PSP proposes COE credit system instead of cash for bidding

kobayashiGT

On 1/9/2025 at 10:56 PM, inlinesix said:

In MY, need Vocational Driving License to drive commercial vehicles.

In addition, MY requires Sg commercial vehicles to be related to Msia Company.

That’s why cannot.

Taxi no problem as long as Insurance Geo location includes West Msia

Oh... Then Grab car can drive in MY😅

On 1/9/2025 at 10:52 PM, Atonchia said:

If it's commercial car registration then cannot go in MY already. 

LTA  just need to reclassify this segment. Can we see all taxi go MY? Cannot right. Then why PHV got more benefit than Taxi? 

Then causeway and 2nd link probably see less jam. 

PHV all go in pump petrol. Loss of petrol excise duties. Cannot 😁

On 1/9/2025 at 11:22 PM, Lethalstrike said:

PHV all go in pump petrol. Loss of petrol excise duties. Cannot 😁

Yah ... LTA must tighten this pie. 

Best convert all PHV to EV.

Then all need to funnel back in SG.

Don't need talk about what policy change. Just immediately enforce 100% checks for 3/4 tank will have impact already

On 1/9/2025 at 9:10 PM, inlinesix said:

COE is meant to control population.

ERP is meant to control traffic flow

...one is to collect bi monthly...one is to collect almost daily...kaching kaching sound only goes silent on sunday...😅

On 1/9/2025 at 11:59 PM, macrosszero said:

Don't need talk about what policy change. Just immediately enforce 100% checks for 3/4 tank will have impact already

You want to volunteer?
🤭

On 1/9/2025 at 9:09 PM, Benarsenal said:

If they really meant for COE to be a "congestion control mechanism" they would have made it a strict quota rationing system rather than a bidding system. Give it out to those who need it the most instead of free for all.

We all know the real purpose of COE, and it is not what they publicly claim.

The problem is that the people who can easily afford cars are DINKs (lots of money saved from not having kids), who needs cars the least.

I know one such young couple who, despite having to ferry at most just the two of them or just the driver himself to work, still bought a huge SUV and uses the space to ferry bicycles or their dog [laugh]

Edited by Sosaria

On 1/9/2025 at 11:26 PM, Atonchia said:

Yah ... LTA must tighten this pie. 

Best convert all PHV to EV.

Then all need to funnel back in SG.

Only need to follow the taxi way. Ensure the cars are scrap by 7 year for PHV and no extended COE vehicles can be used.

On 1/9/2025 at 9:49 AM, kobayashiGT said:

my personal opinion on the COE Credit suggestion. 

It is definitely making the COE system more complicated. There is also foreigner and company that also buying cars in Singapore, like that will make Singapore not business friendly towards such profile. 

Yes, we have a PHV issue where they are competing COE quota with us. Business who bidded whichever COE will eventually pass the cost to the driver, since the driver is making a living out of it, end of the day, the cost will then pass to the consumers. 

the thing I think we need to consider for this is not just for the motorist, as we only make up a small population. it has to be the general commuters too. 

Most of the time, is the corporates who help to bid for COE, they bid high, they can lump inside the selling price and earn loan interest from there. 

My proposal is this. . . 

For Cat A car, only individual singpass can bid for COE, you bid for your own COE. then afterwhich, maybe create a similar HDB loan for this group of buyer for the COE purchase. we can capped the interest rate at 2.6% at a maximum tenure of 6 years or so. So to make it accessible for the people who really need a car and then the corporate cannot earn from the COE profiting. 

If PHV want to bid for Cat A Coe vehicle, they will have to pay an upfront additional stamp duty lor to make it fair.  

If the demand side we can manage the overall expectation, price can come down, we can also benefit the general commuter, as the ride fare might also see a decrease. 

Cat B and open cat, let it be baz. who pocket is deep, who get to drive flashy car. 

I doubt its true. Grab / gojek and GetGo and Bleg SG is still very reasonable if you measure on average in the asia region. So unless the COE goes up to 300K, its not going to make any dent in the pricing structure of the Ride sharing. Probably, the mandatory change in CPF for gig economy may cause a drop in the earnings of the drivers. But not the fare structure .

I also say, lets monitor.

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 1/10/2025 at 8:15 AM, inlinesix said:

You want to volunteer?
🤭

Got machine to check i thought?

On 1/10/2025 at 10:46 AM, inlinesix said:

Eye Power

I thought there's an xray machine to check the fuel tank level?

On 1/10/2025 at 10:51 AM, Beanoyip said:

I thought there's an xray machine to check the fuel tank level?

Where got?

That's to check truck content la

After all these years

after all these discussions

what do we understand? What do we know?

accept it, good luck Singapore good luck.