Lala81 Hypersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 (edited) On 12/16/2024 at 11:55 AM, serenade said: Dentistry, medicine and other courses with clinical practices are very highly subsidized even at $30k. Vis-a-vis going overseas to study. But then local grads, have a bond to serve out. Cannot say that serving the bond is a park-walk when assigned to the wards. Some buy their way out of bond because cannot stand the hours nor treatment. Others quit the moment they complete the bond for private practice and the higher pay. Cant complain about the sg system. It's reasonable. Edited December 16, 2024 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 (edited) On 12/16/2024 at 12:04 PM, Mason016 said: 6.5k per semester sounds like law. Your dg already year 3? My boss dg also studying NUS law I think. Edited December 16, 2024 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 12:08 PM, Lala81 said: Your dg already year 3? My boss dg also studying NUS law I think. She in practice already. 2PQE liao. I don’t recognise her anymore. seriously though, the degree and work just changes them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 12:12 PM, Mason016 said: She in practice already. 2PQE liao. I don’t recognise her anymore. seriously though, the degree and work just changes them. Yes, it does change people. We are basically a product of our environment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 10:59 AM, RadX said: Furkids… lagi expensive and zero ROI😂😂 Cremation charges for a human and a hampster almost sama sama 🤦♂️... Please donch ask me how I know...and donch tell me it's harder to cremate a hampster...be it a larger syrian coat or petite sapphire...😅 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 12:28 PM, mersaylee said: Cremation charges for a human and a hampster almost sama sama 🤦♂️... Please donch ask me how I know...and donch tell me it's harder to cremate a hampster...be it a larger syrian coat or petite sapphire...😅 Sheesh go sungei buloh feed crocs la..😂 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 I have buried pet rabbits, guinea pigs and cats under the big trees in my gardens. Organic recycling into fertiliser 😄. The developer who bought over the place may find a skeleton or two. Definitely no human skeleton left behind by me. If any, it was from WW2. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 12:29 PM, RadX said: Sheesh go sungei buloh feed crocs la..😂 Liddat buaya jiak buay liao oredi 😂 Sheesh...some little 4 legged are buried near my block...🙊😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 11:03 AM, Throttle2 said: Good lah, your kids all in Uni already can retire liao Mine still another 5 yrs …. Kids enriches your life but it also improvises you greatly. Can totally understand why more people are going DINK but I have no regret, it is good to have more people to debate and counter my opinions during dinner these days. 😂 With my current expenses and lack of real hobbies, I thought I should work a few more years. I know I am not ready as I still think trading in my paycheck to watch Netflix drama / series at home is a bad bad idea. That is my dilemma, so I just work and spend a bit more these days, especially on travel and F&B. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 12:55 PM, Voodooman said: Kids enriches your life but it also improvises you greatly. Can totally understand why more people are going DINK but I have no regret, it is good to have more people to debate and counter my opinions during dinner these days. 😂 With my current expenses and lack of real hobbies, I thought I should work a few more years. I know I am not ready as I still think trading in my paycheck to watch Netflix drama / series at home is a bad bad idea. That is my dilemma, so I just work and spend a bit more these days, especially on travel and F&B. Wait a min, did you actually mean to say “impoverish”? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 12:55 PM, Voodooman said: Kids enriches your life but it also improvises you greatly. Can totally understand why more people are going DINK but I have no regret, it is good to have more people to debate and counter my opinions during dinner these days. 😂 With my current expenses and lack of real hobbies, I thought I should work a few more years. I know I am not ready as I still think trading in my paycheck to watch Netflix drama / series at home is a bad bad idea. That is my dilemma, so I just work and spend a bit more these days, especially on travel and F&B. Yes, it is absolutely important to have some hobbies to fill your time when you retire. The children will be grown up and need to live their own lives. No dilemma for you as long as your work isnt damaging your health and family relationships. I am so fortunate to be able to drop it and enjoy freedom at such a young age. Tennis 2-3 times a week. Trade my Rolexes at a slow pace. Smoke my cigars, ride my Harley. Plan for qtrly holidays and manage my private fund while doing all that. the biggest difference now is truly being able to 100% enjoy my time without the stress of work responsibilities and pressures. No more looking at emails on holidays, no more answering phone calls when i am smoking my cigars, no more juxtaposing with corp climbing a**holes and incompetent clowns. Priceless….. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 1:29 PM, Mason016 said: Wait a min, did you actually mean to say “impoverish”? Haha... Yes, impoverish.. to make poor. Thanks for correcting. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 1:48 PM, Throttle2 said: Yes, it is absolutely important to have some hobbies to fill your time when you retire. The children will be grown up and need to live their own lives. No dilemma for you as long as your work isnt damaging your health and family relationships. I am so fortunate to be able to drop it and enjoy freedom at such a young age. Tennis 2-3 times a week. Trade my Rolexes at a slow pace. Smoke my cigars, ride my Harley. Plan for qtrly holidays and manage my private fund while doing all that. the biggest difference now is truly being able to 100% enjoy my time without the stress of work responsibilities and pressures. No more looking at emails on holidays, no more answering phone calls when i am smoking my cigars, no more juxtaposing with corp climbing a**holes and incompetent clowns. Priceless….. Hope to get to where you are soon. I don't subscribe to the theory that we should work till 65-70 just to keep dementia away. Work can't be an end in itself. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic December 17, 2024 Share December 17, 2024 (edited) On 12/15/2024 at 7:21 PM, Voodooman said: Who has kids studying overseas? That easily cost $5-10k a month. My 2 uni going kids alone cost me $4-5k a month and they are studying in Singapore. Lucky me. 😂 Heng ah...me too! One of mine going for exchange programme. Dorm already cost 3 times of SG, allowance double (not sure if it's sufficient). 😅 Edited December 17, 2024 by TangoCharlie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear December 17, 2024 Share December 17, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 10:30 PM, Lala81 said: Law? Dentistry and medicine should be around 25-30k per year, or more already. It was around 18k in my time. Medicine in NUS is about $35k/year, in NTU is about $37k/year. This is after the MOH grant. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear December 17, 2024 Share December 17, 2024 Damn IRAS take a big chunk of my income every month. 😖 Never mind, it is to help the poor, that what gov tell me. Just like raising GST, it is also to help the poor. I just wish they will stop giving out chicken wings. Then, they may take less from me. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 17, 2024 Share December 17, 2024 On 12/17/2024 at 11:19 AM, Flying_genie said: Medicine in NUS is about $35k/year, in NTU is about $37k/year. This is after the MOH grant. Wow! A fren has 2 children doing medicine in each uni now. I tink the fren monthly incum no 30k no talk...no need scholarship, no loan from bank or cpf...still can travel at least twice a year...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 17, 2024 Share December 17, 2024 On 12/17/2024 at 11:26 AM, Flying_genie said: Damn IRAS take a big chunk of my income every month. 😖 Never mind, it is to help the poor, that what gov tell me. Just like raising GST, it is also to help the poor. I just wish they will stop giving out chicken wings. Then, they may take less from me. They want to take more from you. Don’t give chicken wings, you damn TL. Give you chicken wings, you TL. 🤭 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...