BYD Sealion 7

Bmxcar

On 1/2/2025 at 7:25 PM, Invigorated said:

low scrap value would be ideal for anyone who wishes to extend past 10 years. Main cost is just COE and some scrap metal value.

I doubt the current gen EV's will be worth extending as the tech would have progressed so much in battery technology in 10 years time.

On 1/2/2025 at 7:33 PM, Soya said:

Think main cost is replacing the battery on any EV

Provided you have driven more than 300k km.

So far, I seen Model S NMC battery degradation is about 20% after 400k km.

On 1/2/2025 at 1:37 PM, mersaylee said:

Most importantly...chio ornot? 😁

I think chio also no use coz his taste like more to fully covered type..🤭 

On 1/2/2025 at 8:11 PM, Freeder said:

Ahh...sadako...😅

On 1/2/2025 at 8:11 PM, Freeder said:

Changi Airport 😂😂😂

5th Gear
On 1/2/2025 at 3:58 PM, Zafirag said:

On the flip side, you get to sell your current ride for better price, loan interest can be as low as 1.68%, can go with lowest cost insurer and have access to free destination charging..  Your choice lor..

The 1.68% interest is one of reason I am still keeping Tesla in my shortlist. 👍

Yet to see the sealion 7, but managed to take a look at the xpeng G6 and the Aion Hyptec HT. Both very impressive. Given that I have seen the seal, and if the sealion 7 is a close cousin, then my money will be with the G6 or the Hyptec HT. 

Will go for a test drive after CNY, and dive deeper between the two very Similar contesters. Might end up with price as the deciding factor. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

i would say the sealion isn't the same as the seal due to the extra space and newer tech, especially from online reviews. It's more likely the new seal that has been launched is closer to the sealion 7.

Do share your field report too. 

The very fact that this thread is so active is, my guess, many are deciding between these few models and yes, price is a major factor.

On 1/3/2025 at 4:38 PM, Tianmo said:

Yet to see the sealion 7, but managed to take a look at the xpeng G6 and the Aion Hyptec HT. Both very impressive. Given that I have seen the seal, and if the sealion 7 is a close cousin, then my money will be with the G6 or the Hyptec HT. 

Will go for a test drive after CNY, and dive deeper between the two very Similar contesters. Might end up with price as the deciding factor. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Wah the aion has gull wings? 

On 1/3/2025 at 6:29 PM, Lala81 said:

Wah the aion has gull wings? 

I was told there will be 2 versions, one with the gull wings and the other with normal doors, price difference about $10k.  Of course no gull wings for me lor. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

5th Gear
On 1/3/2025 at 6:38 PM, Tianmo said:

I was told there will be 2 versions, one with the gull wings and the other with normal doors, price difference about $10k.  Of course no gull wings for me lor. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

I got a fundamental question - wont the gull wings hit the car park ceiling trunkings and pipings? Especially in HDB carparks. 😅

Edited by Rskc

On 1/2/2025 at 11:59 AM, Rskc said:

Adding my view as well as I am looking at model Y and Sealion 😊 Feel free to comment!

G6 - I am not convinced of its exterior look as it looks like the old dated porsche design, too rounded (I know many like it😊). I like Sealion better. I hope the facelift nip and tuck on G6 will help some muscular lines. For a premium EV, it also does not have a glove box and frunk!?! The high centre console seems clattered for me too. And it is a fairly new brand. The G6 good stuff we all know...the auto parking is superb, software is superb etc. No horse run. 

Model Y - Sealion is better in terms of NVH than MY but softer suspension. It soaked up Alexandra road bumps outside Hyundai superbly. (caveat: no chance to test in expressway to hear tyre roar). MY exterior looks cleaner which I like. But everything else needs to use my mouth or finger to poke the screen. 🫠 Sometimes after a hard day's work of meetings and presentations, I just don't wanna open my mouth anymore, let alone talking to a machine to adjust something! 😅😆 No cover for moonroof in SG hot sun, no central speedo, no HUD. No 360 real life cam, I know it has the shawdowy thing gudiance but...It has the "young, atas and I am cool" EV branding, the SGeans thing again which should help during resale.

Power - MY may be more powerful than Sealion but I dont see a big difference if one is to drive sanely/normally, not doing a MY vs Sealion drag race. In fact, during Sealion testdrive, I step a bit more to switch lane, my wife told me after that car is too powerful 😆 (she will be main driver if I purchase). I can't speak for G6 as I haven't tested it and do not intend to due to above reasons.

Others - Sealion provides me the small feature which I always look out for in contis - the left mirror tilt down when parking. This small feature always tugs my heart and save my rims. BYD sales guy - the byd sales guy did not push but merely just follow up with me. Good guy.

My Verdict: Sealion does not ace in EVERY item against the other 2 but it ticks all my boxes. The other 2 aced in some items against Sealion but totally lack of in some others.

Just my 2 cents. Do feel free to correct me if I mis-stated anything above cos only testdriving may not have let me know all the features.

Cheers...

Your taste of car and driving seem very similar to me.  

Among the 3 you compare I will also pick the SeaLion. I never like any Tesla model from the beginning. 

On 1/3/2025 at 7:23 PM, Rskc said:

I got a fundamental question - wont the gull wings hit the car park ceiling trunkings and pipings? Especially in HDB carparks. 😅

I cannot answer you, because I am not the SE or dealership. However the car is so smart it all can be programmed and set to whatever height and how much to open. To me, it's not very practical, especially in our tide parking lots in buildings. Likely wings cannot even lifted with cars on both sides. 

Anyway, the gull-wings are for the back doors, the front doors are normal doors. The other version is all 4 doors normal doors, and about $10k cheaper. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

5th Gear
On 1/3/2025 at 9:29 PM, Tohto said:

Your taste of car and driving seem very similar to me.  

Among the 3 you compare I will also pick the SeaLion. I never like any Tesla model from the beginning. 

🙌 I actually like model Y exterior a lot now. I used to 😒 it. But the design grows on me. In terms of exterior, I would rank MY first, followed by Sealion and G6 (I know many will disagree!). Nvr say nvr, if the price is right, I may just accept all the "inconvenience" of MY. Ha!

5th Gear
On 1/3/2025 at 9:32 PM, Tianmo said:

I cannot answer you, because I am not the SE or dealership. However the car is so smart it all can be programmed and set to whatever height and how much to open. To me, it's not very practical, especially in our tide parking lots in buildings. Likely wings cannot even lifted with cars on both sides. 

Anyway, the gull-wings are for the back doors, the front doors are normal doors. The other version is all 4 doors normal doors, and about $10k cheaper. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Back door?!?! I will sweat when my MIL opens the door.😅

On 1/3/2025 at 9:54 PM, Rskc said:

🙌 I actually like model Y exterior a lot now. I used to 😒 it. But the design grows on me. In terms of exterior, I would rank MY first, followed by Sealion and G6 (I know many will disagree!). Nvr say nvr, if the price is right, I may just accept all the "inconvenience" of MY. Ha!

I don’t mind Tesla inconveniences as I don’t change anything when I am driving.

That’s including air cond.

I do mind its Auto Wiper damn stupid