What do you really spend on and how much?

Enye

On 12/16/2024 at 5:06 PM, Voodooman said:

Hope to get to where you are soon. I don't subscribe to the theory that we should work till 65-70 just to keep dementia away.  Work can't be an end in itself. 

I am doing an EMBA now to  keep my mind active.

But I am just a crazy fellow because I am already busy with other activities.

My point is that if we keep an open mind and continue to learn, either on our passions/hobbies,  or through attending event/courses, there are plenty of ways to keep ourself active.

Edited by Stary

On 12/16/2024 at 5:06 PM, Voodooman said:

Hope to get to where you are soon. I don't subscribe to the theory that we should work till 65-70 just to keep dementia away.  Work can't be an end in itself. 

You can do it tomorrow

its more a mindset especially since your kids are older than mine even

On 12/17/2024 at 12:26 PM, Stary said:

My point is that if we keep an open mind and continue to learn, either on our passions/hobbies,  or through attending event/courses, there are plenty of ways to keep ourself active.

Yes agreed

you are a crazy fellow

😜

• Haha! 7

On 12/17/2024 at 2:24 PM, Throttle2 said:

Yes agreed

you are a crazy fellow

😜

First time ever 

totally agree w u 100%😂

although to me sounds more like distractions to allay high functioning depression😬

On 12/17/2024 at 12:26 PM, Stary said:

I might take short courses on subjects that interest me if I have the time but EMBA?  I doubt i will want to go back to school.  I rather work than study, i learnt a lot more in my work life than in school (most academic stuff are just not applicable in real life). 

It seems I am not the only one who thinks that way. 😂

On 12/17/2024 at 5:04 PM, Voodooman said:

I might take short courses on subjects that interest me if I have the time but EMBA?  I doubt i will want to go back to school.  I rather work than study, i learnt a lot more in my work life than in school (most academic stuff are just not applicable in real life). 

EMBA is more about networking rather than academic.

I think there could be some homework that is related to real world.

On 12/17/2024 at 2:25 PM, RadX said:

First time ever 

totally agree w u 100%😂

although to me sounds more like distractions to allay high functioning depression😬

No choice, working life no time to study

So study now lor

Depression?  lol.  I simply enjoy taking courses and studying.  Maybe i should have work for the academia and not corporate in the past. 

On 12/17/2024 at 12:19 PM, Flying_genie said:

Medicine in NUS is about $35k/year, in NTU is about $37k/year.
This is after the MOH grant.

Normal degree is 8k now?

On 12/17/2024 at 12:53 PM, mersaylee said:

Wow! A fren has 2 children doing medicine in each uni now.

I tink the fren monthly incum no 30k no talk...no need scholarship, no loan from bank or cpf...still can travel at least twice a year...😁

Well good ROI later on. Both doctors can contribute. 🤣

On 12/16/2024 at 1:55 PM, Voodooman said:

Kids enriches your life but it also improvises you greatly.  Can totally understand why more people are going DINK but I have no regret, it is good to have more people to debate and counter my opinions during dinner these days. 😂

With my current expenses and lack of real hobbies,  I thought I should work a few more years. I know I am not ready as I still think trading in my paycheck to watch Netflix drama / series at home is a bad bad idea.  That is my dilemma, so I just work and spend a bit more these days, especially on travel and F&B.  

Well the kids will also have their own life. Seldom kids at the uni age go out with parents. 

On 12/17/2024 at 7:07 PM, Stary said:

No choice, working life no time to study

So study now lor

Depression?  lol.  I simply enjoy taking courses and studying.  Maybe i should have work for the academia and not corporate in the past. 

I’m the opposite. Never want to go back to academia. Also don’t want to feed universities with my money. Don’t believe I can learnt anything useful from universities these days. All the old croaking professors are no way as up to date as Google.  If I need to know something just Google and use my own brains to filter and learn.

Rather spend it on traveling. 

On 12/17/2024 at 2:23 PM, Throttle2 said:

You can do it tomorrow

its more a mindset especially since your kids are older than mine even

Yes, I agree, I need to change my mindset. 

Instead of going cold turkey, I am taking a gradual approach to acclimatize myself to a zuo bo or zuo less for more life.  

On 12/17/2024 at 7:14 PM, Voodooman said:

Yes, I agree, I need to change my mindset. 

Instead of going cold turkey, I am taking a gradual approach to acclimatize myself to a zuo bo or zuo less for more life.  

You need a hobby la🤭

On 12/17/2024 at 7:38 PM, inlinesix said:

You need a hobby la🤭

He has...just like me...found the zuo bo or zuo less hobby since lust year very fun...month end log in cpf see the oa, sa, ma, ra...no one mil but still jin happi...😁

On 12/17/2024 at 6:20 PM, Mkl22 said:

Well the kids will also have their own life. Seldom kids at the uni age go out with parents. 

Yes, especially when they have girlfriends. 

In my family, we have a weekly dinner tradition. It started with my parent generation and continues to this day.  

I have my own with my kids as well, not sure if it will continue after they get married but it is holding up for now.   

On 12/17/2024 at 6:28 PM, Mkl22 said:

I’m the opposite. Never want to go back to academia. Also don’t want to feed universities with my money. Don’t believe I can learnt anything useful from universities these days. All the old croaking professors are no way as up to date as Google.  If I need to know something just Google and use my own brains to filter and learn.

Rather spend it on traveling. 

Sekali nowadays professors also only google for materials the day before the lecture...zuo bo or zuo less remember...? University or not... nuah is universal one 😂

On 12/17/2024 at 8:10 PM, mersaylee said:

Sekali nowadays professors also only google for materials the day before the lecture...zuo bo or zuo less remember...? University or not... nuah is universal one 😂

Post-grad is more about course work.  Prof or lecturer is just a guiding hand.

On 12/17/2024 at 5:04 PM, Voodooman said:

lol.....I won't suggest anyone take EMBA when near/in  retirement.......unless it is their life-goal.😆

Yes, real work experience is crucial, I went through that before. But after doing EMBA for 2 months now,  it did show me different perspectives and deepen some of my existing work knowledge. For me that's quite worthwhile, but to others, it may be subjective

Edited by Stary