Woman stranded after JB workshop loses her car keys: 'I will not go to M'sia for repairs anymore'

On 1/27/2025 at 1:58 PM, Throttle2 said:

Bro, you might have mistaken, i am not one of those who swore never to visit JB.    I am just against JB properties or Malaysia as a whole being a “financial investment” .  Also against the idea of going into JB so often (due to certain risks i perceived) which this woman who lost her keys have proven.

And for that, i would never look at Malaysia nor any country through tinted glasses (ie. only see the good, ignoring the bad)

By the way, i have only driven in ONCE last year, despite having more free time than anyone i know in here and outside.  So absolutely nothing has change in my personal views on this matter actually.  

Up next, I might take my Harley in for a bit of touring if i find the right people to go with but again thats not high up in my list at all.  

how often do you go into JB? 

I remember from your old posts you refrained from visiting JB previously, never driven in till recently.  I might be mistaken. 

I visit JB occasionally (but never to service my car 😂😂😂) but I drive to KL pretty often. Would go more often when I am retired. 

On 1/27/2025 at 2:36 PM, Beehive3783 said:

For usual oil change, i just get it done in SG. Not worth the time for the jam.

For major service, wow the savings in labour costs is substantial enough to go in :D 

You buy your parts and oils from local stockists and drive in?

Either way SG car workshops can't earn a dime from you 😆

Think it is a matter of trust.  If I can find a good workshop in JB with a mechanic I can trust, why not?  Why let a border stop me?  I never do that thus far due to time consideration (troublesome to go back again if repair not properly done) and i also don't know anyone whom I can trust.  

Even in SG, it is hard to find good and honest workshops. Hence I usually go back to AD as much as possible, at least more systemic.

Having a car is for convenience, not so much to save money.  

On 1/27/2025 at 2:41 PM, 107fan said:

You buy your parts and oils from local stockists and drive in?

Either way SG car workshops can't earn a dime from you 😆

Yes, parts from SG stockists. I have even tried DIY oil change but damn, it's too tiring for me and not worth the time and effort because I only use scissor jack and jack stands.

My practice is only recommended for those who know their stuff and know exactly what part needs replacing.

For those who are not confident, better to let the workshop order the parts for you, at least there is recourse (hopefully) if the parts fail or they replaced the incorrect part with their incorrect diagnosis :D 

On 1/27/2025 at 2:19 PM, Beehive3783 said:

For major service, I always buy my own parts and lubricants, bring to JB and change. You may call me stupid but I never leave the vicinity of the workshop while my car is there. To make sure there is no alibaba and also to see if the mechanic knows his stuff. Same for car wash, although i have not been to any JB car wash in almost a decade. So far so good. 

Some people are too naive to believe their cars are as safe as they would be in SG. Dropping their cars off at the workshop and then happily went massage or shopping. Ok you save time by multi-tasking, but when your car disappears, you will blame everyone else but yourself. :D 

U stay there and watch. Because u know what to look out for. U know about Cars

I say about 5% of our driver have your knowledge?  The rest that know nothing about cars. Dub even know where to top up coolant or engine oil.

Not even wiper fluid. U ask them watch.

Is like newbie watching a doctor perform operation or a IT expert doing programming. 

They won't know any thing also😅

Like some bro say. Basically is trust...

On 1/27/2025 at 11:54 AM, Kopites said:

Going to jb for cheaper daily necessities won't caused him to be in his current adversity.

More so of no proper career planning and financial independence. 

Yes, I will not disagree with you, but I bring this guy up because he always telling me can save. I know it is just his excuses lah. Just like I say, drive there also pay, cross causeway also need to pay, wear and tear also pay, eat there at restaurant price also pay more even if it is cheaper. Finally risk also got to pay or look out for.

On 1/27/2025 at 12:42 PM, inlinesix said:

I know what i want and how much.

I usually very specific.

Even Mini Service Advisor LPPL when he said my tyre not RFT.

Good for you, there are many who know to drive but don't know to learn about the car. 

On 1/27/2025 at 1:35 PM, 107fan said:

How trustworthy is that person? To a personal level? I know people who stick to a mechanic whom they know personally to do their car servicing. Sort of like a family doctor that kind.

Otherwise, I would say as long as you bring your car to outside workshops, don't expect any real trust. Even if there aren't any ulterior motives, they let 1 new hire or inexperienced new guy to work (because the other seniors are busy, as always), your car will not get the usual standard of care you expect.  

I never know man, all this time, I will only go to AD for my servicing with all the records that they will bill and put a check into the check list (at least, basic accountability is there). Of cos it is only for servicing. I am lucky I don't encounter all those silly things like software or funny breakdown or sound. 

Once my Corolla under warranty got sound when doing U-turn, I instantly know it is drive-shaft issue and AD got it right. SA will always get my judgement if they don't perform. Again, I am lucky to not meet with lousy SA. Only when they tell me to change wiper blades and battery, I tell them I know better when and where to do it. 

As for repairs when out of warranty, because I service my ride on time, I don't really get any major issues as most of them are within 10 years. And I only go to my trusty Ho Hup Seng which I am very trusting with them and with them since 1996 till today. I still go to them and have coffee with them. Reason being, I find them too reasonable and honest with me and others. My first ride and first repair was BIL's mechanic in Shin Min which I totally find them not trustworthy at all after first visit. 

Thus, this is very individual, I can only say find someone you can trust in SG easier to save money then go JB to find trouble or time bomb

On 1/27/2025 at 3:13 PM, Arogab said:

Yes, I will not disagree with you, but I bring this guy up because he always telling me can save. I know it is just his excuses lah. Just like I say, drive there also pay, cross causeway also need to pay, wear and tear also pay, eat there at restaurant price also pay more even if it is cheaper. Finally risk also got to pay or look out for.

Good for you, there are many who know to drive but don't know to learn about the car. 

I never know man, all this time, I will only go to AD for my servicing with all the records that they will bill and put a check into the check list (at least, basic accountability is there). Of cos it is only for servicing. I am lucky I don't encounter all those silly things like software or funny breakdown or sound. 

Once my Corolla under warranty got sound when doing U-turn, I instantly know it is drive-shaft issue and AD got it right. SA will always get my judgement if they don't perform. Again, I am lucky to not meet with lousy SA. Only when they tell me to change wiper blades and battery, I tell them I know better when and where to do it. 

As for repairs when out of warranty, because I service my ride on time, I don't really get any major issues as most of them are within 10 years. And I only go to my trusty Ho Hup Seng which I am very trusting with them and with them since 1996 till today. I still go to them and have coffee with them. Reason being, I find them too reasonable and honest with me and others. My first ride and first repair was BIL's mechanic in Shin Min which I totally find them not trustworthy at all after first visit. 

Thus, this is very individual, I can only say find someone you can trust in SG easier to save money then go JB to find trouble or time bomb

Even brake fluid i will tell WS when to change it as i have the tool to check.

For battery, i have the tool but no balls to use it.  I will ask WS to check it every 2 years.

On 1/27/2025 at 12:54 PM, Kopites said:

Going to jb for cheaper daily necessities won't caused him to be in his current adversity.

More so of no proper career planning and financial independence. 

agreed, nowadays see so many premium cars heading in to get cheaper necessities. Does this mean last time they never come in and now got status already so start coming in 😁

I think mention alot of time before.

A servicing is not just a replacement of engine oil, oil filter and air filter.

I dun call that servicing. Rather oil change or part change. 

A proper servicing  will check your car for problems that are going to come. Like coolant stain on the hose, battery connection loose. Absorber leaking. 

Engine oil level low when draining out. What happen?  Wrong grade? Engine issue? Leakage etc etc. 

Asking if mech will chop driver because they dun know about their stuff 

Is like asking if doctor will chop u for expensive operation. Or dentist will chop u to fix your teeth.  Etc etc.  

For newbie  . If we dun trust anybody.  Then u gonna be the expert on everything?

On 1/27/2025 at 2:38 PM, Voodooman said:

I remember from your old posts you refrained from visiting JB previously, never driven in till recently.  I might be mistaken. 

I visit JB occasionally (but never to service my car 😂😂😂) but I drive to KL pretty often. Would go more often when I am retired. 

Yes correct. You are not mistaken. 

I refrain since there was no reason to go in,  for the risks i perceive as explained.  
But i never swore off it.   
Refrain means that i will not song song just drive in to eat and shop.   If i go, should i go, i will plan at least a simple itinerary so i know where to go, what i want to do.   

in my younger days, i used to go alone to Pasir Gudang track twice a month at least.  Also i would take my touring bike into Malaysia becos there was nowhere to truly ride it in SG.   Driven once to kukup and also to KL, port dickson.  

Driving or riding in Malaysia isnt a joy to me, i would choose Japan , Australia etc anytime.  Thats why i only did it once last year despite having loads of time.  Malaysia overall, simply doesnt appeal much to me.  The weather, the scenery, the vibes, the culture, the food is probably all too similar and thus boring to me.

Great that it works for you, then you can enjoy more convenient fun.   I cant.

On 1/27/2025 at 2:10 PM, Beregond said:

U stay there and watch. Because u know what to look out for. U know about Cars

I say about 5% of our driver have your knowledge?  The rest that know nothing about cars. Dub even know where to top up coolant or engine oil.

Not even wiper fluid. U ask them watch.

Is like newbie watching a doctor perform operation or a IT expert doing programming. 

They won't know any thing also😅

Like some bro say. Basically is trust...

Exactly. Many of them all don't know. When my sister calls me and tell me, "Bro, your Camry cannot start". I was in China and I ask her, when start what she hear. She describe to me the sound and I instantly know it is cranking. Told her to loan someone's car with my cable at the back to jump start. Then I tell her send to my regular WS and ask for Ah Li. And instantly me and Ah Li agree it is the alternator and $350 settled in less than 2 hours. 

Second time, when someone just hit my number plate, my sister told me start car got continuous beep sound when start. Actually, parking assist button switch off can liao. But I buay song, ask my sister tell the guy I need to tow back to Lexus and change number plat costed him $700 plus $200 towing, when talk about loss of use, I pretend to be the nice guy to say no need. Haha

So, it pays to know and understand. But really some people just refuse to learn, my sister is one of them too :dizzy:

On 1/27/2025 at 3:23 PM, Beregond said:

I think mention alot of time before.

A servicing is not just a replacement of engine oil, oil filter and air filter.

I dun call that servicing. Rather oil change or part change. 

A proper servicing  will check your car for problems that are going to come. Like coolant stain on the hose, battery connection loose. Absorber leaking. 

Engine oil level low when draining out. What happen?  Wrong grade? Engine issue? Leakage etc etc. 

Asking if mech will chop driver because they dun know about their stuff 

Is like asking if doctor will chop u for expensive operation. Or dentist will chop u to fix your teeth.  Etc etc.  

For newbie  . If we dun trust anybody.  Then u gonna be the expert on everything?

Talking about servicing. 
next week gotta go for my GLC 120,000km service.  

On 1/27/2025 at 3:27 PM, Throttle2 said:

Yes correct. You are not mistaken. 

I refrain since there was no reason to go in,  for the risks i perceive as explained.  
But i never swore off it.   
Refrain means that i will not song song just drive in to eat and shop.   If i go, should i go, i will plan at least a simple itinerary so i know where to go, what i want to do.   

in my younger days, i used to go alone to Pasir Gudang track twice a month at least.  Also i would take my touring bike into Malaysia becos there was nowhere to truly ride it in SG.   Driven once to kukup and also to KL, port dickson.  

Driving or riding in Malaysia isnt a joy to me, i would choose Japan , Australia etc anytime.  Thats why i only did it once last year despite having loads of time.  Malaysia overall, simply doesnt appeal much to me.  The weather, the scenery, the vibes, the culture, the food is probably all too similar and thus boring to me.

Great that it works for you, then you can enjoy more convenient fun.   I cant.

Except for weather, Malaysia has much to offer if you are willing to explore.  

World class beaches and islands and some of the resorts are pretty upmarket too.

Food is generally better than SG (save for very high end stuff), people are friendlier and at 3.3 to 1, we can go high end without feeling much of the pinch.  

Of course Japan is better but it is not next door.  

On 1/27/2025 at 4:11 PM, Voodooman said:

World class beaches and islands and some of the resorts are pretty upmarket too.

Food is generally better than SG (save for very high end stuff), people are friendlier and at 3.3 to 1, we can go high end without feeling much of the pinch.  

Anytime can do a 1-day drive to KL to lunch and back to Singapore for Dinner.

Along the way, pump RON100.

Hearsay, RON100 make HD exos louder.

Edited by inlinesix

On 1/27/2025 at 4:11 PM, Voodooman said:

Malaysia definitely gives better value than Singapore.   
With its size and nature, it also beats Singapore hands down in that dept.

I did go to Penang with wife last year for a short getaway. 
maybe this year, i can visit somewhere in Malaysia for a few days.

just to clarify, i see going to JB for shopping and eating, totally different from having a short vacation in other pars of Malaysia.

while i may not be too interested to go jb to shop and eat, i certainly will consider short getaways in other parts of Malaysia. 

Edited by Throttle2

On 1/27/2025 at 10:53 AM, Arogab said:

I look at things differently than you. And that does not mean we should argue or disagree. I do agree with what you say. Just I think about those who do it and are able to plan on it. You wanna do something, you need to plan it and do it good.

Not like my friend, one way he say money not enough, the other way he say, go JB so often can save money. In the end? What he save? 

Your friend contradicting lah. If the problem is not enough money, then save on rainy day fund, then start doing more to earn more money lor. 

No point complaint and complaint no money then only save on penny stuff. 

you already start off with no money at the first place liao. Confirm not enough one. 

not like i am rich or what lah. But i learn alot form MCFers like you all! 

On 1/27/2025 at 3:00 PM, Beehive3783 said:

Yes, parts from SG stockists. I have even tried DIY oil change but damn, it's too tiring for me and not worth the time and effort because I only use scissor jack and jack stands.

My practice is only recommended for those who know their stuff and know exactly what part needs replacing.

For those who are not confident, better to let the workshop order the parts for you, at least there is recourse (hopefully) if the parts fail or they replaced the incorrect part with their incorrect diagnosis :D 

First things first where do you even dispose of the used engine oil lol even if you want to DIY at home.

If V6 needs at least 4, 5 litres, need carry in jerry cans and drive back to workshop and dump at their disposal tanks? I cannot think of any facilities in HDB or private estates that does this. So ley chey!

On 1/27/2025 at 3:17 PM, inlinesix said:

Even brake fluid i will tell WS when to change it as i have the tool to check.

For battery, i have the tool but no balls to use it.  I will ask WS to check it every 2 years.

Battery check easy lah. if need to jump start too often then time's up!