Kah Motor Leng Kee Service

After diagnostic test on my car Honda Civic1.8L confirming the gearbox problem I was quoted for $8000 for overhaul gearbox over the phone by Service Advisor from Leng Kee Service. According to him a new gearbox will cost double the price. I said too expensive I don't want to proceed. While at their showroom to collect my car he said he can give me discount but still cost $7000. Then I messaged him regarding the discount offer he lowered the price to $5k after discussing with his superior. But final amount can only be determine once they remove the gearbox. When I ask another service advisor over there he told me typical overhaul of gearbox is around $4k. I end up overhaul at another workshop for $3.8k. My car is 15 years old. Just sharing my experience.

knife very sharp 

the scariest I ever kena 

bought new from them 

every six months will tell me to replace many things 

replace till scared and sold the car after 2.5years after 5 servicing 

buy bmw from pml 

tbh service charge every 6 months still cheaper than the former brand 

guess it’s the most expensive Japanese brand to maintain 

sibay scary sia 

• Shocked 2
  • Haha! 7

Thot by now everyone in MCF have oredi learn the bestest advice from a wise old ghost.....

Why even go back to them when your car is already 15yrs old.. looking to be carrot.

Edited by Tohto
  • Haha! 11

On 12/4/2024 at 3:45 PM, Tohto said:

Why even go back to them when your car is already 15yrs old.. looking to be carrot.

Gearbox overhaul is a major job. I need their opinion. I have stopped servicing there for a very long time. But if they quoted me 4k i will give them the business. The first respond from the service advisor is 'wah so long never come here service already' and his attitude immediately change for the worst.

Edited by Toxic118

I am quite surprised AD service charges can bargain like buying fish in the wet market of third world countries

h_447

• Haha! 10

On 12/4/2024 at 3:43 PM, Soya said:

Thot by now everyone in MCF have oredi learn the bestest advice from a wise old ghost.....

1DEF01B0-004A-4877-B5B9-A6C74E104AFD.gif

On 12/4/2024 at 4:23 PM, Gnahp said:

I am quite surprised AD service charges can bargain like buying fish in the wet market of third world countries

h_447

Exactly. I thought I am in China.

On 12/4/2024 at 4:01 PM, Toxic118 said:

Gearbox overhaul is a major job. I need their opinion. I have stopped servicing there for a very long time. But if they quoted me 4k i will give them the business. The first respond from the service advisor is 'wah so long never come here service already' and his attitude immediately change for the worst.

AD opinion? hahahahahahhahahahaha. lots of them run by school boys. seriously the level of AD standard in SG is similar to what you get mentioned by youtube for the american ADs.

so many more competent independents out there. look for those whos boss also hands on. less likely to go wrong.

probably they will take the car from you and sub out to the independents to fix. cause all the junior mechs at the ADs wont have a clue of how to fix. majority only good at oil change and check battery and wiper fluid levels.😁

Edited by Mkl22

@Mkl22 I actually went JB for servicing. But because I never apply for the VEP I don't want to go in at the moment.

On 12/4/2024 at 4:43 PM, Toxic118 said:

@Mkl22 I actually went JB for servicing. But because I never apply for the VEP I don't want to go in at the moment.

go lah...get warning only what...and can save even more....worth every cents...sen I mean...:grin:

anyway, 15 yr old car...fix cheap cheap and drive another 5 yrs...ok ah..

@Spidey10 I asked the workshop there already. I need to leave the car there for a week. Its slightly cheaper than fixing here. 

@Inlinefour what things u were asked to replace for the first year?

On 12/4/2024 at 3:39 PM, Inlinefour said:

knife very sharp 

the scariest I ever kena 

bought new from them 

every six months will tell me to replace many things 

replace till scared and sold the car after 2.5years after 5 servicing 

buy bmw from pml 

tbh service charge every 6 months still cheaper than the former brand 

guess it’s the most expensive Japanese brand to maintain 

sibay scary sia 

On 12/4/2024 at 7:25 PM, jhnology said:

@Inlinefour what things u were asked to replace for the first year?

Can’t really recall all

2 and half decades ago

but confirmed carrot head

battery wiper tyre filter all items that is not covered by warranty 

first time buy new car first time own car

till my friends told me buy bmw better 

radiator cap whatever things also tell me uplorry

even told pml sa he also laughed at me