Scion Turbocharged February 7 Share February 7 On 2/6/2025 at 12:53 PM, Beehive3783 said: I hope Grab and Gojek collapse. That will truly change the COE landscape for real. Grab is quite successful i must say went to Bali and Hatyai and they have presence there too I just hope in Singapore they dun add to the rise of COE prices ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 9:23 AM, Beehive3783 said: PHV drivers, like taxi drivers, also have their daily fixed costs to cover. You say PHV drivers can work as little as they like. The same goes for taxi drivers mah. The only difference is PHV drivers can use the cars to go Malaysia, taxis cannot. This is why there are so many PHVs nowadays. Just yesterday evening, I saw one souped up Vezel with exhaust and bucket seats. Turns out, it is a PHV dropping a passenger off. LOL. Whilst there are PHV drivers that do it full time for a living, there are those that only do it part time and have normal day job. They already own their cars and just want to make some money on the side. And of course taxi drivers cannot "soup up" their taxi like the Vezel u mentioned. And this particular Vezel probably owns it and not rented from Focus or whatever. Anyway not interested to debate the semantics but yes i agree there is quite a bit of similarities between them but i am pretty sure before Uber came into the scene, those drivers who were subsequently Uber drivers were not originally taxi drivers and therefore should PHV go out of business, i am not sure how many will be willing to become taxi driver. Perhaps those that have been doing PHV as full time and have gotten used to it and have no other options will consider. Reality is, in an SES sensitive place like SG, there is still some stigma of being a taxi driver. Probably also one of the plus points of being a PHV driver due to less perceived stigma? Btw i have seen - albeit rarely - normal SG taxis crossing the causeway. I always wonder how that is. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 9:37 AM, Ginyu said: If buy car already thinking of how much can sell later then don’t buy lor. Is already a liability. Want to make gains, go acquire assets la. Just enjoy the ride🤣 U can enjoy the ride and still make a wise decision on how to minimize ur liability/loss while enjoying said ride. Nobody said anything about making gains - just want to minimize loss. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 5th Gear February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 9:23 AM, Beehive3783 said: PHV drivers, like taxi drivers, also have their daily fixed costs to cover. You say PHV drivers can work as little as they like. The same goes for taxi drivers mah. The only difference is PHV drivers can use the cars to go Malaysia, taxis cannot. This is why there are so many PHVs nowadays. Just yesterday evening, I saw one souped up Vezel with exhaust and bucket seats. Turns out, it is a PHV dropping a passenger off. LOL. I have also seen modified phv Voxy, Noah etc. they want to give passenger an experience ride they never forget🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 7:21 AM, Kar_lover said: EV resale value CMI one. My friend iX3 bought at $265k, after one year only can get around $220k... Life is so unpredictable nowadays.. At least your frd got enjoyed his iX3🤭 So if can afford , just do it n don’t think so much yah 🙏🏻 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 9:54 AM, Freeder said: Life is so unpredictable nowadays.. At least your frd got enjoyed his iX3🤭 So if can afford , just do it n don’t think so much yah 🙏🏻 yah...urs always in workshop hor...ur VW😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 9:54 AM, Freeder said: Life is so unpredictable nowadays.. At least your frd got enjoyed his iX3🤭 So if can afford , just do it n don’t think so much yah 🙏🏻 Yeah, at that time he thought can get almost 300hp BMW at $265k was a very good deal compared to the petrol version which was slightly more expensive yet less than 200hp...and to be fair he is not complaining about the poor resale, he already knew the risk and decided to give it a try. Don't try, don't know. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 9:40 AM, Scion said: Grab is quite successful i must say went to Bali and Hatyai and they have presence there too I just hope in Singapore they dun add to the rise of COE prices Private hire platforms are the biggest reason for the hike in COE prices. Without these private hire platforms, there wouldn't be so many leasing companies vying for COEs to buy new cars to rent out to suckers who want to drive car but can't afford to buy a private car. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 10:00 AM, RadX said: yah...urs always in workshop hor...ur VW😅 U dun early morning CB me pls.. U better make sure u fully loaded up your fire ins yah..KNN.. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 10:21 AM, Kar_lover said: Yeah, at that time he thought can get almost 300hp BMW at $265k was a very good deal compared to the petrol version which was slightly more expensive yet less than 200hp...and to be fair he is not complaining about the poor resale, he already knew the risk and decided to give it a try. Don't try, don't know. Why did he trade in? Bored? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 9:46 AM, Kar_lover said: Whilst there are PHV drivers that do it full time for a living, there are those that only do it part time and have normal day job. They already own their cars and just want to make some money on the side. And of course taxi drivers cannot "soup up" their taxi like the Vezel u mentioned. And this particular Vezel probably owns it and not rented from Focus or whatever. Anyway not interested to debate the semantics but yes i agree there is quite a bit of similarities between them but i am pretty sure before Uber came into the scene, those drivers who were subsequently Uber drivers were not originally taxi drivers and therefore should PHV go out of business, i am not sure how many will be willing to become taxi driver. Perhaps those that have been doing PHV as full time and have gotten used to it and have no other options will consider. Reality is, in an SES sensitive place like SG, there is still some stigma of being a taxi driver. Probably also one of the plus points of being a PHV driver due to less perceived stigma? Btw i have seen - albeit rarely - normal SG taxis crossing the causeway. I always wonder how that is. PHV stigma has already formed la... at least 6 out of 10 idiots on the roads are PHVs Anyway you're right, some just convert their own private cars to PHV to earn some extra income. Whether they are forced to convert to upkeep the car, or really for additional pocket money, we won't know SG taxis can cross the causeway but only for official business (ferrying passengers) under SG-JB taxi route. Pick up at Queen Street and drop off at JB Sentral or Larkin (not sure which one) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Battledome64 3rd Gear February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 7:21 AM, Kar_lover said: EV resale value CMI one. My friend iX3 bought at $265k, after one year only can get around $220k... When I check Sgcarmart 1 year old iX3 is 240k and above. So that means dealer profit $20k. It’s just more substantial profit for dealers than petrol cars. perhaps he could have considered selling direct at $230k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 10:34 AM, Battledome64 said: When I check Sgcarmart 1 year old iX3 is 240k and above. So that means dealer profit $20k. It’s just more substantial profit for dealers than petrol cars. perhaps he could have considered selling direct at $230k All dealers will say EV no value one.. but hor ICE cars they also say nobody wants it anymore..KNN, like that win liao lor.. then why they still can be here.. 😂 WTF.. Talk to them really vomit blood.. sell directly da BEST.. 3 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 7:21 AM, Kar_lover said: EV resale value CMI one. My friend iX3 bought at $265k, after one year only can get around $220k... Ok what. Not bad already. What you expecting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 7 Share February 7 There are also cars registered as PHV but not actively doing PH. They just do it to get 100% loan. Many PI dealers offering this 'package'. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged February 7 Share February 7 (edited) On 2/7/2025 at 10:29 AM, Lala81 said: Why did he trade in? Bored? He high SES type got more than 1 car. The iX3 he just wanted to try try as got good promo but he said just not to having to charge and prefer to just pump and go. I am not sure in the end what he really did with it. He only told me that he got offers at $220k from those platform (can't remember if it's motorist or Carro or what). I didn't have the impression he was trading in to get another car. So whether he actually sold it or not in the end i also don't know and didn't ask - I don't want to kaypo so much la lol. Maybe one of those in sgcarmart is his... Edited February 7 by Kar_lover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 12:56 PM, Benarsenal said: Ok what. Not bad already. What you expecting? U would have to ask him ba lol.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged February 7 Share February 7 On 2/7/2025 at 11:23 AM, Freeder said: All dealers will say EV no value one.. but hor ICE cars they also say nobody wants it anymore..KNN, like that win liao lor.. then why they still can be here.. 😂 WTF.. Talk to them really vomit blood.. sell directly da BEST.. Ya exactly. When u want sell car they will say mileage high la, ownership count high la, YOM old la.... but when they are the one selling - high or low mileage, 1 or 4 owners, recent or old YOM also the price more or less the same 😂 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...