Demerit points and composition sums for speeding offences to increase from Jan 1, 2026

Gnahp

On 2/17/2025 at 5:23 AM, kobayashiGT said:

That's why must install OBU 2.0 lah! Will have speed warning to prevent you from hefty fine. 

can gahmen also elaborate on the car profile that speed? 

I doubt is the ICE anymore. hahahah. Highly likely is the EVs right? hahahahahah. 

Expand  

ERP 2.0 is a pandora's box. You never know when they will start issuing speeding tickets based on the GPS speed logged in the OBU. CCB LTA.

On 2/17/2025 at 12:36 PM, 107fan said:

Confiscating car is a far more effective solution than even suspended license.

When was the last time you were stopped at roadblock or by TP/LTA to check your license?

Expand  

Doesn't matter to me because I have a valid driver's license :D 

Ok i guess what you mean is the lack of enforcement la. Well, blame it on LTA and TP for not stepping up enforcement by means of daily patrol and ANPR checks. CCB LTA. CCB TP :D 

• Sad 1

On 2/17/2025 at 2:22 PM, 13177 said:

Think they should need a very big space to store all those confiscated cars. Everyday tons of people speeding on the road lo.

Expand  

No need la. Export straight away. To be fair though, return the balance paper value to the owner :D 

On 2/17/2025 at 11:14 PM, Mkl22 said:

Many still ride and drive with suspended license. Have to stop and catch with boots on the ground. And we all know that there are not enough boots on the e ground. So what’s the point of more demerit points

Expand  

Mr snake wants more income by increasing traffic fines :D 

On 2/16/2025 at 1:08 PM, jcmm said:

With the new ERP, u can be tracked and summon. BTW, 3 bricks are enough :D 

Expand  

With the Minister announcing coming 1st Jan 2026, meaning, the satellite system or ERP 2.0 starting soon...... [sweatdrop]

Could be by September 2025, 95% of vehicles installed with the ERP 2.0 :wut:

Can easily catch a vehicle speeding. [bigcry]

Why of all, Minister announced starting in Jan 2026 ? :slow:

Can starts anytime from now to December 2025 to take actions on those frequent or fraudulent drivers ...... :we-all-gonna-die:

5th Gear
  On 2/18/2025 at 1:21 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

With the Minister announcing coming 1st Jan 2026, meaning, the satellite system or ERP 2.0 starting soon...... [sweatdrop]

Could be by September 2025, 95% of vehicles installed with the ERP 2.0 :wut:

Can easily catch a vehicle speeding. [bigcry]

Expand  

I wonder how they going to catch MY bikes or cars zooming around? :D Or they can speed as usual?

On 2/18/2025 at 3:33 AM, jcmm said:

I wonder how they going to catch MY bikes or cars zooming around? :D Or they can speed as usual?

Expand  

Depends on whether any summon is issued.

In theory, these cars can be stopped at both checkpoint to pay summon.

In practise, who knows

Expand  

We welcome them. they are the real workhorse leh. zip zip zoom zoom abit, never mind one lah. 

5th Gear
  On 2/18/2025 at 3:36 AM, inlinesix said:

Depends on whether any summon is issued.

In theory, these cars can be stopped at both checkpoint to pay summon.

In practise, who knows

Expand  

What I meant, with the new ERP, all SG cars movement are known but MY vehicles are without the new devices. This new, modern technology is a privilege just for SG?

On 2/18/2025 at 3:39 AM, jcmm said:

What I meant, with the new ERP, all SG cars movement are known but MY vehicles are without the new devices. This new, modern technology is a privilege just for SG?

Expand  

Abuden.

Currently, these cars also don't have IU.

ERP is paid with either daily flat fee or pay-as-you-use.

Camera on the gantry recognised these cars and charge accordingly.

5th Gear
  On 2/18/2025 at 3:42 AM, inlinesix said:

Abuden.

Currently, these cars also don't have IU.

ERP is paid with either daily flat fee or pay-as-you-use.

Camera on the gantry recognised these cars and charge accordingly.

Expand  

Ya ya, I know MY paid a flat fee for using our road or old ERP device but u dun get the point. Here discussing about "speeding" as in "driving faster than the posted speed limit" and not "traffic controlled gantry". ERP 2.0 monitors SG vehicles 24 by 7. If u speed driving 150km/h on a 90km/h road, TP knows.

Anyway, I rest my case. :D

Edited by jcmm

On 2/18/2025 at 3:53 AM, jcmm said:

Ya ya, I know MY paid a flat fee for using our road or old ERP device but u dun get the point. Here discussing about "speeding" as in "driving faster than the posted speed limit" and not "traffic controlled gantry". ERP 2.0 monitors SG vehicles 24 by 7. If u speed driving 150km/h on a 90km/h road, TP knows.

Expand  

Your car OBU is not "calibrated" to catch you speeding.

It can be "challenged" in court which give them extra work to prove that they are right.

That's why they will rely on traffic cam rather than OBU. 

  On 2/16/2025 at 8:51 AM, Gnahp said:

I just forwarded this new to the speeding saman queen (my wife)

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/demerit-points-and-fines-for-speeding-offences-to-increase-from-jan-1-2026

SINGAPORE – Demerit points and composition sums for speeding offences will be increased from Jan 1, 2026, Home Affairs and Law Minister K. Shanmugam said on Feb 15.

Since 2020, there has been a “very significant” increase in the number of road accidents, he said. “The numbers are still below the levels before Covid-19, but the way they are going up is something that is of concern.”

In 2024, there were nearly 7,200 accidents with 142 fatalities, while the number of speed-related fatal incidents shot up by almost 44 per cent from 2023, to 46.

The number of speeding violations detected – 192,000 – was also the highest in the past decade, Mr Shanmugam said at the inaugural Road Safety Day at Chong Pang.

It was launched by the Traffic Police and People’s Association with support from the Singapore Road Safety Council (SRSC) and Land Transport Authority on Feb 15. The event was attended by more than 1,000 residents.

While the Traffic Police have stepped up enforcement, such as activating the speed enforcement function in red-light cameras, he said more needs to be done to change or shape behaviour.

The Traffic Police have been progressively activating the function in red-light cameras islandwide since April 1, 2024.

The red-light cameras have always had the speed enforcement function, but it was activated only after the number of speeding-related fatal accidents spiked to 33 cases in 2023, up by more than 80 per cent from the 18 cases in 2022.

“People are dying and getting injured on our roads. Every vehicle is a potential missile in the roads – it’s dangerous if you don’t use it properly,” Mr Shanmugam said. More details on the new penalties for speeding offences will be provided by the Traffic Police in due course.

Existing penalties will apply to those caught speeding in 2025, but offenders will be reminded that there will be an increase in penalties from January 2026 onwards.

To increase road safety public education, SRSC is working with a few stakeholders on initiatives to increase public awareness of road safety habits, such as using social media to reinforce road safety messages.

Expand  

Write saman count money.

On 2/18/2025 at 1:21 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

Could be by September 2025, 95% of vehicles installed with the ERP 2.0

Expand  

If this happens, then I belong to the 5%. By then reach sept, car only have 5 more months left. 😄

Expand  

MY vehicles have to collect / loan the new ERP 2.0 at the checkpoints with S$150/- store value. So no way they can escape as the ERP registered to the vehicle owner. :we-all-gonna-die:

Just like current situation, they can use the Eazy Link-card to enter any car park but not CBD area. Those who can enter CBD have ERP unit loan and installed on their vehicles. 

  On 2/18/2025 at 3:53 AM, jcmm said:

Expand  

OBU 2.0 in its current form is not zun one.

On 2/18/2025 at 3:39 AM, jcmm said:

Expand  

yes you're right. only citizens get penalised.

• Sad 1