? I pasted some blue-tac on the bottom of the bottle and now's it's holding well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 Ford provided cleaner and conditioner in separate bottles right? Actually no, just one bottle of the cleaner/conditioner stuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 That probably cleans while leaving a layer of conditioning oil (or creme) for the leather to absorb. I'll recommend U buff the leather once over after U've applied the cleaner/conditioner, that'll take off the excess oils. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 Ambi pur is nice, but the mounting quite fragile, mine dropped off a few times for my prev car I get the same mounting problem, issit the bottle of liquid not holding to the plastic holder? I pasted some blue-tac on the bottom of the bottle and now's it's holding well Yes its the bottle that drops off from the plastic holder. Thats the only drawback i guess ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...