Preview of the 2025 Singapore Motorshow

5th Gear
On 1/14/2025 at 7:54 PM, Rskc said:

What the chinese are doing is not only to EV industry. It is now fittest survives. You may say copy but copy also need skills to copy. I am a conti fan for decades and even I am struggling to see the relevance of paying premium to germans now when we can get chinese EV 50/50 weight distribution with RWD at a fraction of contis price. Copy? Yes, maybe, but I think they did copy extremely well, even beating the original. 

At the end of day, it is still what a consumer get most from the dollar they spend. I fear for the germans.

Safety? Just go for 5 stars euro encap tested chinese EV lor. 

Not surprise to see more switch  from sausage to dumplings. German EV cost around 100k more with similar specs but does not justify other than its long time reputation and badge. Besides these contis are also shaky, look at stellantis for example🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 1/15/2025 at 10:32 AM, Ginyu said:

Not surprise to see more switch  from sausage to dumplings. German EV cost around 100k more with similar specs but does not justify other than its long time reputation and badge. Besides these contis are also shaky, look at stellantis for example🤣

Cheap German got some buttons.

Expensive German got a lot more buttons.

That’s the difference

🤭

ps PRC looks cheap without buttons just like Tesla

On 1/15/2025 at 11:43 AM, inlinesix said:

That’s the difference

🤭

Not anymore. Very ex bratwurst now also only touch screens to save costs.

On 1/14/2025 at 7:59 PM, jhnology said:

why someone is kneeling down on the bottom left? 

20250110_163144.jpg

Maybe kneeled down to beg the one in the driver seat NOT to get a Altis? 

Girl (kneeling by the door): Please, tolong, can we look at something nicer and better?

Guy (in the driver seat): But hor people tell me Toyota very reliable one, can last long long time, never service also won't spoil one...

:D :D

• Haha! 11

On 1/13/2025 at 2:58 PM, Davidklt said:

To be fair, it has been a deliberate strategy by Toyota to not focus on EV and adopt a look and see approach first.

They were convinced that hybrid is a better approach in terms of long term reliability, recyclability and drivers’ downtime.

This is the official media friendly explanation. 

The real truth is that Toyota has sunk too much $$$ betting on hydrogen as the next big thing after ICE, but failed big time as Tesla/China EVs blitzed the world first. Now, since hydrogen has no global traction, they need to catch up on EV tech but at this moment still far behind the Tesla and Chinese EVs. Toyota BZ4x SUV is a failure globally. 

Look at what Toyota has done in China and you will realize their strategy to rely just on hybrid is bulls**t. They have to leverage on BYD's low cost batteries to put into their BZ3 sedan meant for sale only in China. What is stopping them for converting this to right-hand drive and make it a global model? I'm sure TMAP and BMS will be happy to sell this in Singapore except they will be greedy on their pricing as they are "Toyota". 

https://electrek.co/2023/03/03/first-toyota-bz3-ev-co-developed-with-byd-rolls-off-the-line/

image.thumb.png.c9f578366341a38da17fa7ba46e417c9.png

Edited by Lethalstrike

On 1/15/2025 at 12:28 PM, Carbon82 said:

Maybe kneeled down to beg the one in the driver seat NOT get a Altis? 

Girl (kneeling by the door): Please, tolong, can we look at something nicer and better?

Guy (in the driver seat): But hor people tell me Toyota very reliable one, can last long long time, never service also won't spoil one...

:D :D

this is a very clean version. If a girl kneels down like that in front of me, I will be scared. 

On 1/15/2025 at 2:14 PM, Lethalstrike said:

This is the official media friendly explanation. 

The real truth is that Toyota has sunk too much $$$ betting on hydrogen as the next big thing after ICE, but failed big time as Tesla/China EVs blitzed the world first. Now, since hydrogen has no global traction, they need to catch up on EV tech but at this moment still far behind the Tesla and Chinese EVs. Toyota BZ4x SUV is a failure globally. 

Look at what Toyota has done in China and you will realize their strategy to rely just on hybrid is bulls**t. They have to leverage on BYD's low cost batteries to put into their BZ3 sedan meant for sale only in China. What is stopping them for converting this to right-hand drive and make it a global model? I'm sure TMAP and BMS will be happy to sell this in Singapore except they will be greedy on their pricing as they are "Toyota". 

https://electrek.co/2023/03/03/first-toyota-bz3-ev-co-developed-with-byd-rolls-off-the-line/

image.thumb.png.c9f578366341a38da17fa7ba46e417c9.png

The joke is Toyota was an early investor in Tesla.

On 1/15/2025 at 11:43 AM, inlinesix said:

That’s the difference

🤭

got aftermarket physical buttons cluster already

when all buttons, people want touch screen

when all on touch screen, people want buttons

really hard to please

f135586d4dd1d689ef312b9ba328.jpeg

On 1/15/2025 at 2:24 PM, Mockngbrd said:

I am on Toyota's side with Hybrid. 

I also tink haibrick is safer...lower anxiety...😁

On 1/15/2025 at 3:22 PM, Mockngbrd said:

in the future, ICE will be luxury

like the horses 

last time

london-traffic-1870-e1714679475654.jpg

now

TM-020.jpg

• Haha! 8

On 1/15/2025 at 3:22 PM, Mockngbrd said:

in the future, ICE will be luxury

Now price already luxury.

FL5: $300+k

GR Yaris: $370k

On 1/15/2025 at 3:32 PM, Gnahp said:

like the horses 

last time

london-traffic-1870-e1714679475654.jpg

now

TM-020.jpg

This is the most environmentally-friendly mode of transport. No smoke, no petrol, no battery, no waste. Just need water and grains. The horse after scrapped can use to fertilise plants or trees. 

On 1/15/2025 at 3:41 PM, Zxcvb said:

This is the most environmentally-friendly mode of transport. No smoke, no petrol, no battery, no waste. Just need water and grains. The horse after scrapped can use to fertilise plants or trees. 

I rather sniffing exhaust fumes 🤣

the-horse-manure-problem-of-1894-the-15-

On 1/15/2025 at 3:41 PM, Zxcvb said:

Hoho...u haven't gone near horse carriages 

Pengsan 

On 1/15/2025 at 2:46 PM, mersaylee said:

I also tink haibrick is safer...lower anxiety...😁

When iphone came out, some oso say that they will stick to Blackberry coz got keypad.....

On 1/15/2025 at 4:34 PM, Soya said:

When iphone came out, some oso say that they will stick to Blackberry coz got keypad.....

A coworker once said die die also won't get a handphone...after about 2 years later...the phone only got bigger and bigger each time...becos started to have lao hua oredi...😂