New EV Buying Journey

Presea

On 1/19/2025 at 8:33 PM, Tohto said:

Too slow. 

Even if u can charge in their lots, u really want to park beside a bluesg car?

These part time drivers don't buang you, u already happy liao...

Hahaha

On 1/19/2025 at 5:48 PM, Lala81 said:

wah golf GTI also tempted. VW jialat liao...

😄

Hahaha the golf gti I'll keep la, left few years only no value also 

You changed our your accord alr ?

On 1/19/2025 at 6:35 PM, Volvobrick said:

Me tempted to get a almost new Model 3 Performance at 16k plus depreciation per year....

Maybe wait for 14k plus since people say used EV can only sell at scrap value. 

There's one facelift one on sale at 21k depre, abit tempting hahah but the road tax 6698 annually knn

On 1/19/2025 at 9:07 PM, SiLangKia said:

Hahaha the golf gti I'll keep la, left few years only no value also 

You changed our your accord alr ?

yeah it's waiting to become a half cut. 

share my wife's elantra. Downgrade!

On 1/19/2025 at 9:08 PM, SiLangKia said:

There's one facelift one on sale at 21k depre, abit tempting hahah but the road tax 6698 annually knn

You all not happy with 6.1s 0-100 ar.

Lol really young at heart.

On 1/19/2025 at 6:35 PM, Volvobrick said:

Me tempted to get a almost new Model 3 Performance at 16k plus depreciation per year....

Maybe wait for 14k plus since people say used EV can only sell at scrap value. 

This was my thought also..

But looking at sgcarmart second hand EV, it doesn't seem to be even remotely half priced.. maybe the second hand dealers making a kill with a much higher margin compared to ICE cars?

On 1/19/2025 at 9:12 PM, Lala81 said:

yeah it's waiting to become a half cut. 

share my wife's elantra. Downgrade!

Huh so sad it's not exported meh the accord ?

On 1/19/2025 at 9:13 PM, Lala81 said:

You all not happy with 6.1s 0-100 ar.

Lol really young at heart.

If im alr giving up the feel of ICE for an ev, the tradeoff is it must be fast haha

On 1/19/2025 at 9:34 PM, SiLangKia said:

Huh so sad it's not exported meh the accord ?

haha not much market for it.

export to MY as halfcut i think that's what the guy said is likely outcome. 

On 1/19/2025 at 9:43 PM, Lala81 said:

haha not much market for it.

export to MY as halfcut i think that's what the guy said is likely outcome. 

Hahaha why half cut sia then send to MY, maybe use it for parts. I would expect it to be exported whole to africa etc etc

On 1/19/2025 at 9:04 PM, Lala81 said:

Even if u can charge in their lots, u really want to park beside a bluesg car?

These part time drivers don't buang you, u already happy liao...

Hahaha

Especially those young kids...

On 1/19/2025 at 8:32 PM, Tohto said:

Yesterday night having dinner at city area.  Car park AC charger with 22kw all no one use. My car battery at 73%, max AC chari g is 12kw.  Just plug in and after dinner already 80%.

Driving EV no need to like ICE always top up when low.   Just charge when see charging point.

Got to consciously check time to make sure don’t get charged for idle time or not? That’s the only thing I have for charging at crowded malls.

Else I don’t mind an ev now, only thing stopping me is the coe prices. Not willing and also cannot afford. 

On 1/19/2025 at 10:40 PM, Mkl22 said:

Got to consciously check time to make sure don’t get charged for idle time or not? That’s the only thing I have for charging at crowded malls.

Else I don’t mind an ev now, only thing stopping me is the coe prices. Not willing and also cannot afford. 

Battery actually at 63%, typo become 73%.

I changed tge charging stop to 90% instead of 80%. When finish dinner get back is around 81%.

On 1/19/2025 at 6:21 PM, Carbon82 said:

It's not difficult to see who are those whom have an axe to grind against EV. [:|]

It is much like the 2 camp situation when Singapore lowered the road tax surcharge for diesel passenger car, with some arguing that diesel fume is carcinogenic, citing the infamous dieselgate to said that it is a scam. I just laughed...

I am still a fence sitter as ICE or EV, each have their own merits while driving feel is pretty subjective. The only thing I kept harping on is the exorbitant road tax, no thanks to the illogical road tax structure.

But let give credit when due, the Chinese has come a long way and their achievement today is definitely not built on just copying and improvement (Toyota term it Kaizen).

Mark my words, the participants in this great automotive squid game will not be just the Chinese brands. Established Japanese and European brands may get eliminated if they refuse to acknowledge the changes in the automotive scene.

Your T6 is working completely fine and enough power, no point rush to maje any changes now.

The T6 can makan many car for breakfast,  lunch and dinner.

On 1/19/2025 at 10:40 PM, Mkl22 said:

For AC charging, can reduce the charging speed.

On 1/20/2025 at 1:40 AM, Mkl22 said:

If you car around 50-60%, and set limit to 90%, it'll take >5hrs to charge at malls, so the idle fee won't be applicable, you don't stay that long right?

On 1/19/2025 at 11:23 PM, Tohto said:

Your T6 is working completely fine and enough power, no point rush to maje any changes now.

The T6 can makan many car for breakfast,  lunch and dinner.

Yes, have been enjoying every moment while behind the wheel of my T6, nothing to complain so far. Keeping my finger crossed that it will remains problem-free for the next 6 years till eol.

I am in no hurry at all to get a replacement ride. Just looking ahead which shall be a better option when the time comes. In fact everytime after test driving an EV, I still feel my T6 perform better... Ok enough of self advertisement. :D

On 1/20/2025 at 9:27 AM, Beanoyip said:

If you car around 50-60%, and set limit to 90%, it'll take >5hrs to charge at malls, so the idle fee won't be applicable, you don't stay that long right?

Ehm, isn't that a loop hole for avoiding the idling charges? 

My condo has a joker who incurred the max idling penalty of $200 on 2 - 3 occasions, and each time make appeal to the management committee for waiver. First we gave chance, 50% off (he paid $100), 2nd and 3rd time, we tell him to f*ck off, no sympathy for repeated offender.

That is how we managed the 4 charging points for over 30 EVs in our estate. So far so good, no complain of not enough charging points :a-m1212:

• Praise 13

On 1/20/2025 at 10:14 AM, Carbon82 said:

Ehm, isn't that a loop hole for avoiding the idling charges? 

My condo has a joker who incurred the max idling penalty of $200 on 2 - 3 occasions, and each time make appeal to the management committee for waiver. First we gave chance, 50% off (he paid $100), 2nd and 3rd time, we tell him to f*ck off, no sympathy for repeated offender.

That is how we managed the 4 charging points for over 30 EVs in our estate. So far so good, no complain of not enough charging points :a-m1212:

Most EV has the ability to control the charging speed for AC.