Scion Turbocharged January 10 Share January 10 it started all so well at the beginning.... affordable public housing for the people affordable daily meals for the people alas, both have become haywire now ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 10:18 AM, Scion said: it started all so well at the beginning.... affordable public housing for the people affordable daily meals for the people alas, both have become haywire now It can still be affordable if you are willing to pay more GST lo. Affordable daily meal is a myth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 10 Share January 10 To be fair . The day we become the most expensive city in the world. Cheap and good food. Or cheap and good hawker food is going to die out. Cheap and good dun go hand in hand with the most expensive city in the world. Long working hours. No leave or mc. L Poor working condition. Yet low income. How to fix that into the most expensive city in the world? Once the current old generation of hawker that are still selling at low price retire. That's it. We will still have hawker food. But it's no longer the current price. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 11:35 AM, Beregond said: To be fair . The day we become the most expensive city in the world. Cheap and good food. Or cheap and good hawker food is going to die out. Cheap and good dun go hand in hand with the most expensive city in the world. Long working hours. No leave or mc. L Poor working condition. Yet low income. How to fix that into the most expensive city in the world? Once the current old generation of hawker that are still selling at low price retire. That's it. We will still have hawker food. But it's no longer the current price. We can't expect Hawker to earn $1k - $2k net when fresh grad is earning $5k. Dying hawker culture is a victim of our success (economically) 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 11:57 AM, inlinesix said: We can't expect Hawker to earn $1k - $2k net when fresh grad is earning $5k. Dying hawker culture is a victim of our success (economically) Well said. Let them earn more. The rest if cannot afford then do like the ang moh - pack dinner leftover (usually in the form of sandwich) and bring to office. And drink free kopi at the pantry! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 11:57 AM, inlinesix said: We can't expect Hawker to earn $1k - $2k net when fresh grad is earning $5k. Dying hawker culture is a victim of our success (economically) Lust time in the 90s, my downstairs the uncle sell rojak wear gold rollie and drives bently. Char kway tiao uncles also got gold rollie and drives s class. But lives were great back then. Of coz we will want them to have good earnings, but when they are selling close to restaurant price, where will consumers go? Many of us tot the rising cost is due to the greedy landlords, but the son of punggol say is not wor. 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged January 10 Share January 10 On 1/7/2025 at 11:35 AM, kobayashiGT said: Really leh. I also recently eat more fastfood. More worth it even though it is not healthy. hahaha. beggar can't be chooser. Mcd can help loose weight wor. https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2023/jun/03/mcdonalds-diet-weight-loss 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 3:21 PM, Stratovarius said: Where will consumers go? Overseas including Johor! Newspaper says one. https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/singapore/consumer-demand-diverted-overseas-singapore-retailers-see-another-tough-year-ahead 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 3:51 PM, Volvobrick said: Overseas including Johor! Newspaper says one. https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/singapore/consumer-demand-diverted-overseas-singapore-retailers-see-another-tough-year-ahead Me and kaki already make 1 trip over to buy new-year goodies. Might make another trip. 😂😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 3:29 PM, Stratovarius said: Mcd can help loose weight wor. https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2023/jun/03/mcdonalds-diet-weight-loss I just had prosperity burger. use the app can get free pineapple pie. 😄 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 3:29 PM, Stratovarius said: Mcd can help loose weight wor. https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2023/jun/03/mcdonalds-diet-weight-loss Referring to the wallet...? Mine has been losing weight since post covid...😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 4:30 PM, mersaylee said: Referring to the wallet...? Mine has been losing weight since post covid...😅 "The result: he lost 58.5lbs (26.5kg) while his cholesterol, blood sugar and heart attack risk numbers improved." I'm having prosperity burger with free pineapple pie every meal till cny eve liao. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 4:39 PM, Stratovarius said: "The result: he lost 58.5lbs (26.5kg) while his cholesterol, blood sugar and heart attack risk numbers improved." I'm having prosperity burger with free pineapple pie every meal till cny eve liao. I've been prosperous since the launch this year...today's the lust day for offer...😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear January 10 Share January 10 I want to laugh die me when G kept putting the hawker line in the limelight this that lah. Say what simi UNESCO lah, what hawker school lah, crap lah blah blah blah... Hello, when many felt or treat it as sunset trade, it's too late already, ok? Set up all those only these recent years got use meh. When the problem was being highlighted were all set on deaf ears! Hawkers themselves cited rent as a high cost and what happened? Were their feedback heard. How many years people like KF Seetoh been relentlessly reviving our hawker culture? The management of these hawkers were made more and more complicated. 3rd party operators lah. Pay wash plate pay collect plates blah blah blah how much lah. In the end benefited who? It's the middleman who drove flashy cars but these hawkers slogged to pay all these additional unnecessary costs. What minimum wage lah say will increase what meagre amount over how many years lah. Goodness sake. Want to increase just increase fast fast lah. How much are these workers paid anyway?! Cannot afford their increase the following month onwards meh? The increase for higher-ups per month is already easily more than what these meagre blue collared guys are getting. We make it sound like we did so much for them! And the increase takes place faster than these guys with meagre income! Hawkers used to be able to support their family but now, want a stupid van being a hawker gotto slog like hell. Already long hours and we expect them to put in even longer hours. Of course, not many will take it up. Coupled with perception that it's a dirty low job which I personally don't think so. How many is willing to go that extra mile to pursue this passion when they have to grapple with unnecessary high cost justified by many unimportant decision makers. We are just top heavy where this load is being supported by commoners trying to carve out a balance for themselves. No wonder hawker trade is dying and it should. We should even boycott and just eat subs thou one sees boredom in eating that. Our food haven is just being taken for granted. The increase is from top down not ground up. Because we give the impression that no matter how expensive, one needs to turn to hawker food and there's no other way. So much so for managing inflation ya! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 3:51 PM, Volvobrick said: Overseas including Johor! Newspaper says one. https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/singapore/consumer-demand-diverted-overseas-singapore-retailers-see-another-tough-year-ahead the RTS will be the start. many more will go. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 5:24 PM, Unfazed said: I want to laugh die me when G kept putting the hawker line in the limelight this that lah. Say what simi UNESCO lah, what hawker school lah, crap lah blah blah blah... Hello, when many felt or treat it as sunset trade, it's too late already, ok? Set up all those only these recent years got use meh. When the problem was being highlighted were all set on deaf ears! Hawkers themselves cited rent as a high cost and what happened? Were their feedback heard. How many years people like KF Seetoh been relentlessly reviving our hawker culture? The management of these hawkers were made more and more complicated. 3rd party operators lah. Pay wash plate pay collect plates blah blah blah how much lah. In the end benefited who? It's the middleman who drove flashy cars but these hawkers slogged to pay all these additional unnecessary costs. What minimum wage lah say will increase what meagre amount over how many years lah. Goodness sake. Want to increase just increase fast fast lah. How much are these workers paid anyway?! Cannot afford their increase the following month onwards meh? The increase for higher-ups per month is already easily more than what these meagre blue collared guys are getting. We make it sound like we did so much for them! And the increase takes place faster than these guys with meagre income! Hawkers used to be able to support their family but now, want a stupid van being a hawker gotto slog like hell. Already long hours and we expect them to put in even longer hours. Of course, not many will take it up. Coupled with perception that it's a dirty low job which I personally don't think so. How many is willing to go that extra mile to pursue this passion when they have to grapple with unnecessary high cost justified by many unimportant decision makers. We are just top heavy where this load is being supported by commoners trying to carve out a balance for themselves. No wonder hawker trade is dying and it should. We should even boycott and just eat subs thou one sees boredom in eating that. Our food haven is just being taken for granted. The increase is from top down not ground up. Because we give the impression that no matter how expensive, one needs to turn to hawker food and there's no other way. So much so for managing inflation ya! its SAF style... which is also top heavy.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 3:21 PM, Stratovarius said: Lust time in the 90s, my downstairs the uncle sell rojak wear gold rollie and drives bently. Char kway tiao uncles also got gold rollie and drives s class. But lives were great back then. Of coz we will want them to have good earnings, but when they are selling close to restaurant price, where will consumers go? Many of us tot the rising cost is due to the greedy landlords, but the son of punggol say is not wor. When I was a kid, sell pork also drive Merc but fortunes were earned through hard work and some investment but not under knife sharpening prices. Those were the days where there were balances. Doesn't matter what trade one was in. But now, revenue haven't reap, higher-ups already want to start ka-ching ka-ching to the banks. I stole slogan again. Good luck stinkapore ya. One more to add. And YouTubers foreigners are not helping when they kept singing praises of us. When so many people bluff one saying one is handsome continuously, one will really believe so. 😉 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 11:35 AM, Beregond said: To be fair . The day we become the most expensive city in the world. Cheap and good food. Or cheap and good hawker food is going to die out. Cheap and good dun go hand in hand with the most expensive city in the world. Long working hours. No leave or mc. L Poor working condition. Yet low income. How to fix that into the most expensive city in the world? Once the current old generation of hawker that are still selling at low price retire. That's it. We will still have hawker food. But it's no longer the current price. No worries. We are a great great place still, in the eyes of foreigners who doesn't have a price to pay to be here, yet sang praises citing people should be grateful hor. 😉 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...