Chinese car brands gain confidence amongst S'porean car owners: survey

kobayashiGT

Do you trust Chinese car brands?   

42 members have voted

1. 1. Do you trust Chinese car brands?

• Trust, I will buy a Chinese made car!
    • Not Sure, I not sure if I will buy a Chinese made car.
    • Don't trust, I won't buy a Chinese made car.

Was at the Xiaomi show room to see the SU7. The salesmen there are generous and told us to just go and play with it.

I would say, impressive build quality. Better than the BMW X5. Uses premium tyres and Brembo brakes.

BD1D8DA9-57F4-4A86-808D-81DCF108FB26_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.0ab1f556597f0d0ec36715831e1c1329.jpeg2EFA83A8-D425-495E-BCFD-5FF250CEB6A7_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.8fe45c1d0a176212cff662af152fc492.jpegE2AC7723-741D-49E3-949B-EB0B03A05B99_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.fe9d77317e09f4ca629ab9286e050aa4.jpeg074D2B2A-E406-433A-AE1C-E5B51EC27C18_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.79c9fbd25ea07b3fddb9cd847389532f.jpeg444DF612-AF54-4802-ADAA-D5F90AF3AA06_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.dcc0a9104b4cf4c89d26399a67ed1137.jpeg

Edited by Davidklt

On 11/24/2024 at 1:46 AM, Vegas said:

in 2005, i believe the only chinese automotive manufacturer was BYD. and their cars of that ERA was at best equivalent of Daewoo 10 yrs before that

EV did narrow the gap for the chinese on the electronics portion. they were good and now they are EXCELLENT. but i wun buy EV now so i wun buy chinese EVs lor

anyway. EV all can drive like sportscar lah, batt so heavy, CG damn low

Still, to paraphrase Top Gun ,....it's not the car, it's the driver [laugh]

Have not seen yet any major EV accident and how it stands up to collision damage. Will it be more easily totalled? Fire risk? 

On 11/24/2024 at 10:36 AM, Sosaria said:

Have not seen yet any major EV accident and how it stands up to collision damage. Will it be more easily totalled? Fire risk? 

On 11/22/2024 at 5:28 PM, inlinesix said:

BMW, Skoda & Volvo also got what

China battery….. 

On 11/24/2024 at 10:51 AM, ER-3682 said:

Surprised Chinese EV never support their own Tyre Mfg like Tourador .

I think tourador is only local to sg. It’s a relabel I think

On 11/24/2024 at 9:58 AM, Davidklt said:

The iphone thing is no longer true.

I am in China now. Most EVs, in fact most cars I see are Chinese brands.

Cause cheap. Used Chinese  EVs totally no value. 

On 11/24/2024 at 11:37 AM, Mkl22 said:

Cause cheap. Used Chinese  EVs totally no value. 

Not all the case. Since Trump's first term, there has been a lot of movement towards buying locally produced goods and brands. The country has become more and more nationalistic. And the people here just see no point in buying western goods when the West is banning their brands and imposing tariffs.

Just look at Huawei, their mobile phones are no longer cheap. Their trifold phone is much more expensive than iphone.

5th Gear
On 11/23/2024 at 5:57 PM, Sdf4786k said:

If o ly that was true that Chinese made cars are crap .. then Tesla would be just like Apple. Made in China but everyone buys .. I do however feel like I will not buy made in India cars or EV .. lol

in case anyone thinks I am a born again Chinese brand advocate, just let me say this. Chinese cars most, if not all, lack the finesse of a ICE car due to the weight penalty of the battery at 700kg. The fact that the suspension is soft and willowy does not help unless u fit it with coilover or in some case tein suspension that Tesla owners has fitted. The steering wheel is lifeless and at BEST can bE consider bothering more then an over glorified electric shopping cart. Some of those that comes with double wishbone in front is slightly better than a golf buggy driven by caddies out in the field. The main draw of EV is just cost considers where u no longer care of on going price hike of oil due to Geo political tensions nor should you even be bothered about it. The instant torque is rather addictive and you no longer drive CAT A cars and get bullied by taxis or extended coe rides 

Er...the weight is heavy but due to flat batt across the floor of car, a normal cheapo EV drives better any FWD ICE. If the chinese EV is coupled with RWD driven motor, it becomes god-sent car with very reasonable price tag vs say the famed bmw 3 series 50/50 RWD, here we talking about 150k upwards RWD EV vs 250k min BASIC 318i ICE RWD. Almost no brainer. The only advantage i would say conti ICE has is the matured software and electronics which the chinese may not have tested in more scnearios before releasing in EVs.

I used to be like you, very doubtful of chinese EV...until I testdrove RWD Chinese EV. 😄 I have to say, I was wrong. I have come across bimmer/merc owners moving to Xpeng/MG.

Before I am being labelled as chinese EV advocate, I am a blue propeller fan for decades and still am. 😎

Edited by Rskc

On 11/24/2024 at 10:01 AM, Davidklt said:

Was at the Xiaomi show room to see the SU7. The salesmen there are generous and told us to just go and play with it.

I would say, impressive build quality. Better than the BMW X5. Uses premium tyres and Brembo brakes.

BD1D8DA9-57F4-4A86-808D-81DCF108FB26_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.0ab1f556597f0d0ec36715831e1c1329.jpeg2EFA83A8-D425-495E-BCFD-5FF250CEB6A7_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.8fe45c1d0a176212cff662af152fc492.jpegE2AC7723-741D-49E3-949B-EB0B03A05B99_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.fe9d77317e09f4ca629ab9286e050aa4.jpeg074D2B2A-E406-433A-AE1C-E5B51EC27C18_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.79c9fbd25ea07b3fddb9cd847389532f.jpeg444DF612-AF54-4802-ADAA-D5F90AF3AA06_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.dcc0a9104b4cf4c89d26399a67ed1137.jpeg

Did you get to test drive? Or you can’t as a foreigner? 

Ford CEO Farley said that his experience driving the SU7 has been a "significant epiphany" that highlights how Western automakers lag behind Chinese companies.

The skeptics should go test drive a Chinese EV, like the Seal. I went away pretty impressed. Can’t imagine what Denza, Xiaomi or other premium Chinese EV makers can offer vis-a-vis the Germans.

Edited by Voodooman

On 11/24/2024 at 1:22 PM, Rskc said:

Er...the weight is heavy but due to flat batt across the floor of car, a normal cheapo EV drives better any FWD ICE. If the chinese EV is coupled with RWD driven motor, it becomes god-sent car with very reasonable price tag vs say the famed bmw 3 series 50/50 RWD, here we talking about 150k upwards RWD EV vs 250k min BASIC 318i ICE RWD. Almost no brainer. The only advantage i would say conti ICE has is the matured software and electronics which the chinese may not have tested in more scnearios before releasing in EVs.

I used to be like you, very doubtful of chinese EV...until I testdrove RWD Chinese EV. 😄 I have to say, I was wrong. I have come across bimmer/merc owners moving to Xpeng/MG.

Before I am being labelled as chinese EV advocate, I am a blue propeller fan for decades and still am. 😎

Agree, I have been driving premium German makes for more than 10 years and the mass market Seal is 90% there for the drive and it is circa 50% cheaper than my current ride. 

EV all drives well... low CG

suspension and other mechanical components may be another thing.

if there is one thing chinese know, reverse engineering. so many ang mo car companies JV in china... Shanghai Dazhong university 😜

On 11/24/2024 at 1:53 PM, Vegas said:

EV all drives well... low CG

suspension and other mechanical components may be another thing.

if there is one thing chinese know, reverse engineering. so many ang mo car companies JV in china... Shanghai Dazhong university 😜

EV only AMDK reverse engineer China EV

On 11/24/2024 at 10:36 AM, Sosaria said:

Ev in collision much more safe than ICE because of batt underneath help to absorb and withstand the impact

thats why side pole test ev always better 

On 11/24/2024 at 2:30 PM, inlinesix said:

EV only AMDK reverse engineer China EV

Read this a few days ago. 

How far the Chinese have come.

IMG_1841.thumb.jpeg.2f7a991f2a9eda60ff68c404991c4b42.jpeg

On 11/24/2024 at 3:20 PM, Voodooman said:

Read this a few days ago. 

How far the Chinese have come.

IMG_1841.thumb.jpeg.2f7a991f2a9eda60ff68c404991c4b42.jpeg

If they can make many rocket launch, whats ev to them😂

just dismatle a tesla and learn from tesla simple

On 11/24/2024 at 4:51 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Tesla shared its IP.

GigaPress was made by IDRA which is owned by LK Machinery.

LK Machinery made a “better” machine for Xiaomi

On 11/24/2024 at 4:51 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Except top of the line Nvidia GPU chips.  😂😂😂

Not sure if they will ever catch up but in EV, they are now the clear leader.