3 years lock in period for vehicles registered from Feb 19 as business-owned private-hire cars, says LTA

Daniu82

  On 2/19/2025 at 5:43 AM, Mockngbrd said:

Yea, 3 years lock in way too short, at the very least 5 years. ccb pap

Expand  

Ccb....Ah wong yesterday gib u erection goodies liao still not happy ah?

  On 2/19/2025 at 8:08 AM, Mustank said:

A friend old car can buy because he will tell you can jiak or not

but who would dare to buy a used phv car for themself? madness

Expand  

Problem is, how to tell if it's ex PHV? 

Odo tampering is norm rather than exception 

On 2/19/2025 at 10:00 AM, Mustank said:

Key thing is friendship so die die must match dealer price. Money is not much. But the respect given to a friend when you price match makes you a respectable man

if I got a good car, i also prefer to sell to friend than dealer. But must match price lah

Expand  

If I were to buy from friend I would add 1 or 2k above dealer price. 

But will never sell to friend in case car suddenly becomes lemon, friend also no more. 

On 2/19/2025 at 8:33 AM, Lala81 said:

my friend's wife changing to model 3. I say if u not passing the car to parents, sell to me. Lol 

Expand  

sell paper plus body to friend still kena curse for medication fund 

from that time onwards 

all trade in to pml 

hassle free

no Curse 🫣🫣🫣

  On 2/19/2025 at 10:33 AM, Soya said:

Problem is, how to tell if it's ex PHV? 

Odo tampering is norm rather than exception 

Expand  

No central register to check whether this one is phv? Oh no! 

On 2/19/2025 at 4:35 AM, Lala81 said:

what's the loophole being addressed? 

People buying vehicles supposed to be under PHV business loan? then transfer to individual as way to get max loan?

Expand  

Bro, just a heads up 

Without a car to overtrade, their purchase price will be higher 

Offering a small incentive may be a more gentlemanly move without loosing a friend

  On 2/19/2025 at 11:13 AM, Sturtles said:

Bro, just a heads up 

Without a car to overtrade, their purchase price will be higher 

Offering a small incentive may be a more gentlemanly move without loosing a friend

Expand  

Tesla has no overtrade program from what I know. U just sell your own car. 

My friend sold his coe bmw630 while waiting for his Tesla. 

They used to buy BMW with overtrade so I didn't bother last time as yes it makes the new car price complicated. Tesla is another ballgame. 

On 2/19/2025 at 11:35 AM, waser_Ken said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/easy-financing-and-private-hire-fleet-expansion-driving-up-coe-demand

now you all know why got this lock in period la.

alot of YOLO want own cars but no money for downpayment. not only used car dealers, even ADs also playing this game.

honestly, three years lock in too short.

Expand  

3 year first, then 5 Yr, then create PHV category. 

Cannot one shot P cat right? That's slapping own face. 

4th Gear
  On 2/19/2025 at 12:20 PM, Lala81 said:

Actually can the digital odometer of a BEV be modified? 

Expand  

I am guessing should be much harder to tamper? Unless the EV's operating system software is compromised or hacked? Especially if EVs these days are often connected to their manufacturers' servers for OTA updates?

  On 2/19/2025 at 12:51 PM, Jtis said:

I am guessing should be much harder to tamper? Unless the EV's operating system software is compromised or hacked? Especially if EVs these days are often connected to their manufacturers' servers for OTA updates?

Expand  

Yeah so BEV 万岁!these shady motor traders aren't going to hack the software easily. 

Can easily overcome by offering 2 to 3 years rental contract, minimum risk to rental companies.

Does log car show car registered as phv car before?

  On 2/19/2025 at 5:47 AM, Si4dr said:

From the article:

"Chauffeured private-hire cars that are owned by individuals will also be exempt. Such vehicles are typically used both for providing ride-hail services and for personal trips."

So I bought a car & do Grab later not affected by the 3yrs lock-in period?

Expand  

Yes, not affected. Only PHV registered to business is affected.