Free beer or better pay?

SGMCF328

Free beer or better pay  

18 members have voted

1. 1. Do you prefer to have perks like free beer or higher pay?

• Perks such as free beer and hangover leave
    • Higher pay

Although it may not be a good representation of the actual sentiment, it does support the fact that many younger generation prefer benefits (and freedom) over higher pay.

For a low income earner like myself (ok, I am a boomer), pay come first. Beer is a good to have but too much of it will also brings health and even social problems.

Japanese tech company lets staff take ‘beer breaks’ & ‘hangover leave’, has zero turnover despite low pay

Source: https://mustsharenews.com/company-gives-hangover-leave/

hangover-leave.png

For most of us, calling in sick after a wild night out is a risky move. But at one Japanese tech company, nursing a hangover isn’t just allowed, it’s part of the perks.

Trust Ring Co Ltd, a small IT firm based in Osaka, is shaking up work culture with ‘hangover leave’ — a wild new perk that gives its employees the freedom to sleep off a heavy night before rolling into the office.

And if that wasn’t enough? They can crack open a cold one on the job too.

Jocelyns-Featured-Images.png

The 60-person company knows it can’t match the sky-high salaries of big corporations. So instead, it’s offering what it believes the Gen Z workforce truly wants — flexibility, fun, and free-flow alcohol.

The firm’s office in Midoribashi comes stocked with a draught beer machine and a full bar of spirits, allowing employees to drink at work.

Snapinst.app_322492088_437558035121708_3

There’s also no problem even if they overdo it. The hangover leave allows workers who are supposed to come in at 9am to instead stroll into work at noon, without facing any consequences.

According to the Daily Mail, the company also offers ‘loss leave’, which lets employees take time off if something happens to their favourite pop idol.

The company’s CEO told Kansai TV that while they can’t pay more than minimum wage, they can provide an environment that keeps employees happy.

“Our salary is set just over minimum wage and we can’t use a lot of money, so they’re free to do what they want,” he said.

According to the interview, Trust Ring Co’s salary sits at 222,000 yen per month (S$1,950), which already includes 20 hours of overtime pay.

While that might not sound like much, some graduates see lifestyle perks as more important than money.

This is evidenced by the fact that over the last three years, the company has experienced no turnover and that its “performance” has been “good”.

With Japan facing a declining birthrate, companies are in an intense scramble for young talent in the face of labour scarcity.

In this battle for the so-called “golden eggs” of fresh graduates, unique incentives like hangover leave are becoming the latest strategy to attract new hires.

According to a report by Fuji News Network (FNN), companies across Japan are going all out to retain young talent.

Work-from-home setups, permission to take side gigs from the first year, and even unusual leave policies are all part of the game.

• Haha! 8

Isn't it typical for Japanese company to have low turnover? Most of them work their whole life for one company.

On 2/13/2025 at 4:24 PM, mersaylee said:

Kns...neber drink any...i oredi thot i saw kanasai TV...😂

Still got FNN you never read. hahahaha. I read as KNN. 🤣

5th Gear

I worked for a Jap startup b4... visited the office in Tokyo. Room with playstation, guitar, drums, sleeping couch, sake, beer. SG office in wework, with beer.   

On 2/13/2025 at 9:09 PM, jcmm said:

I worked for a Jap startup b4... visited the office in Tokyo. Room with playstation, guitar, drums, sleeping couch, sake, beer. SG office in wework, with beer.   

Got Pretty Ladies or not.?

So switch 8 glasses of water to glasses of beer....so say work days is 23 days a month, that's 184 glasses a month.

Which is a lot of beers to drink...

Beer is around $2, that's only a value of $368 worth of beer a month.

Might as well get higher pay than to drink so ridiculous quantity to get that value.

Even drink beer also take higher pay la. Money is more important.

Edited by 13177

5th Gear
On 2/13/2025 at 9:26 PM, ER-3682 said:

Got Pretty Ladies or not.?

A few quite chio... Dun watch too much AV and fantasize too much. :D Normal street gers are just "normal".   

It is not just free beer or liquor during beer breaks, but also the hangover leaves. I used to work in an angmo company, those expatriates who like to drink over the weekends and during company events will quite often report later for work on the next day. Such behavior has prompt some of my younger colleagues gossiping when they can also enjoy such "benefits".

Have to admit we are living in a new age. Reporting on time for work and knocking off later is no longer a value add. As the young ones always say, work smart, not work hard. I belongs to the old school and will continue to be until I retire.

Quite obvious better pay can buy many bottles of beer. But, it is not just the beer, the additional touch put in by the company to show they care is invaluable. That is why even the 'Best companies ' you see people leaving. 

When I was working at American MNC some years ago, every Friday evening they had 'Happy Hour'. Got free buffet spread, drinks, alcohol (even can bring your own if you want). Sometimes got theme on special occasions like St Patrick's Day or Halloween.

It was nice but I never really saw the point. Maybe the only thing is got one free dinner every week so save money I guess.

Edited by Benarsenal

I think the best companies are those that provide all the above freebies, work smart and deliver results culture (without leaching on the team) and still provide higher pay. 

On 2/14/2025 at 10:38 PM, Benarsenal said:

When I was working at American MNC some years ago, every Friday evening they had 'Happy Hour'. Got free buffet spread, drinks, alcohol (even can bring your own if you want). Sometimes got theme on special occasions like St Patrick's Day or Halloween.

It was nice but I never really saw the point. Maybe the only thing is got one free dinner every week so save money I guess.

To each its own.

Some ppl prefer to work with coys with good/great welfare or staff benefits. 

Some just wants to come and work n leave when work hours is up. Dont expect this group to join coy events unless stated compulsory. [W/L balance of some sort]

N there r some who just work n work n work, to the point at coy DND also talk about work.

But yea that MNC you worked at, great staff welfare.