inlinesix Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 On 1/8/2025 at 3:00 PM, 13177 said: Yes, all the trays are dirty and smelly, always can smell sour sour smell on these tray. And i always see people place their cutlery on the tray when buying food. The smell is because of cloth not properly cleaned ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged January 8 Share January 8 On 1/8/2025 at 3:00 PM, 13177 said: Yes, all the trays are dirty and smelly, always can smell sour sour smell on these tray. And i always see people place their cutlery on the tray when buying food. The tray is the dirtiest amongst the 'utensils'. This is partly due to the way we serve our food and of course the trays are generally never washed. At most a simple wipe with the same cloth cleaning anything from table to anything they need to wipe. Somehow there are still many consider our hawker center as clean. 😭 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear January 8 Share January 8 On 1/8/2025 at 4:57 PM, Victor68 said: The tray is the dirtiest amongst the 'utensils'. This is partly due to the way we serve our food and of course the trays are generally never washed. At most a simple wipe with the same cloth cleaning anything from table to anything they need to wipe. Somehow there are still many consider our hawker center as clean. 😭 I fully agreed. It is the dirtiest "utensils" 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged January 8 Share January 8 Nowadays I always wash the utensils at the wash basin before I eat. Cannot take chances now especially after Covid. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 On 1/8/2025 at 3:17 PM, inlinesix said: The smell is because of cloth not properly cleaned Never wash properly, or using the same pail of water used whole day to keep washing the same cloth. Likely also the cloth is used to wipe the table and don't know where, and use the same cloth to wipe the tray. The though of it also feel gross. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 (edited) On 1/8/2025 at 8:21 PM, Benarsenal said: Nowadays I always wash the utensils at the wash basin before I eat. Cannot take chances now especially after Covid. Best is to use disposal utensils. But even you wash the utensils also no use, cause the bowl and plate that they use to put your food might not be clean also. Edited January 8 by 13177 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 On 1/8/2025 at 4:57 PM, Victor68 said: The tray is the dirtiest amongst the 'utensils'. This is partly due to the way we serve our food and of course the trays are generally never washed. At most a simple wipe with the same cloth cleaning anything from table to anything they need to wipe. Somehow there are still many consider our hawker center as clean. 😭 Ya, the tray never wash or clean, even clean also just anyhow wipe and then continue to reuse and reuse and reuse, super disgusting. Now then i know many people do not have good common sense hygiene practice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged January 9 Share January 9 On 1/8/2025 at 9:48 PM, 13177 said: Never wash properly, or using the same pail of water used whole day to keep washing the same cloth. Likely also the cloth is used to wipe the table and don't know where, and use the same cloth to wipe the tray. The though of it also feel gross. Is there any spot checks by NEA and on what ground licence is issued or renewed? How do these cleaners wash their table cloths? Are there facilities to facilitate such cleaning? Do we have a hawker division in NEA or some authority collecting all these licences? I just wonder. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 9 Share January 9 On 1/8/2025 at 10:06 AM, inlinesix said: 1. Trays are not clean 2. Cleaner usually don't care about backside of bowls maybe about 10 yr ago, at NEX food junction, the plates were so not cleaned... after buying cai png, paid already took the plate, can see dried food debris stuck to the plate (top not bottom)... I showed the stall person and he took another plate to scoop a fresh portion for me. Alas, 2nd plate also got stains, and only 3rd one then ok... he said they are also upset as cleaning is central, and even brought me to the office there to make a complaint, saying that it's useless for them to do so, and the office will treat it more seriously if complaints came from customers... 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged January 10 Share January 10 On 1/9/2025 at 9:38 AM, Atrecord said: maybe about 10 yr ago, at NEX food junction, the plates were so not cleaned... after buying cai png, paid already took the plate, can see dried food debris stuck to the plate (top not bottom)... I showed the stall person and he took another plate to scoop a fresh portion for me. Alas, 2nd plate also got stains, and only 3rd one then ok... he said they are also upset as cleaning is central, and even brought me to the office there to make a complaint, saying that it's useless for them to do so, and the office will treat it more seriously if complaints came from customers... had same experience when i told a hawker center stall that the plate had food stains.... central cleaning. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 10 Share January 10 i think only the new HC got central washing plates and utensils, older one still send back to the stall to do the washing themselves. more than 10 yrs ago, i saw some places in china have the cleaning coy that collect the dirty plates and utensils at the end of the day and send the clean one at the same time (in sealed and packed properly). Some of the stalls in coffee shop also have such service but i guess the cost could be higher hence not every stall use the service Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 9:32 AM, Jman888 said: i think only the new HC got central washing plates and utensils, older one still send back to the stall to do the washing themselves. more than 10 yrs ago, i saw some places in china have the cleaning coy that collect the dirty plates and utensils at the end of the day and send the clean one at the same time (in sealed and packed properly). Some of the stalls in coffee shop also have such service but i guess the cost could be higher hence not every stall use the service In China, a lot of food places store cutlery in UV Sterilising cabinet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/9/2025 at 8:32 AM, Victor68 said: Is there any spot checks by NEA and on what ground licence is issued or renewed? How do these cleaners wash their table cloths? Are there facilities to facilitate such cleaning? Do we have a hawker division in NEA or some authority collecting all these licences? I just wonder. I think none. Or even there is, don't think NEA would conduct check regularly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/9/2025 at 9:38 AM, Atrecord said: maybe about 10 yr ago, at NEX food junction, the plates were so not cleaned... after buying cai png, paid already took the plate, can see dried food debris stuck to the plate (top not bottom)... I showed the stall person and he took another plate to scoop a fresh portion for me. Alas, 2nd plate also got stains, and only 3rd one then ok... he said they are also upset as cleaning is central, and even brought me to the office there to make a complaint, saying that it's useless for them to do so, and the office will treat it more seriously if complaints came from customers... I find not only plates and utensils not cleaned, but many of them also looks old and with stains due to use too long and food that stain the plates. Esp if the plates and bowls are in light colour/white colour, can see that the whole plate is black. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 8:35 AM, Playtime said: had same experience when i told a hawker center stall that the plate had food stains.... central cleaning. all good hor... no need to take responsibility/accountability - end up it's 社会的错 😆 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged January 10 Share January 10 On 1/7/2025 at 11:54 AM, Stratovarius said: Hawker rental less than 10% of operating cost wor. Our elite say one. Ckn rice, zichar $5~$6. Take away another 30 to 50 cents more. Yes, i rather go saizeriya, top up abit get free flow drinks. me too 😆 when craving for western food, nowadays not going Aston, Collin's, iSteak liao eat at Saizeriya also okay one 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 9:49 AM, 13177 said: I find not only plates and utensils not cleaned, but many of them also looks old and with stains due to use too long and food that stain the plates. Esp if the plates and bowls are in light colour/white colour, can see that the whole plate is black. old... and worn out. when i see those old old plates/bowls, i also dun like... but the one thing that really irks me, is when the tray is super worn out... and a bit curved already and no longer flat. Means got zero friction, so when put stuff on it and cary to seat after buying, is an juggling act to prevent the plate/bowl/cup from falling/spilling... this one not only dun like, but can make heart attack when my bowl of hot soup can start skidding on the tray from one end to another... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged January 10 Share January 10 many hawker food have actually become atas price level in recent years such as bak kut teh, Hokkien mee, big prawn noodle, fried rice price range from $6 to $15 nowadays ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...