Budget 2025 - February 2025.

On 2/19/2025 at 9:58 AM, 13177 said:

Agreed lo. 

Remember when i was young and have no car, Don't find it troublesome to go out on weekends to watch midnight movie and hang out with friends at cafe chit chat until wee hours, then take night rider bus or taxi home after that.

But when old liao no more interest to go out late at night even have a car which is so convenience. Lol.

That's the beauty of this forum. 

We can have some to disagree about but also so much more to agree on. 

I'm not proud to cause someone to get banned and I hope he/she understands that we have hearty discussions here without the need to get angry or worse, to get personal. You may be having a hard time but doesn't mean the person you are debating with has a good one. I have my own problems that are my own too. 

Everyone has very different viewpoints. No one can see the same thing simply because no pair of eyes will be at the same place on earth at the same time. We sometimes agree to disagree because it's very possible for two people to be correct or wrong at the same time.

For the one who got banned, don't take it personally. I myself have been warned before and learned my lesson. Lesson learnt. 

On 2/18/2025 at 9:49 PM, Invigorated said:

Part of it has come from the gst increase too.. 

That's the part where the government collects more gst revenue to so help the lower income groups.

1% gst increase brings in approximately 3.5 billion of revenue per year so the 2% would have brought in some 7 billion. 

Without the gst increase, probably will be at deficit with such an elephant size of a budget. 

How much our COE collect each year ah?

Car forum must have something related to car..

On 2/19/2025 at 10:39 AM, Mustank said:

What a shiok day

shares go up 

govt give money

Boss treat lunch

when i want to chop people i also treat lunch.  just so that you know.

On 2/19/2025 at 11:20 AM, Throttle2 said:

when i want to chop people i also treat lunch.  just so that you know.

This one is confirmed! 🤣

@Tohto 

Vehicle Quota Premiums collections are revised to $6.5 billion, which is $1.8 billion (38.5%) higher than the Estimated FY2024 figure, due to higher-than-expected premium levels and increases in quota levels. 

On 2/19/2025 at 4:38 PM, Butakim said:

@Tohto 

Vehicle Quota Premiums collections are revised to $6.5 billion, which is $1.8 billion (38.5%) higher than the Estimated FY2024 figure, due to higher-than-expected premium levels and increases in quota levels. 

Chee hong tat earned his promotion many times over liao....good boi

On 2/20/2025 at 6:50 PM, RadX said:

all thank me hor😂 for ur cdc

Ccb....u gib them a cover to impose more hidden tax on us 

On 2/19/2025 at 9:46 AM, Invigorated said:

When one is young, one tends to have a lot of time but not much money.

When one is old, one tends to have a lot of money but not much time left..

Thanks for sharing how you have found peace and freedom of having time. Many of us are still trying to get there..

I remember chatting with you in my earlier days and it has been a while. Do come back to chat with us more as you are missed here. 

On 2/19/2025 at 9:58 AM, 13177 said:

Agreed lo. 

Remember when i was young and have no car, Don't find it troublesome to go out on weekends to watch midnight movie and hang out with friends at cafe chit chat until wee hours, then take night rider bus or taxi home after that.

But when old liao no more interest to go out late at night even have a car which is so convenience. Lol.

Yes when young had plenty of time and little money. 

Now sandwiched class has little time too🤣 and feel should have more money all the time..... 

Setting aside more to prepare for retirement..... Need to keep working for at least another 20yrs🤣 given the retirement age keeps getting higher and higher......

So after all the dust has settled, i still dont see any real solid solution addressing our most urgent issues. 
It’s in fact worse than kicking the can down the road by giving vouchers or cash to Singaporeans.

Such “gifts” breeds unnecessary expectations from Citizens and puts pressure on our future budget yet does little but only provide very short term relief.  Thats like carrying water with a bunched up cotton T shirt. Or fighting fire with a toy watergun.

Then there is the usual talk about productivity. Come on, lets be real, how much more productivity can one squeeze out? 
Skills future is almost like throwing money away when we see the type of nonsense that people use it for. 
at best its an indirect act of pumping money into the system which also unfortunately fuels inflation further. 

Therefore all in all, it (budget2025) has been a complete non event for me, yet again.  

When your leg is broken from playing the game, applying a pain relieving cream isnt enough.  You need to stop paying the game and put your leg in a cast for some time while eating the right foods and medication to help it recover fully before you can go at it again.  This may mean a period of non performance and negative returns but it’s required to be able to go the distance in the future.  To move forward, we may need to stop or retreat first, consolidate, regroup. 

As a simple suggestion, after identifying the problems that the Singaporean next door is facing, remedy it with solid long term solutions Not all at the same time of course but one by one by one.  Even if it is not tackling the most difficult one first.  Where’s the iron, where’s the tenacity, where’s the will?  Sure it will ruffle feathers. It may result in unpleasant yet honest admittance and it may cost some fights.  But make these worthy fights. All these instead of lip service and lip service please.

I am no genius, no rocket scientist, no visiting professor. Hell i am not even a high ranking corporate employee.
So can someone share or explain to me if there was any solution, in this Budget being dished out for the issues we have?
Thank you.

Edited by Throttle2

On 2/22/2025 at 12:55 AM, Throttle2 said:

So after all the dust has settled, i still dont see any real solid solution addressing our most urgent issues. 
It’s in fact worse than kicking the can down the road by giving vouchers or cash to Singaporeans.

Such “gifts” breeds unnecessary expectations from Citizens and puts pressure on our future budget yet does little but only provide very short term relief.  Thats like carrying water with a bunched up cotton T shirt. Or fighting fire with a toy watergun.

Then there is the usual talk about productivity. Come on, lets be real, how much more productivity can one squeeze out? 
Skills future is almost like throwing money away when we see the type of nonsense that people use it for. 
at best its an indirect act of pumping money into the system which also unfortunately fuels inflation further. 

Therefore all in all, it (budget2025) has been a complete non event for me, yet again.  

When your leg is broken from playing the game, applying a pain relieving cream isnt enough.  You need to stop paying the game and put your leg in a cast for some time while eating the right foods and medication to help it recover fully before you can go at it again.  This may mean a period of non performance and negative returns but it’s required to be able to go the distance in the future.  To move forward, we may need to stop or retreat first, consolidate, regroup. 

As a simple suggestion, after identifying the problems that the Singaporean next door is facing, remedy it with solid long term solutions Not all at the same time of course but one by one by one.  Even if it is not tackling the most difficult one first.  Where’s the iron, where’s the tenacity, where’s the will?  Sure it will ruffle feathers. It may result in unpleasant yet honest admittance and it may cost some fights.  But make these worthy fights. All these instead of lip service and lip service please.

I am no genius, no rocket scientist, no visiting professor. Hell i am not even a high ranking corporate employee.
So can someone share or explain to me if there was any solution, in this Budget being dished out for the issues we have?
Thank you.

First there must be an admittance of a problem. If not, then say what also no use. 

On 2/22/2025 at 3:09 AM, Benarsenal said:

First there must be an admittance of a problem. If not, then say what also no use. 

They think they are the god sent team or the A list.  

well, at least the PM has directly or indirectly touched many times on rhe high cost of living.  So vouchers is their best solution ah…..i see. 

now one wonders how high cost of living can come about since we have always kept inflation to internationally ideal levels and have median incomes rise in pace?   Whats the catch? 🤣😂

This morning recevied this msg.

Selected few to give feedback on the recent budget.

Hmmm...doubt it would reflect general consensus on the budget. 

Those views that need to be heard would never be selected. 

Forego the free ntuc voucher.😁

Screenshot_20250226_104502_Messages.jpg

Edited by Kopites

On 2/26/2025 at 10:51 AM, Kopites said:

This morning recevied this msg.

Selected few to give feedback on the recent budget.

Hmmm...doubt it would reflect general consensus on the budget. 

Those views that need to be heard would never be selected. 

Forego the free ntuc voucher.😁

Screenshot_20250226_104502_Messages.jpg

Received same msg yesterday afternoon

For the past 2 years, i was personally interviewed by an agency and so was my wife on seperate occasions.   I gave them my most honest views and opinions.   But i believe my case is complete outlier case which they wont take into consideration.

Heh heh.

Edited by Throttle2

On 2/26/2025 at 11:00 AM, Throttle2 said:

For the past 2 years, i was personally interviewed by an agency and so was my wife on seperate occasions.   I gave them my most honest views and opinions.   But i believe my case is complete outlier case which they wont take into consideration.

Heh heh.

Exactly. 

Those views that need to be heard would never be heard.

Those views that are redundant would always be heard. 

Haiz....

Edited by Kopites

On 2/26/2025 at 11:00 AM, Throttle2 said:

Heh heh.

yes, received the same message as well.

well we can just give our honest opinion and do our job as a citizen of this country....well it's totally up to them to share it and listen or not or sweep it under the carpet...paper can't wrap burning fire...:grin: