COE Bidding – Feb 2025

On 2/5/2025 at 3:48 PM, leftturn said:

Today will have another big drop for Cat A

Haha tan kuku... not gonna happen in sg, even if trump tariff us!

On 2/5/2025 at 4:01 PM, Cheesey74 said:

Haha tan kuku... not gonna happen in sg, even if trump tariff us!

it's almost a drop of 10% for Cat A, at the back of some demand from the carshow even. With more of the past demand soaked up by the extra supply, there's a chance for prices to go down further when buyers wait at the sidelines. 

@Cheesey74 

Cat A dropped 8k+ today. Already expected this since early Jan.

Slight increase in quota not the main driver of the drop, but the lack of urgency in bidding by dealer with many mainstream ADs giving non-guaranteed COE packages spanning up till 8 bids. Compared to many 1-bid guarantees given by many ADs at end of last year as part of their promo package,  and desperation for sales when COE hit back 100k unexpectedly at year-end.

Dealers needs to recoup margin lost at the end of last year. We will start to see 70K COE soon.

Edited by leftturn

On 2/5/2025 at 11:20 AM, Bezbee said:

@inlinesix He didn't much attention as one of them going there to spend the gift vouchers.  He said a few conditions, but he only recall must have trade-in vehicle; financing at 60% for 7 years, etc. 

once mentioned no plans to take loan the agent face sian 1/2. No entertain alrdy.

On 2/5/2025 at 1:24 PM, 13177 said:

168K for sealion? Then atto3 can get at 138k liao lo?! Lol. BYD really wants to flood our roads with all BYD EVs?

168 is almost impossible at such COE levels. 186k maybe possible at non gtd

On 2/4/2025 at 3:23 PM, Bezbee said:

Totally agree.  I am now experiencing a buyer remorse after ordering a new ride 2 days ago, my car is due in Sep, had been waiting for COE to drop and thinking to drive til the end and worse case renew COE.   Then last week receive agent text messages on 2-day CNY open house on 1&2 Feb with special discounts, go see and the rest is history.    

Especially to think of COE prices may drop in the next 12-18months, buying a new car now is really not a wise decision. 😔  I'm doomed.

Actually LTA releasing the extra COEs is already an indicator they don't want it to be too high, if not they won't be doing that. Always buy car looking at the COE trend rather than special discount or freebies which can't even cover the COE if there's a big drop. If already bought just enjoy, but likely u will be holding a high COE car while the pricing will fluctuate to a downwards trend.  

Edited by Dafansu

On 2/4/2025 at 5:36 PM, Benarsenal said:

Some people look a bit more long term. At the moment EV got very little resale or scrap value in SG because of the rebates.

Why do you want high scrap? For the same depre I rather have a low parf. Why put money into LTA zero interest bank! 

On 2/5/2025 at 4:16 PM, leftturn said:

@Cheesey74 

Cat A dropped 8k+ today. Already expected this since early Jan.

Slight increase in quota not the main driver of the drop, but the lack of urgency in bidding by dealer with many mainstream ADs giving non-guaranteed COE packages spanning up till 8 bids. Compared to many 1-bid guarantees given by many ADs at end of last year as part of their promo package,  and desperation for sales when COE hit back 100k unexpectedly at year-end.

Dealers needs to recoup margin lost at the end of last year. We will start to see 70K COE soon.

Dropping in time for GE...

perfectly engineered 

then next few rounds all go up again back to 100k

havent we all been thru this in the last 2 decades? except the inflation has taken over and its no longer 10k or 30k etc...

5th Gear

Even if the coe head south in the months to come then those who got theirs at 100k and above got nothing to lose correct? Can’t remember the reason behind it, like their coe rebate higher or something 🤣

On 2/5/2025 at 9:25 PM, Ginyu said:

Even if the coe head south in the months to come then those who got theirs at 100k and above got nothing to lose correct? Can’t remember the reason behind it, like their coe rebate higher or something 🤣

only worth it if u drive till the end, if not if coe low next time u cant sell as high 

@Benarsenal alot of people said EV no PARF value. but when I check singpass/onemotoring, I see that I got $22K minimum PARF benefit.
Is that the PARF value that we are talking about here?

On 2/5/2025 at 12:43 AM, Benarsenal said:

Majority of the mainstream EVs are zero PARF. To get some PARF value for EV probably have to be at least Tesla or above.

On 2/5/2025 at 10:00 PM, 2wiremodem said:

@Benarsenal alot of people said EV no PARF value. but when I check singpass/onemotoring, I see that I got $22K minimum PARF benefit.
Is that the PARF value that we are talking about here?

Taycan?

On 2/5/2025 at 1:38 PM, Spidey10 said:

no idea my fren...

but is good if they cover for 10 yrs lo....and hopefully covers everything about the batt, else also no point. If really the case that it covers the batt and all the relevant parts, then i think the 2nd hand value will be better...at least the next car owner will be assured that anything happen to the battery can take it back to be replaced and not come out from own pocket...

i think the current value of 2nd hand EV is not good one factor is the batt replacement cost ba...

2nd hand EV value no good? I still see the price most selling not say dirt cheap le. 

On 2/5/2025 at 10:53 AM, Throttle2 said:

Your money, your life.  Do as you wish.

Just dont cry father mother for help when things f**k up

What can f**k up? Coe dropped to $1?

I considered myself peasant as I cannot afford a G-class or Maybach or others who change car when there’s a punctured  tyre. ,  I have no problem paying the car i purchased upfront with full cash if C&C didn’t insist that i must take a loan. 

Just that I felt the price of car in SG does not justify as you only own it for a mere 10years.

On 2/5/2025 at 5:35 PM, Dafansu said:

Actually LTA releasing the extra COEs is already an indicator they don't want it to be too high, if not they won't be doing that. Always buy car looking at the COE trend rather than special discount or freebies which can't even cover the COE if there's a big drop. If already bought just enjoy, but likely u will be holding a high COE car while the pricing will fluctuate to a downwards trend.  

Today Cat A dropped back to 80K level maybe like last time just one time only. Then next few rounds go up to 90k and 100k level. Those who managed to secure their coe today is lucky.

5th Gear
On 2/5/2025 at 10:20 PM, 13177 said:

Today Cat A dropped back to 80K level maybe like last time just one time only. Then next few rounds go up to 90k and 100k level. Those who managed to secure their coe today is lucky.

Potential buyers are waiting on the sidelines la. Only drop to 80k then rush to buy meh? think they are smarter now expecting to go lower. Think about it he got it at 80k last week then  I need to pay 100k for the same piece of white paper for this week? Cannot be mah. 8 bid non guaranteed  for only 80k or below if not no deal lor🤣

Edited by Ginyu