Toad Problem.

ER-3682

On 4/10/2025 at 8:57 AM, ER-3682 said:

Dear Forumers,my House recently "Invaded" by alot of Toads...any Way to get Rid of them.?Because they too Noisy at Night.

IMG-20250408-WA0086.jpeg

destiny calls.... this is where you embrace your toadness and learnt some long lost kong fu.

Any way... its been a long time since i heard a frog or toad, last time when rainy season, would hear them and find tadpoles in puddles, kinda missed those days.

• Haha! 7

On 4/10/2025 at 11:01 AM, Inlinefour said:

Boss 

You can try kissing them 

Then will turn into Beautiful Princesses 

😘😘😘😘

At best a prince. If he is into that. You got your fairy tales mixed up! 

• Haha! 8

I ask chatgpt:

"Alright — in Singapore, toads (usually the Asian common toad, Duttaphrynus melanostictus) can be a bit annoying around landed properties, especially if you have a garden, pond, or damp areas.
Here’s a practical, safe, and humane way to manage them:

Step 1: Remove Attractants

Eliminate standing water: Toads breed in still water. Empty trays, pots, buckets, and cover drains if possible.

Reduce insect population: Toads eat insects, so reducing lights at night (which attract bugs) will help.

Clean up the garden: Remove dense vegetation, leaf litter, and hiding spots. Toads love damp, dark areas.

Step 2: Block Entry Points

Seal gaps: Close up holes in fences and walls around the property.

Install fine mesh or netting: At garden entrances or drains.

Step 3: Use natural repellents

Vinegar spray: You can spray diluted vinegar around areas you want to keep them away from. It irritates their skin, so they’ll avoid it.

Salt barrier: Can work, but be cautious as it can harm your plants and soil.

Coffee grounds: Some people scatter used coffee grounds in the garden — it has a mild deterrent effect.

Step 4: Relocate (if you spot them)

Safely capture the toad with gloves (they can secrete mild toxins), place it in a bucket, and release it in a more natural area (like near a wooded area away from residential zones).
Note: In Singapore, toads are not protected species, but it's good to relocate them humanely.

Step 5: Professional help

If it’s a recurring issue, consider contacting NEA-licensed pest control. They can do safe relocation or management.

Would you like me to also give you a few "home remedies" or ways to deter them naturally without harming your plants? There are a few things Singapore gardeners swear by! 🌿"

On 4/10/2025 at 11:24 AM, inlinesix said:

I ask chatgpt:

"Alright — in Singapore, toads (usually the Asian common toad, Duttaphrynus melanostictus) can be a bit annoying around landed properties, especially if you have a garden, pond, or damp areas.

Eliminate standing water: Toads breed in still water. Empty trays, pots, buckets, and cover drains if possible.

Reduce insect population: Toads eat insects, so reducing lights at night (which attract bugs) will help.

Clean up the garden: Remove dense vegetation, leaf litter, and hiding spots. Toads love damp, dark areas.

Vinegar spray: You can spray diluted vinegar around areas you want to keep them away from. It irritates their skin, so they’ll avoid it.

Coffee grounds: Some people scatter used coffee grounds in the garden — it has a mild deterrent effect.

Safely capture the toad with gloves (they can secrete mild toxins), place it in a bucket, and release it in a more natural area (like near a wooded area away from residential zones).
Note: In Singapore, toads are not protected species, but it's good to relocate them humanely.

If it’s a recurring issue, consider contacting NEA-licensed pest control. They can do safe relocation or management.

Would you like me to also give you a few "home remedies" or ways to deter them naturally without harming your plants? There are a few things Singapore gardeners swear by! 🌿"

" Relocate" I thought move house! 

• Haha! 15

On 4/10/2025 at 11:38 AM, Volvobrick said:

" Relocate" I thought move house! 

House sale post should have this... 

Live near the nature...or...embrace the nature...or...nature at your doorstep...plus...if asking price is matched, one free carton of ear plugs 

😁

On 4/10/2025 at 11:01 AM, Inlinefour said:

Boss 

You can try kissing them 

Then will turn into Beautiful Princesses 

😘😘😘😘

kiss liao get high... everything is beautiful liao... at least for a while till recover🤣

On 4/10/2025 at 11:09 AM, Volvobrick said:

Now a daze must be Woke ...... LGBT friendly :grin:

On 4/10/2025 at 10:24 AM, inlinesix said:

I ask chatgpt:

Wah lan eh, Chat GPT arh??

My pond was thought to be invaded by toads too. Then I realized that if you throw them out, they come back in no time. Finally, I recognized it is just 4 of them. When you throw them out, they come back in no time. 3 times, me and my friend throw them outside the gate and 30 mins, they are back at the inside of the gate.

So, what I did was I really pushed 2 of the small ones into the drain hole where they probably cannot get their way up and 2 of them were thrown into the garden area about 100m away and they never come back again. 

Maybe soon rain is here more often, and I will have to deal with them again. And I will do the same way

On 4/10/2025 at 12:29 PM, Arogab said:

Wah lan eh, Chat GPT arh??

My pond was thought to be invaded by toads too. Then I realized that if you throw them out, they come back in no time. Finally, I recognized it is just 4 of them. When you throw them out, they come back in no time. 3 times, me and my friend throw them outside the gate and 30 mins, they are back at the inside of the gate.

So, what I did was I really pushed 2 of the small ones into the drain hole where they probably cannot get their way up and 2 of them were thrown into the garden area about 100m away and they never come back again. 

Maybe soon rain is here more often, and I will have to deal with them again. And I will do the same way

Steady lah Big Bosch ....Waah...your house got pond......GCB?? ... hope never kenna ponding oso :grin:

On 4/10/2025 at 1:36 PM, Beregond said:

How to differentiate toad from frog😅

Toad is 癞蛤蟆, usually brown in color and rough skin.

Frog is 青蛙, usually green in color and smooth skin. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/10/2025 at 12:57 PM, BanCoe said:

Steady lah Big Bosch ....Waah...your house got pond......GCB?? ... hope never kenna ponding oso :grin:

My small Tomyam pond lah. Under-water one

On 4/10/2025 at 12:36 PM, Beregond said:

How to differentiate toad from frog😅

Frog you kiss liao become a Prince. 

Toad you kiss liao become a princess lor 😂

On 4/10/2025 at 2:21 PM, Beregond said:

If got fish. I think otters is a much greater danger then toads

aiyo otters so cute! 
marcus-ng-otter-singapore.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

On 4/10/2025 at 11:09 AM, Volvobrick said:

male kiss female toad BeCum ChioBu 🤭🤭🤭

On 4/10/2025 at 12:00 PM, Playtime said:

kiss liao get high... everything is beautiful liao... at least for a while till recover🤣

you mean the slime substance huh 🤣🤣🤣