Jman888 Moderator December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 7:21 PM, Voodooman said: Who has kids studying overseas? That easily cost $5-10k a month. My 2 uni going kids alone cost me $4-5k a month and they are studying in Singapore. Lucky me. 😂 what faculty are they in that cost $4-5k a month? I thought sg education is free ↡ Advertisement 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 lucky I dun drive, money saved goes to my vinyl records collection, ok better not say how much I spent on that if not wife will nag 1 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 (edited) On 12/15/2024 at 8:24 PM, Lala81 said: This one got ROI one mah. Just cannot see the ROI. not expense... simi roi? If and when they move out if can once in a while buy stuff for their old man… lim peh damn grateful Liao. else if still living with me. It’s still expenses on me. They will probably say their contribution money goes to mummy, also don’t hope for much. All I ask if one day when I can no longer look after myself don’t immediately dump me to a home. .😳 Edited December 15, 2024 by Mkl22 2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 8:41 PM, Jman888 said: what faculty are they in that cost $4-5k a month? I thought sg education is free Supposed to be heavily subsidized but it is still 6.5k per semester for my elder kid. A bit cheaper for my younger son. Plus dorm and allowance, about $2-2.5k a month? It is about there. I think. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 (edited) On 12/15/2024 at 8:41 PM, Jman888 said: what faculty are they in that cost $4-5k a month? I thought sg education is free SG university is heavily subsidized for Sporeans. But it is not free. And it has risen quite a fair bit over the decades. However, both NTU and NUS are some of the top universities in the world, so for the price that Sporeans pay, it is worth it. More info here :https://smartwealth.sg/cost-of-university-fees-singapore/ In summary, the total estimated cost of obtaining a university degree as a Singapore citizen is a rough average of $79,450, including the cost of living. This is in today’s value. *The above is based on a 4-year degree (according to the article) Edited December 15, 2024 by Stary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 8:43 PM, Jman888 said: lucky I dun drive, money saved goes to my vinyl records collection, ok better not say how much I spent on that if not wife will nag What I spend on my vinyl records, and home sound system, anyone including wife ask "how much?". My reply is actual amount minus one 0. Luckily only those who are in this hobby knows that one power cable from the wall to the amplifier, that looks very ordinary, can cost 5-digits. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 (edited) On 12/15/2024 at 9:04 PM, Voodooman said: Supposed to be heavily subsidized but it is still 6.5k per semester for my elder kid. A bit cheaper for my younger son. Plus dorm and allowance, about $2-2.5k a month? It is about there. I think. Law? Dentistry and medicine should be around 25-30k per year, or more already. It was around 18k in my time. Edited December 15, 2024 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 8:46 PM, Mkl22 said: simi roi? If and when they move out if can once in a while buy stuff for their old man… lim peh damn grateful Liao. else if still living with me. It’s still expenses on me. They will probably say their contribution money goes to mummy, also don’t hope for much. All I ask if one day when I can no longer look after myself don’t immediately dump me to a home. .😳 Lol they are your living legacy on the planet when it's our time to become carbon. Since we don't have enough clout/money to name a street, university faculty or school hall after us. Priceless! Haha cheap cheap. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 9:45 PM, serenade said: What I spend on my vinyl records, and home sound system, anyone including wife ask "how much?". My reply is actual amount minus one 0. Luckily only those who are in this hobby knows that one power cable from the wall to the amplifier, that looks very ordinary, can cost 5-digits. MUayhahhahhahhahhahhahha…. how much, how much? 1m $20,000, but if you buy 3m, i sell you $17,500 per meter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 (edited) On 12/15/2024 at 8:25 PM, Voodooman said: Not expecting any return really. I am lucky to be still able to give money to my parents every month but i doubt my kids will. It is an expense. Yes and by virtue of these words you hv posted, it tells how much the inflationary situation has ballooned over the last 2-3 decades. I believe our children are all willing to but we know that that will be a strain on them especially in the early years of their career. Parents nowadays must support children and them(our)selves till death and everybody understands that, so our population continues to drop. last time family nucleus was 4, then became 3, now only 2. I expect in future, people wont get married if they can afford to. Marriage becoming just a COE for HDB Edited December 16, 2024 by Throttle2 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 10:26 AM, Throttle2 said: Yes and by virtue of these words you hv posted, it tells how much the inflationary situation has ballooned over the last 2-3 decades. I believe our children are all willing to but we know that that will be a strain on them especially in the early years of their career. Parents nowadays must support children and them(our)selves till death and everybody understands that, so our population continues to drop. last time family nucleus was 4, then became 3, now only 2. I expect in future, people wont get married if they can afford to. Marriage becoming just a COE for HDB Furkids… lagi expensive and zero ROI😂😂 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 7:21 PM, Voodooman said: Who has kids studying overseas? That easily cost $5-10k a month. My 2 uni going kids alone cost me $4-5k a month and they are studying in Singapore. Lucky me. 😂 Good lah, your kids all in Uni already can retire liao Mine still another 5 yrs …. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 11:06 PM, Throttle2 said: MUayhahhahhahhahhahhahha…. how much, how much? 1m $20,000, but if you buy 3m, i sell you $17,500 per meter There are homes in Singapore with $2mio sound systems here. $300k speakers with every cable of many costing $20k each (made with pure silver or gold plated conductors). My system is nowhere close, but still high enough to be called "crazy" by my friends who are happy with their blue-tooth Klipsch or Marshall one box speaker. And I only told them the minus-one zero price. As an audiophile, I never discuss price in front of his family when visiting a fellow audiophile 😉. 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 11:07 AM, serenade said: There are homes in Singapore with $2mio sound systems here. $300k speakers with every cable of many costing $20k each (made with pure silver or gold plated conductors). My system is nowhere close, but still high enough to be called "crazy" by my friends who are happy with their blue-tooth Klipsch or Marshall one box speaker. And I only told them the minus-one zero price. As an audiophile, I never discuss price in front of his family when visiting a fellow audiophile 😉. Yes i know. and i am no audiophile. just a regular guy 😄 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 @Throttle2 On 12/16/2024 at 11:16 AM, Throttle2 said: Yes i know. and i am no audiophile. just a regular guy 😄 As a watch lover, you may be amused to know that a top turntable is made to the same precision as watch movements at the spindle, plater, bearings, tonearm and cartridge. In fact, the same watch parts sub-contractors supply parts to turntable manufacturers. Which accounts for the similar level of pricings. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 (edited) On 12/16/2024 at 11:07 AM, serenade said: There are homes in Singapore with $2mio sound systems here. $300k speakers with every cable of many costing $20k each (made with pure silver or gold plated conductors). My system is nowhere close, but still high enough to be called "crazy" by my friends who are happy with their blue-tooth Klipsch or Marshall one box speaker. And I only told them the minus-one zero price. As an audiophile, I never discuss price in front of his family when visiting a fellow audiophile 😉. I used to play this stuff when I was younger...... However since I retired young, I have cut it down. But over my dead body if you ask me to listen from a blue-tooth Klipsch or that one box Marshall. 😄 Edited December 16, 2024 by Stary 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 10:30 PM, Lala81 said: Law? Dentistry and medicine should be around 25-30k per year, or more already. It was around 18k in my time. Dentistry, medicine and other courses with clinical practices are very highly subsidized even at $30k. Vis-a-vis going overseas to study. But then local grads, have a bond to serve out. Cannot say that serving the bond is a park-walk when assigned to the wards. Some buy their way out of bond because cannot stand the hours nor treatment. Others quit the moment they complete the bond for private practice and the higher pay. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 (edited) On 12/15/2024 at 10:30 PM, Lala81 said: Law? Dentistry and medicine should be around 25-30k per year, or more already. It was around 18k in my time. 6.5k per semester sounds like law. Edited December 16, 2024 by Mason016 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...