Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 17 Share February 17 On 2/16/2025 at 4:51 PM, Gnahp said: I just forwarded this new to the speeding saman queen (my wife) https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/demerit-points-and-fines-for-speeding-offences-to-increase-from-jan-1-2026 SINGAPORE – Demerit points and composition sums for speeding offences will be increased from Jan 1, 2026, Home Affairs and Law Minister K. Shanmugam said on Feb 15. Since 2020, there has been a “very significant” increase in the number of road accidents, he said. “The numbers are still below the levels before Covid-19, but the way they are going up is something that is of concern.” In 2024, there were nearly 7,200 accidents with 142 fatalities, while the number of speed-related fatal incidents shot up by almost 44 per cent from 2023, to 46. The number of speeding violations detected – 192,000 – was also the highest in the past decade, Mr Shanmugam said at the inaugural Road Safety Day at Chong Pang. It was launched by the Traffic Police and People’s Association with support from the Singapore Road Safety Council (SRSC) and Land Transport Authority on Feb 15. The event was attended by more than 1,000 residents. While the Traffic Police have stepped up enforcement, such as activating the speed enforcement function in red-light cameras, he said more needs to be done to change or shape behaviour. The Traffic Police have been progressively activating the function in red-light cameras islandwide since April 1, 2024. The red-light cameras have always had the speed enforcement function, but it was activated only after the number of speeding-related fatal accidents spiked to 33 cases in 2023, up by more than 80 per cent from the 18 cases in 2022. “People are dying and getting injured on our roads. Every vehicle is a potential missile in the roads – it’s dangerous if you don’t use it properly,” Mr Shanmugam said. More details on the new penalties for speeding offences will be provided by the Traffic Police in due course. Existing penalties will apply to those caught speeding in 2025, but offenders will be reminded that there will be an increase in penalties from January 2026 onwards. To increase road safety public education, SRSC is working with a few stakeholders on initiatives to increase public awareness of road safety habits, such as using social media to reinforce road safety messages. I want to POFMA. Speeding never kills, it is the suddenly becoming stationary (impact) that kills. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 17 Share February 17 On 2/16/2025 at 10:49 PM, Sosaria said: If the objective is to collect more money, then should follow scandinavian system. Peg the fines in proportion to the driver's income. Otherwise any increase in fines is irrelevant and does not hurt those with lots of money (and presumably able to afford high-performance cars that are likelier to be driven fast fast). Increase demerit points will be more effective and painful for this group of speedsters. Lose licence then totally cannot drive (legally), whether rich or poor. What is demerit points? There are lots of alibabas driving with suspended license leh 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged February 17 Share February 17 On 2/16/2025 at 9:41 PM, 13177 said: Increase demerit point no use la, many people still speed like hell. 😅 One of them is you correct.??? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator February 17 Share February 17 That's why must install OBU 2.0 lah! Will have speed warning to prevent you from hefty fine. can gahmen also elaborate on the car profile that speed? I doubt is the ICE anymore. hahahah. Highly likely is the EVs right? hahahahahah. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverkris 5th Gear February 17 Share February 17 On 2/16/2025 at 10:44 PM, Gnahp said: yes, this one I can confirm suspend the license, then only they will feel the pain Confiscate the car they used for speeding, auction off to someone who can drive safer. They Will feel the pain. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
107fan 5th Gear February 17 Share February 17 On 2/17/2025 at 10:49 AM, Beehive3783 said: What is demerit points? There are lots of alibabas driving with suspended license leh Confiscating car is a far more effective solution than even suspended license. When was the last time you were stopped at roadblock or by TP/LTA to check your license? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
107fan 5th Gear February 17 Share February 17 On 2/17/2025 at 10:30 AM, Mustank said: These days I slower than 99% people when lorry people overtake me, they look at me, their face: me: Don't even waste time entertaining those lorry or van drivers. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 17 Share February 17 On 2/17/2025 at 11:17 AM, ER-3682 said: One of them is you correct.??? Not me not me, i drive slow slow de. 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 17 Share February 17 On 2/17/2025 at 2:13 PM, Silverkris said: Confiscate the car they used for speeding, auction off to someone who can drive safer. They Will feel the pain. Think they should need a very big space to store all those confiscated cars. Everyday tons of people speeding on the road lo. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 17 Share February 17 Talking about licence suspension reminds me of a personal experience from many years ago; swear it's true I went for an interview with a european mnc in the business of consumer electronics and semiconductors. It was for a process engineer position. Interview went swimmingly well and they even took the trouble of showing me around. Finally at the end, since the premises were at quite an ulu west location, i casually asked the interviewer by way of small talk whether he drove to work daily. His face changed and he curtly replied that his licence was suspended. To this day I don't know why he had to say it out. I didn't get the job 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 17 Share February 17 On 2/17/2025 at 2:13 PM, Silverkris said: Confiscate the car they used for speeding, auction off to someone who can drive safer. They Will feel the pain. Some people don't use their own car to speed 🧐 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
107fan 5th Gear February 17 Share February 17 On 2/17/2025 at 10:22 PM, 13177 said: Think they should need a very big space to store all those confiscated cars. Everyday tons of people speeding on the road lo. Ever pass by Changi and aviation road that stretch? Convert to open air carpark. Confiscate and park their zhnged ah beng cars under the sun for 12 months before returning. See pain or not. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 17 Share February 17 On 2/17/2025 at 10:27 PM, Benarsenal said: Some people don't use their own car to speed 🧐 Correct, you see those car sharing scheme cars, default speed like nobody business. 😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged February 17 Share February 17 On 2/17/2025 at 10:20 PM, 13177 said: Not me not me, i drive slow slow de. 😂 Oh yah,Flintstone Car,powered by Legs,cannot go fast.😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 17 Share February 17 On 2/16/2025 at 8:14 PM, Gnahp said: yes, this one I can confirm suspend the license, then only they will feel the pain Many still ride and drive with suspended license. Have to stop and catch with boots on the ground. And we all know that there are not enough boots on the e ground. So what’s the point of more demerit points 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 17 Share February 17 On 2/17/2025 at 7:52 PM, Sosaria said: Talking about licence suspension reminds me of a personal experience from many years ago; swear it's true I went for an interview with a european mnc in the business of consumer electronics and semiconductors. It was for a process engineer position. Interview went swimmingly well and they even took the trouble of showing me around. Finally at the end, since the premises were at quite an ulu west location, i casually asked the interviewer by way of small talk whether he drove to work daily. His face changed and he curtly replied that his licence was suspended. To this day I don't know why he had to say it out. I didn't get the job Lucky you didn’t work under such a loser! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 18 Share February 18 On 2/17/2025 at 10:27 PM, Benarsenal said: Some people don't use their own car to speed 🧐 It's up to the owner to sue for the loss. Then people/rental companies won't suka suka rent to anyone. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 18 Share February 18 On 2/18/2025 at 8:32 AM, Volvobrick said: It's up to the owner to sue for the loss. Then people/rental companies won't suka suka rent to anyone. Hirer has $5k excess. It doesn’t matter 🤭 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...