New EV Buying Journey

Presea

  On 1/23/2025 at 5:38 AM, Voodooman said:

No disrespect but you don't need to be driving at 140-180km/h overtaking other vehicles on a highway in the north to enjoy a nicely tuned twin turbo set up in a city state like Singapore.  

Expand  

The whole point of twin turbo is mitigate turbo lag? So in the city, it's 100% negated since the advent of electrified driving.

  On 1/23/2025 at 3:16 AM, Lala81 said:

does look very nice. But based on the overseas review, more like a 2 seater GT car rather than the driving feel of what you normally associate a 2 seater convertible with (mx-5 or or boxster). 

Hmm they already tried to reduce the weight. Using NMC battery instead. 

Expand  

I not so hardcore not familiar with difference between a GT car and convertible, but it is sure very value for money in the look department. Definitely good for those 富二代 or loaded people facing mid-life crisis as $300k really can't get you much nowadays.

Edited by Heartlander

  On 1/23/2025 at 6:04 AM, Heartlander said:

I not so hardcore not familiar with difference between a GT car and convertible, but it is sure very value for money in the look department. Definitely good for those 富二代 or loaded people facing mid-life crisis as $300k really can't get you much nowadays.

Expand  

haha out of my budget. I only dua pao sian. 😊

anyway smell exhaust fumes here. mlmlwml. 

On 1/23/2025 at 6:09 AM, Lala81 said:

haha out of my budget. I only dua pao sian. 😊

anyway smell exhaust fumes here. mlmlwml. 

Expand  

With window up and roof down, there is no exhaust fumes to smell especially during early morning or late at night.

On 1/23/2025 at 6:04 AM, Heartlander said:

Expand  

For inexpensive topless experience, it is either this or MX-5.

MX-5 cheaper but less powderful.

On 1/23/2025 at 6:01 AM, Lala81 said:

The whole point of twin turbo is mitigate turbo lag? So in the city, it's 100% negated since the advent of electrified driving.

Expand  

Yes, EV will chiat all the simi twin turbo set up for sure but power is not everything without control.  

My point is twin turbo helps to mitigate turbo lag and can make it more fun to drive, even in a city state with lots of traffic light. You don't need to be running at 150km/h to appreciate it as peak torque will kick in at RPM of low 1000s. 

On 1/23/2025 at 7:25 AM, Voodooman said:

Yes, EV will chiat all the simi twin turbo set up for sure but power is not everything without control.  

My point is twin turbo helps to mitigate turbo lag and can make it more fun to drive, even in a city state with lots of traffic light. You don't need to be running at 150km/h to appreciate it as peak torque will kick in at RPM of low 1000s. 

Expand  

BMW twin scroll practically removes turbo lag.

I don't know which twin turbo you meant.

For V8, it is 1 turbo per bank (aka per 4 cylinder).  Unlikely turbo lag will be removed.

For IL6, it can run sequential twin (1 small, 1 big) which eliminate turbo lag.

For local traffic, nothing beat Mini Cooper JCW or JCW GP.

  On 1/23/2025 at 9:05 AM, inlinesix said:

BMW twin scroll practically removes turbo lag.

I don't know which twin turbo you meant.

For V8, it is 1 turbo per bank (aka per 4 cylinder).  Unlikely turbo lag will be removed.

For IL6, it can run sequential twin (1 small, 1 big) which eliminate turbo lag.

For local traffic, nothing beat Mini Cooper JCW or JCW GP.

Expand  

I said mitigate hor.  

Not exactly familiar with BMW V8 as money not enough to own one.  It probably doesn't need a small turbo to bridge the gap given its displacement but for the IL6 twin turbo, in sport mode, it practically has no noticable lag.  

My friend said his 530i got a bit of lag, so don't think BMW has totally eliminated it or it is a different set up from the B58? 

Edited by Voodooman

On 1/23/2025 at 11:23 AM, Voodooman said:

I said mitigate hor.  

Not exactly familiar with BMW V8 as money not enough to own one.  It probably doesn't need a small turbo to bridge the gap given its displacement but for the IL6 twin turbo, in sport mode, it practically has no noticable lag.  

My friend said his 530i got a bit of lag, so don't think BMW has totally eliminated it or it is a different set up from the B58? 

Expand  

B series V8 should be single while S series should be twin.

B58 sport mode could be spooling before use.

I see that it is similar to N16 sport mode.

Maybe B48 on fwd BMW/Mini no lag

  On 1/23/2025 at 11:23 AM, Voodooman said:

I said mitigate hor.  

Expand  

Even twin turbo have lag. They can minimise it. Cannot eliminate it.

But definitely is much better then single turbo.

On 1/24/2025 at 1:45 AM, Beregond said:

Expand  

Yup but the Germans had gotten so good with it that most of their 6 potters with twin turbo has virtually no noticeable lag these days...  Then comes the electric turbocharger which is even better as it can be activated at any RPM.  

Then EV kills them all, with far less parts and at much lower cost. 😂

On 1/24/2025 at 1:45 AM, Beregond said:

Expand  

If each bank 1 big turbo confirm got lag.

  On 1/24/2025 at 2:21 AM, Voodooman said:

Yup but the Germans had gotten so good with it that most of their 6 potters with twin turbo has virtually no noticeable lag these days...  Then comes the electric turbocharger which is even better as it can be activated at any RPM.  

Expand  

Even Ford perfected its twin turbo V6 petrol or IL4 diesel.

I drove Ford Ranger Wildtrak which is IL4 diesel (2L) with sequential twin turbo.

It is damn violent.

If you encounter pickup with big big FORD on grille closing in along NSHW, better go 1 side.

It could be a 400hp monster with V6 petrol 3L with sequential twin turbo.

Edited by inlinesix

On 1/23/2025 at 2:56 AM, Carbon82 said:

The VRN make me craving for it... :XD:

@RadX @mersaylee don't curse me leh. I have been thinking for the longest time (since tasting the flavors of Mk V Golf GT) before following my heart to get a twin charged ride.

On the fuel consumption part, mine average around 9.3 - 9.4L / 100Km (10.75 - 10.63Km/L), which I consider very reasonable for a AWD with >315 horsepower. And it really can makan many cars with just a moderate tap on the pedal. [:)]

Now you should see why I hesitate to switch to an EV, although I know the time will come some day.

Expand  

Quite amazing to hear that the Volvo T6 engine can manage 10+ km/l on average. Did you do mostly expressways? 😅

The twin-charged (turbocharged & supercharged) T6 was known to be quite thirsty back then! 

On 1/24/2025 at 2:34 AM, Lethalstrike said:

Quite amazing to hear that the Volvo T6 engine can manage 10+ km/l on average. Did you do mostly expressways? 😅

The twin-charged (turbocharged & supercharged) T6 was known to be quite thirsty back then! 

Expand  

He is probably going against traffic all the time. 😂

• Haha! 7

4th Gear
  On 1/24/2025 at 2:21 AM, Voodooman said:

Expand  

I think the newer mass market bmws have twin scroll single turbo branded as "twin power". Twin scroll gives faster spool than the old single scroll turbos but still just a single turbo. Something to do with exhaust gas routing to optimise exhaust flow spooling up the turbine blades. Hence will have a little bit of turbo lag going up through the 1k+ rpms range.

The older n54 engine is the last actual twin turbo in mass market bmws i think, but that was some time ago. Even the n55 engine is single twin scroll turbo.

Stupid question from me. How do the EV owners compensate for the aural music of good engines? Besides the fake soundtrack in the car audio system

1. The distinctive off-beat throb of Subaru boxers and the hsss sound of a turbo waste gate opening

2. The low growl of an American V8 or Maserati

3. The scream of Ferrari and Lambos at high revs

4. The low to high pitch sound of Honda VTEC and Toyota twin cams as the revs climb

5. This one from history for those old enough to remember. The sound of twin weber carbs sucking in air when the throttle is opened wide. 

Engine sound is like music to the true petrol head. No Lexus V8 or Rolls Royce quietness for them.