NRIC number is private or public info?

Jellandross

On 12/14/2024 at 6:05 PM, Flying_genie said:

It's easier for gov to say this than to admit that ACRA screwed up

As usual, anything that got screwed up, they can come up 1001 reasons to justify it. [rolleyes]

On 12/14/2024 at 4:07 PM, Jellandross said:

"There should therefore not be any sensitivity in having one's full NRIC number made public, in the same way that we routinely share and reveal our full names to others."

Since the full names of all the MIW is known publicly, prove to us there's no sensitivity by making their NRIC numbers public lor

Perfectly logical right? 

Nothing  much is really private these days. If you register a company, your NRIC, along with your address, will be public info.

If anyone can pay for a acra report, info still consider private or not? 

On 12/15/2024 at 9:32 AM, Voodooman said:

Nothing  much is really private these days. If you register a company, your NRIC, along with your address, will be public info.

If anyone can pay for a acra report, info still consider private or not? 

True, but paying for the report is a deterrent.

As for this bizfile thingy when it first launched , and I read about it, I could search and obtain NRIC numbers of a few people known to me [laugh] without paying a single cent and being totally anonymous no need to login. Anyhow search out 10 or more people boh taiji. No need to pay.

The simple fact that acra quickly took the bizfile offline despite the defensive statement put out by mddi, seems to be contradictory, right?? If there's nothing wrong then maintain status quo lah

Am sure even some of the miw were aghast that their nric numbers were available to the public.

Edited by Sosaria

On 12/15/2024 at 9:47 AM, Sosaria said:

As for this bizfile thingy when it first launched , and I read about it, I could search and obtain NRIC numbers of a few people known to me [laugh] without paying a single cent and being totally anonymous no need to login. Anyhow search out 10 or more people boh taiji. No need to pay.

The simple fact that acra quickly took the bizfile offline despite the defensive statement put out by mddi, seems to be contradictory, right?? If there's nothing wrong then maintain status quo lah

Am sure even some of the miw were aghast that their nric numbers were available to the public.

Yes i feel the same way.
in fact, all miw should have nric made known so citizens can run our own checks on them too.  I mean for 100% transparency mah…..😂😅…right?

And paying for it, is a deterrent and also a record of who has requested for the information.  Definitely contradictory….😅

On 12/15/2024 at 9:47 AM, Sosaria said:

All along, ACRA published NRIC of directors and shareholders. It is a way for these people to be identified by creditors, tax authority, etc.

Deterrent or not, if you can pay for private info from govt agency, it is really no longer private.  

That is why our passport number is no longer NRIC no.  There is a need for a national identification number and they can't be totally private for a digital society to work.  Not saying it is good, just stating a fact.  

Actually if NRIC is found in ACRA, nothing to be shocking lo since the person is someone important. Lol. Unless NRIC can easily access for any tom, dick and harry on the street, then really no more privacy liao. 

On 12/14/2024 at 4:07 PM, Jellandross said:

So is NRIC number still under PDPA?

Said a Ministry of Digital Development and Information (MDDI) spokesperson in a statement early on Dec 14: "As a unique identifier, the NRIC number is assumed to be known, just as our real names are known.

"There should therefore not be any sensitivity in having one's full NRIC number made public, in the same way that we routinely share and reveal our full names to others."

Fark la. Names are unique? These jokers know what nrics for anot? Pui.

On 12/15/2024 at 9:59 AM, Throttle2 said:

Yes i feel the same way.
in fact, all miw should have nric made known so citizens can run our own checks on them too.  I mean for 100% transparency mah…..😂😅…right?

And paying for it, is a deterrent and also a record of who has requested for the information.  Definitely contradictory….😅

For a start, why don't MDDI publish the NRIC of their ministar to walk the talk?

Nothing private right? 

On 12/14/2024 at 8:27 PM, Sosaria said:

Can go NLB and borrow books with someone else's NRIC number - it's easy to generate the barcode to scan.

Besides nric, foreign worker Fin number is as important if not leas as well.

I remember correctly our local bank take the unique fin number as the top security verification more so than their passport and name. 

Hosptial one need to provide nric or fin number for verification. Be it finance, dispense or any other medical consultation. 

Doing away with nric or fin number as identification I can impersonate anyone of the same gender. 😁

On 12/15/2024 at 2:42 PM, Kklim said:

Also how many cars

Easier, dun generate car plate no. Just have the owner ID on the car. 1st car 80XXXXXA-1, 2nd car 80XXXXXA-2, etc. 

Edited by jcmm

On 12/15/2024 at 8:49 PM, Kopites said:

Hosptial one need to provide nric or fin number for verification. Be it finance, dispense or any other medical consultation. 

Doing away with nric or fin number as identification I can impersonate anyone of the same gender. 😁

Now pdpc says NRIC should never be used as authentication, so quite a number of organisations will be scrambling to revamp their systems [laugh]

At a time when many staff are going on leave. Sure curse and swear, some definitely be recalled back or leave cut short ...all because one acra kan-chiong 

On 12/15/2024 at 8:51 PM, jcmm said:

Easier, dun generate car plate no. Just have the owner ID on the car. 1st car 80XXXXXA-1, 2nd car 80XXXXXA-2, etc. 

Best method is can only use Singpass to check, then no need scare other people can use your NRIC to access easily.