Mkl22 Supersonic January 20 Share January 20 On 1/20/2025 at 9:36 PM, Jtis said: I thought a good question is whether the additional 10% road tax surcharge each year till year 15 ought to apply to EVs. I recall clearly that that the official explanation published was that older vehicles pollute more, so encourage scrap by 10 years by having the surcharge. I suppose that's kind of factual 10-20yrs ago with progressively tightening euro emissions standards during that time. But EVs now have no emissions per se (emissions are from power stations), and so emissions don't get worse with EV's age. Interesting to hear what the eventual official line on this is, and if the considerations and explanation on road tax surcharges will change. Of course la. What’s wrong to earn more. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 20 Share January 20 On 1/21/2025 at 6:29 AM, Koster said: Will it make sense to take loan then redeem after taking the 6k discount? Take loan and u will have to add the interests incurred.. and it's much more than 6k. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 6:29 AM, Koster said: Will it make sense to take loan then redeem after taking the 6k discount? Need to check early redemption fee. There will be saving of interest. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 8:30 AM, inlinesix said: Need to check early redemption fee. There will be saving of interest. Ya.. the early redemption for car loan is different from property as I understand. Interest is included in the monthly instalment for car loan, but if we attempt to redeem it early, it'll be up to the financial institution's discretion to give the discount. In my opinion, unless we can earn this amount from other investments to offset the loan interest, it's better not to take loan if we can help it... like many in MCF here.. full cash 😎 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 9:07 AM, Solar said: Ya.. the early redemption for car loan is different from property as I understand. Interest is included in the monthly instalment for car loan, but if we attempt to redeem it early, it'll be up to the financial institution's discretion to give the discount. In my opinion, unless we can earn this amount from other investments to offset the loan interest, it's better not to take loan if we can help it... like many in MCF here.. full cash 😎 For early redemption, it will be calculated up to Redemption Date. In addition, there is certain early redemption fee to be paid. I think it was previously discussed in MB related thread. Ppl take loan and redeem 1 year later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 9:33 AM, inlinesix said: For early redemption, it will be calculated up to Redemption Date. In addition, there is certain early redemption fee to be paid. I think it was previously discussed in MB related thread. Ppl take loan and redeem 1 year later. Rule 72…for Radx it’s 69 rules…😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Norey58 Neutral Newbie January 21 Share January 21 Booked yesterday @209k. Guaranteed COE. Was told out of stock, they have so far sold around 400 SL7 to date. Earliest delivery around March period. For “freebie”, Got 3k off 2 years insurance. Like to check if it is similar for the bros who have booked? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 21 Share January 21 Buy guys, buy and buy. I met my Chinese guy whom I know for 20 years. We talk about many things including EVs. His comment - 现在所有EV都干不过BYD,他们现在出神入化,开过电车的人都不想回去开油车了 (wah, so big comment) Haha, I told him, as of now, the most expensive and unstable item is battery, batteries will become more stable and cheaper as time goes. You got car, I got car, we are just the wait and see gang lah. So, where are you?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 10:30 AM, Arogab said: Buy guys, buy and buy. I met my Chinese guy whom I know for 20 years. We talk about many things including EVs. His comment - 现在所有EV都干不过BYD,他们现在出神入化,开过电车的人都不想回去开油车了 (wah, so big comment) Haha, I told him, as of now, the most expensive and unstable item is battery, batteries will become more stable and cheaper as time goes. You got car, I got car, we are just the wait and see gang lah. So, where are you?? BYD control the entire value chain including roro boat. Of course, "都干不过BYD". What you do mean by battery is unstable? For ppl who has no emo attachment to car, EV is the best. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 21 Share January 21 (edited) LOL!! I already know Sime/BYD pattern. The price is on par with Seal. With a lower OMV, Sime/BYD huat ah!!! By the way, Sealion7 (Guarantee COE) more ex than Juniper Y Edited January 21 by inlinesix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 10:24 AM, inlinesix said: BYD control the entire value chain including roro boat. Of course, "都干不过BYD". What you do mean by battery is unstable? For ppl who has no emo attachment to car, EV is the best. BYD make almost everything, maybe one day they also make tyres. Haha My "unstable" means that they are still improving, we make equipment for batteries "roll" and "stack". Prices keep dropping. Meaning it will come one day they are stable lah Just me lah, I still like Hybrid as it uses batteries in low speed and ICE in high speed. No need to charge and just go. Maybe one day I will try EV, but I sit in a few Tesla, many years ago my CEO already got one. Not me as yet. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged January 21 Share January 21 On 1/20/2025 at 9:36 PM, Jtis said: I thought a good question is whether the additional 10% road tax surcharge each year till year 15 ought to apply to EVs. I recall clearly that that the official explanation published was that older vehicles pollute more, so encourage scrap by 10 years by having the surcharge. I suppose that's kind of factual 10-20yrs ago with progressively tightening euro emissions standards during that time. But EVs now have no emissions per se (emissions are from power stations), and so emissions don't get worse with EV's age. Interesting to hear what the eventual official line on this is, and if the considerations and explanation on road tax surcharges will change. Most likely you don't have to worry. EV naysayers will tell you the battery already kaput by its 10th year so you will scrap before renewing COE for your EV 😆 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 11:43 AM, Arogab said: BYD make almost everything, maybe one day they also make tyres. Haha My "unstable" means that they are still improving, we make equipment for batteries "roll" and "stack". Prices keep dropping. Meaning it will come one day they are stable lah Just me lah, I still like Hybrid as it uses batteries in low speed and ICE in high speed. No need to charge and just go. Maybe one day I will try EV, but I sit in a few Tesla, many years ago my CEO already got one. Not me as yet. The reason it is dropping because PRC carmakers used a lot of batteries. That's current solution for range. When price is stable, it means that they have catch up with Tesla on the electric motor efficiency. Based on LTA number, Tesla Model Y is 10hp less than BYD Sealion7. BYD Sealion7 uses 27% more electricity than Model Y. You will change your mind once the charging station is in your estate🤭 By the way, i have 18 charging bay in my estate. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 10:52 AM, inlinesix said: The reason it is dropping because PRC carmakers used a lot of batteries. That's current solution for range. When price is stable, it means that they have catch up with Tesla on the electric motor efficiency. Based on LTA number, Tesla Model Y is 10hp less than BYD Sealion7. BYD Sealion7 uses 27% more electricity than Model Y. You will change your mind once the charging station is in your estate🤭 By the way, i have 18 charging bay in my estate. Sitting in an EV, only the pickup is fast. I will only change my mind when I am exhausted with my current resources. Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 11:57 AM, Arogab said: Sitting in an EV, only the pickup is fast. I will only change my mind when I am exhausted with my current resources. Haha It is not just about pickup, it is quiet. It should be quieter than Lexus. In addition, it is more agile to overtake on expressway even in a Van. Lastly, there should be less cabin rattling as there are fewer parts. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 11:04 AM, inlinesix said: It is not just about pickup, it is quiet. It should be quieter than Lexus. In addition, it is more agile to overtake on expressway even in a Van. Lastly, there should be less cabin rattling as there are fewer parts. I am superbly comfortable in my ride and the design suits me that's all. It just me. My colleague who sent me to the airport in his Tesla tells me. "This is just a bare cabin with a high pick up" the rest of it is in the so call "Ipad". Yet I ask him, why you buy? His answer is "Cheap and convenient" Me is the look and design lah. In terms of performance, I am confortable with what I have. In terms of financial, I am still not sure if I should spend another $300k to go for the next 10 years. $300K can be useful to someone like me looking at retirement. Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 12:16 PM, Arogab said: I am superbly comfortable in my ride and the design suits me that's all. It just me. My colleague who sent me to the airport in his Tesla tells me. "This is just a bare cabin with a high pick up" the rest of it is in the so call "Ipad". Yet I ask him, why you buy? His answer is "Cheap and convenient" Me is the look and design lah. In terms of performance, I am confortable with what I have. In terms of financial, I am still not sure if I should spend another $300k to go for the next 10 years. $300K can be useful to someone like me looking at retirement. Haha I don't know where your 300k from. Anyway, BYD Sealion7 (which is more ex than Juniper) is $220k (Guarantee COE). At 300k, you can buy Sealion7 RWD + 10 years road tax Liao. BYD still some way to catch up on motor efficiency (which is Tesla USP). With that, the car can be build lighter. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 21 Share January 21 On 1/21/2025 at 11:29 AM, inlinesix said: I don't know where your 300k from. Anyway, BYD Sealion7 (which is more ex than Juniper) is $220k (Guarantee COE). At 300k, you can buy Sealion7 RWD + 10 years road tax Liao. BYD still some way to catch up on motor efficiency (which is Tesla USP). With that, the car can be build lighter. All the time, my budget for a new car is $300k, but because I got not much interest in current models and those that I do really like Lexus RX is much more expensive. I am conservative with my spending lor. Plus now with extra golf games I am playing and other spending. Haha. I need to strike a balance. Like I say, I got a ride that is playing the "you got something nice liao, no need to look beyond as yet" Singapore is not going to be cheap when I retire as we mostly say here ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...