The ownself service car hobbyist! Pls come in Share your lobangs/parts hoot

SIM37

On 1/28/2025 at 11:24 AM, SIM37 said:

@kobayashiGT I enjoy the process and of course the savings, cause "time" is a state of mind, the time taken to go workshop and collect is also "time"

I'm quite streamlined on the things I need to do, a simple oil change/filter change usually everything from start to finish I can do under 1h. So its quite quick vs driving to/from workshop. And no doubt the savings.

A conventional oil change for my car is only 2.5l oil and filter. I buy 4L oil for $28+ and a filter is $5. Can't beat those prices. And moreover, most shops "advertise" 4L oil but my car at 2+ litre, I don't get the balance back.

our ex car i used the vacuum suction method to change engine oil, don't need to jack up the car, oil filter is on top too. That car I can do oil change in half an hour

On 1/28/2025 at 1:38 PM, Gnahp said:

our ex car i used the vacuum suction method to change engine oil, don't need to jack up the car, oil filter is on top too. That car I can do oil change in half an hour

Used to do the same way. Now too lazy. And due to less driving and more months between servicing, I just let my WS do it. 

On 1/28/2025 at 11:15 AM, SIM37 said:

@Gnahp I'm 47 already. But I do cycle to work everyday (Yes I do drive too) but I exercise quite often. But car maintanence days sure sore, cause got to wiggle under car and etc, and you'll exercise muscles in places where you didn't even know you had places.

I do not have a hoist so got to crawl under car.

Under car not a problem. Under the dash is the worst! The bloody door sill can break one’s back. 
used to diy also. The standard oil and filter changes. Brake fluid flush. ATF change. Plugs. Coolant. Fuel filter. 
now lazy. Only specific non oil stuff. I will undertake as living in condo cannot do the messy stuff. 
just changed valve cover gasket sometime back. Latest was to open up the door panel to reseal parts of the vapor barrier to prevent drops of water at the door sill. 
have also amassed some tools over the years. The most waste money was the motive brake fluid bleeder. Had a jap car and had to use the universal kit with the tensioning chains. It slipped and blasted brake fluid everywhere when under pressure. Obviously 🤬 for the next 15-20mins when cleaning up. 

On 1/28/2025 at 1:38 PM, Gnahp said:

I bought the mityvac extractor clone. But sold it as I thought to do it and then nah… don’t bother. 😂

On 1/28/2025 at 2:36 PM, Mkl22 said:

I bought the mityvac extractor clone. But sold it as I thought to do it and then nah… don’t bother. 😂

now my mityvac is collecting dust as the current car has no dipstick

back to draining from the bottom 

On 1/27/2025 at 3:32 PM, SIM37 said:

How I Save Money by DIY-ing My Car Servicing (And Why You Can Too!)

My journey into car DIY started way back in 2001 when I was a university student in Australia. I bought my first car, a trusty Suzuki Swift, for just $2,500. It was ever-reliable and ran like a dream, but as a student on a tight budget, I needed to find ways to cut costs without cutting corners. Friendly chats at car accessory shops pointed me to YouTube and online forums, and I realized—why not try servicing my car myself?

That one decision changed everything. Since then, I've serviced every car I've owned. Today, I drive a humble Mitsubishi Attrage, and even with the ever-increasing costs of car servicing from authorized dealers and workshops, I’m able to keep things affordable by doing most of the work myself.

Here’s how I save money and why you might want to give it a shot too:

Learning the Basics is Easier Than You Think

Back then, I was a total newbie with no clue about what went under the hood. But online tutorials, YouTube, and car forums became my go-to teachers. Step-by-step guides made everything from oil changes to air filter replacements feel doable. These days, it’s even easier to learn! There’s an endless supply of beginner-friendly resources for every car make and model.

Tools like socket sets, oil wrenches, and car jacks are one-time purchases that pay for themselves after a couple of DIY jobs.
I jack up the vehicles with a bottle jack and rest them on jack stands https://s.shopee.sg/9pOzui9VFg

bef0df536a713c12c5d1922c42ac3ac2.webp

387755293_10159452032427797_178112661936

Tools that I find very useful 

Socket set: https://s.shopee.sg/30YfmOL0C1

my-11134207-7r98o-ll03cn96jpvjd2.webp

Smaller sockets with wide/long reach can be useful for adjusting belt tension. Also ensure the socket set has the correct size for your car lug nuts. Mine has 21mm which I have several so its useful. I also use a longer bicycle handlebar for leverage.

Lexus engine oil : $28.50 4 Litres (Change every 10k)
https://s.shopee.sg/4VNLc06yLl

sg-11134207-7rbl7-lnv2e59b958ode.webp

My car's (attrage oil filter), change every 10k  https://s.shopee.sg/gAl0LNLQ8
$4.25

7f3da24292eb00046838506b77f96d55.webp

Pads https://s.shopee.sg/9KSjKQQ2R6 
Cause the Perodua viva uses the same brake pads Its about $20
Change very 30-50k (Depends on wear/tear and guide of 4mm left)
my-11134207-7qul5-lk7o0yp05fmeb4.webp

Cabin Air Con Filter About 10-20k depends on "dirtyness" Usually I air blast away and plonk back in : $8++ https://s.shopee.sg/7pdvXn239g

cn-11134207-7qukw-lfysjcju4vpa22.webp

Engine Air Filter every 20k or so... but every 10k I take out to brush and air blast : https://s.shopee.sg/6Kp7lAVXtY. Aboout $8-10

cn-11134207-7ras8-m4ij6r9kyf3r67.webp

Car drive belt (Every 50k or so) : https://s.shopee.sg/8KaC944b1k

d9048e01b166ddaa8a31fe5cc70b8fdc.webp

Disc rotor (I changed around 110k) https://s.shopee.sg/2qFFb8udGb

my-11134207-7qukz-lfmbjaj4w849c9.webp

Oil Filter wrench https://s.shopee.sg/20g8br4bKE

06369792e3a47cde50c7ecffa094301a.webp

The Savings Add Up!

An oil change at a workshop can cost $100 or more, depending on the car. Doing it myself costs a fraction of that, and I know exactly what goes into my engine. Over the years, the money I’ve saved has been put to better use—whether it’s for family, hobbies, or upgrading my tools!

The Joy of Ownership

Beyond the financial savings, there’s a sense of pride and satisfaction that comes with maintaining your own car. It’s also a great way to understand your vehicle better. Plus, it’s fun! If you’ve never tried it before, start small—replace your air filter, swap out your spark plugs, or change a headlight bulb. You’ll be surprised how achievable it is.

Why Not Give It a Try?

Alas.... all these joy of changing fluids for an ICE car may come to an end in 2030.

Any other DIY service enthusiasts pls feel free to contribute.

Since you change so often, get a fumoto valve. Makes the job so much easier, especially if the oil plug is all the way back. I never had to jack the car with fumoto valve. Also the oil filter is towards the front of the car so easy to reach. 
installed the valve on at least 7cars. None ever leaked. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 1/28/2025 at 2:39 PM, Gnahp said:

now my mityvac is collecting dust as the current car has no dipstick

back to draining from the bottom 

The next car will be ev, then can throw liao!!! Only need to change battery coolant, brake fluid and Aircon filter. 
brake pads likely also no need to touch for 10years. 

On 1/28/2025 at 2:34 PM, Mkl22 said:

Under car not a problem. Under the dash is the worst! The bloody door sill can break one’s back. 
used to diy also. The standard oil and filter changes. Brake fluid flush. ATF change. Plugs. Coolant. Fuel filter. 
now lazy. Only specific non oil stuff. I will undertake as living in condo cannot do the messy stuff. 
just changed valve cover gasket sometime back. Latest was to open up the door panel to reseal parts of the vapor barrier to prevent drops of water at the door sill. 
have also amassed some tools over the years. The most waste money was the motive brake fluid bleeder. Had a jap car and had to use the universal kit with the tensioning chains. It slipped and blasted brake fluid everywhere when under pressure. Obviously 🤬 for the next 15-20mins when cleaning up. 

I can imagine the mess in the engine bay created by brake fluid under pressure 😁

On 1/28/2025 at 2:42 PM, Mkl22 said:

The next car will be ev, then can throw liao!!! Only need to change battery coolant, brake fluid and Aircon filter. 
brake pads likely also no need to touch for 10years. 

I will keep an ICE car, too keep myself busy and to agitate the tree huggers

On 1/28/2025 at 9:52 AM, kobayashiGT said:

And today ppl value time differently. They will find that when they bring the car to workshop, they can still free their time to do other stuff while paying someone to service the car. 

So different mindset also. 

Agree on this. I've changed my car's oil during my school days. To save cost and to learn how to do things myself. Now, I'd rather use my time for work, and let the WS handle the servicing. I feel it's just more productive this way. :a-good:

3rd Gear
On 1/28/2025 at 2:39 PM, Mkl22 said:

Since you change so often, get a fumoto valve. Makes the job so much easier, especially if the oil plug is all the way back. I never had to jack the car with fumoto valve. Also the oil filter is towards the front of the car so easy to reach. 
installed the valve on at least 7cars. None ever leaked. 

I am considering, but I need to spend some time under the car to undo the oil filter anyway, so the fumoto valve won't save me too much time 

my wife's car engine oil level sensor is very sensitive and accurate

ground level a little bit slanted will see the change in engine oil capacity

I place a digital angle gauge at the touch pad of the car to check the level before I read the oil capacity

my wife said I siao already....

20250126_174350.thumb.jpg.8b5ad99046032143d16f52c6b23afa9e.jpg

20250126_174746.thumb.jpg.947f6ed4c10be217be407b146e33f3bb.jpg

7 degree slope down towards the front, this will cause the engine oil level sensor to report lesser oil comparing to levelled ground as the sensor is located at the rear of the oil sump

0.8 degree lopsided to the left, negligible

20250126_182155.thumb.jpg.2a7cd7deaf8511d315e38adf0c8d9d8a.jpg

4th Gear

When doing pressure brake bleeding, try to keep the compressed air pressure below 10psi, even with professional set.

But lately, there are pressure bleeder powered by electric pump, they are designed to generated air pressure up to 30psi. These electric brake bleeders are mainly used by US mechanics for certain make of vehicles.

Pressure brake bleeders are not popular with our local mechanics, due to higher cost incur from purchasing various sizes of master brake pump reservoirs caps as compare to air vacuum brake bleeder

pressure brake bleeder.jpg

air vacuum brake bleeder.jpg

On 1/28/2025 at 9:53 AM, mersaylee said:

I know some peeps purposely drive to nearby public mscp to work on their cars...i used to drive to higher floor of my mscp which is more airy to do some works...but limited to wiper, filter, light bulb change, simple cosmetic mod, troubleshoot only...anything else may render a dial of 995 for broken back...😁

I drive to top floor. Not to service.  But DIY waxing. 😅

DIY servicing is too much hassle. Pay 30 buks let ppl do much more easy😑

On 1/31/2025 at 2:23 PM, Yeobh said:

When doing pressure brake bleeding, try to keep the compressed air pressure below 10psi, even with professional set.

But lately, there are pressure bleeder powered by electric pump, they are designed to generated air pressure up to 30psi. These electric brake bleeders are mainly used by US mechanics for certain make of vehicles.

Pressure brake bleeders are not popular with our local mechanics, due to higher cost incur from purchasing various sizes of master brake pump reservoirs caps as compare to air vacuum brake bleeder

pressure brake bleeder.jpg

air vacuum brake bleeder.jpg

Actually another reason is wastage of brake fluid. As you pour into the container and typically don’t pour back to the bottle. Also some customers will specify their own brand of brake fluid. Thus need to clean out and fill.
Hence this and also not caring what cap fits, is what I feel is more of the reason that vacuum bleeders are preferred. 

On 1/31/2025 at 3:09 PM, Beregond said:

I drive to top floor. Not to service.  But DIY waxing. 😅

DIY servicing is too much hassle. Pay 30 buks let ppl do much more easy😑

so it is called "waxing" now 😁

On 1/31/2025 at 3:12 PM, Mkl22 said:

Actually another reason is wastage of brake fluid. As you pour into the container and typically don’t pour back to the bottle. Also some customers will specify their own brand of brake fluid. Thus need to clean out and fill.
Hence this and also not caring what cap fits, is what I feel is more of the reason that vacuum bleeders are preferred. 

as long as DOT 4, different brand still got different meh???

On 1/31/2025 at 5:32 PM, Beregond said:

as long as DOT 4, different brand still got different meh???

Faster or slower absorb water?