But is proof that knowing ic nos can have major repercussions 

  On 1/11/2025 at 11:13 AM, RadX said:
Expand  

.... apparently someone can change your address with just knowing your IC number and date of issue...then he can reset your Singpass password...

honestly,  the entire article never said who took responsibility for designing such a stupid system... It does not even make sense...

I was really shocked at how insecure the system was after reading the article

Edited by Wind30

anyone you pass your IC to can remember the date of issue just glancing at it one second... Then he can change your address, and then your Singpass...

  On 1/11/2025 at 1:16 PM, Wind30 said:

.... apparently someone can change your address with just knowing your IC number and date of issue...then he can reset your Singpass password...

honestly,  the entire article never said who took responsibility for designing such a stupid system... It does not even make sense...

Expand  

Not that easy. The scammers first already had some compromised Singpass accounts.

The weakness in the system was that they allowed proxy to do the change on behalf. Hence the stolen singpass accounts were used as the (fake) proxies.

Edited by Sosaria

  On 1/12/2025 at 7:45 AM, Sosaria said:

Not that easy. The scammers first already had some compromised Singpass accounts.

The weakness in the system was that they allowed proxy to do the change on behalf. Hence the stolen singpass accounts were used as the (fake) proxies.

Expand  

Yes but to change address you just need the ic number and date of issue. I can change yours if u gave them to me. The compromised singpass is just needed if u want to mask your tracks... 

The system itself is insanely stupid. 

Optics?

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/mddi-acra-nric-numbers-unmasking-financial-consequences-performance-review-staff-4972576

Officers, leaders involved in NRIC unmasking saga may face financial consequences.

Appropriate actions are being taken with officers and leaders at the Ministry of Digital Development and Information (MDDI) and the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA) who were involved in last year's Bizfile incident.

MDDI and ACRA said they accepted the findings and acknowledged the shortcomings that had been identified.

"We apologise again for our oversight, which had caused public anxiety and concerns. In this incident, the public service did not perform to the level we set for ourselves," they said.

The ministry and agency said they have thoroughly reviewed the actions and responsibilities of those involved in the incident, and "appropriate actions" are being taken. 

Edited by Kopites

  On 3/3/2025 at 12:52 PM, Kopites said:

Optics?

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/mddi-acra-nric-numbers-unmasking-financial-consequences-performance-review-staff-4972576

Officers, leaders involved in NRIC unmasking saga may face financial consequences.

Appropriate actions are being taken with officers and leaders at the Ministry of Digital Development and Information (MDDI) and the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA) who were involved in last year's Bizfile incident.

MDDI and ACRA said they accepted the findings and acknowledged the shortcomings that had been identified.

"We apologise again for our oversight, which had caused public anxiety and concerns. In this incident, the public service did not perform to the level we set for ourselves," they said.

The ministry and agency said they have thoroughly reviewed the actions and responsibilities of those involved in the incident, and "appropriate actions" are being taken. 

Expand  

The key word is "MAY" face financial consequences.. be transparent and spell out the penalties lah.. 

  On 1/11/2025 at 1:16 PM, Wind30 said:

Expand  

and it is very easy to screw up someone's singpass if you know his IC number as most people singpass login is their IC number. 

Without knowing the password, just get it wrong a few times and the actual singpass account holder will have to apply for a new password. then rinse and repeat to f**k the fella up again if he doesnt change his IC number as login.

Very insecure especially with the divulge of IC nos. 

  On 3/3/2025 at 1:13 PM, Tkseah said:

The key word is "MAY" face financial consequences.. be transparent and spell out the penalties lah.. 

Expand  

they put the blame on kahkia doing the work. penalise the kahkia, the head no need to take responsibilities.  shiok man

Optics?

Expand  

Last time also got Minister take FULL responsibility but nothing happen afterwards leh

sddefault.jpg

Edited by Jellandross

Optics?

Expand  

I think the ministers have to show example by taking some penalty, either financially or if found to be fully responsible, handover the job to someone who can do a proper job..

This is a major screw up.. miscomm is still a mistake and when it has repercussions on such a scale, a simple sorry isn't enough. 

  On 3/6/2025 at 2:15 PM, Invigorated said:

I think the ministers have to show example by taking some penalty, either financially or if found to be fully responsible, handover the job to someone who can do a proper job..

This is a major screw up.. miscomm is still a mistake and when it has repercussions on such a scale, a simple sorry isn't enough. 

Expand  

They already say officers, leaders involved in NRIC unmasking saga may face financial consequences. But not necessary must be ministers to take responsible lo. Someone got take responsible can liao and just move on with life. Lol.

  On 3/6/2025 at 2:23 PM, 13177 said:

They already say officers, leaders involved in NRIC unmasking saga may face financial consequences. But not necessary must be ministers to take responsible lo. Someone got take responsible can liao and just move on with life. Lol.

Expand  

It means those civil servants doing the actual work may get poor grade in performance appraisal, leading to reduced or maybe no performance bonus for the year - that's the "financial consequences" . Minister? I don't think so. They are far far insulated from the operational /implementation level.

  On 3/6/2025 at 2:54 PM, Sosaria said:

It means those civil servants doing the actual work may get poor grade in performance appraisal, leading to reduced or maybe no performance bonus for the year - that's the "financial consequences" . Minister? I don't think so. They are far far insulated from the operational /implementation level.

Expand  

Ya, you see they got take action on which minister when something such major case happened like this before? 🙄 The minster still continue to take big fat salary.

17413071153001101652391449318286.thumb.jpg.74b1af8bd975399069a641d9648e5bdc.jpg

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/6-missteps-that-led-to-acras-disclosure-of-full-nric-numbers-in-dec-2024

A reminder to them that any launch of such scale has to be scrutinised. The IT vendor has also failed to ensure proper safeguards. 

This is unacceptable considering that this is from the Ministry of digital development and INFORMATION. 

I can guess there will be a subsequent change in the minister in charge soon but this cannot be let off with a tap on the wrist. 

Edited by Invigorated

  On 3/7/2025 at 12:34 AM, Invigorated said:

17413071153001101652391449318286.thumb.jpg.74b1af8bd975399069a641d9648e5bdc.jpg

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/6-missteps-that-led-to-acras-disclosure-of-full-nric-numbers-in-dec-2024

A reminder to them that any launch of such scale has to be scrutinised. The IT vendor has also failed to ensure proper safeguards. 

This is unacceptable considering that this is from the Ministry of digital development and INFORMATION. 

I can guess there will be a subsequent change in the minister in charge soon but this cannot be let off with a tap on the wrist. 

Expand  

Change in the minister in charge also no use, since that minister still continue to take big fat salary and go to another ministry.