Benarsenal Turbocharged November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 On 11/23/2024 at 9:17 AM, Heartbreakid said: Chinese cars are impressive with looks, build quality BUT their reliability will take 10 years to prove. Moreover, they have too many electronic gadgets which spell possible glitches at any time. Let's see. Don't need la. Spoil already just throw and get new one. That is the way now. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 On 11/23/2024 at 11:46 AM, Benarsenal said: Don't need la. Spoil already just throw and get new one. That is the way now. Other things can but not for cars even if it is Made in China because our car prices context is different from the rest of the world. Uniquely Singapore. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulkan 2nd Gear November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 On 11/22/2024 at 6:57 PM, Inlinefour said: all my naturalised atb sinkies dun fancy their mic kereta but I do love and trust them deep deep 🥰🥰🥰 I mean human not car 🫣🫣🫣 You mean thrust? 😂 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 On 11/23/2024 at 1:07 PM, Heartbreakid said: Other things can but not for cars even if it is Made in China because our car prices context is different from the rest of the world. Uniquely Singapore. Buy car with the lowest margin. The rest Ah Gong give you back. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 On 11/23/2024 at 1:08 PM, Vulkan said: You mean thrust? 😂 sorry I missed out the “h” for human 🫣🫣🫣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 Aiya the sales figure will show every thing. Long long ago i drive jap. Then come korean cars. Remember last time ppl talk about how bad kimchi car is? My last 2 and current car are kimchi. Now is china car turn to come up. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulkan 2nd Gear November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 There is also the issue with the rapid influx of Chinese brands and models into Singapore's small market creates a bubble that's likely to burst. Some of these ADs may not survive long term, you wouldn't want to be left with a car when the brand is no longer here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 On 11/22/2024 at 2:56 PM, Jamesc said: No experience of EVs but I trust China ICE cars. Then No ''Hongqi'' no talk...Buy the Chinese ''Rolls Royce'' for your Mother In Law. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 (edited) On 11/23/2024 at 4:05 PM, ER-3682 said: Then No ''Hongqi'' no talk...Buy the Chinese ''Rolls Royce'' for your Mother In Law. Hongqi? Want to buy for MIL buy a real Rolls Royce lah. I got her this one. No cheapo brand Hongqi for her. Edited November 23, 2024 by Jamesc 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 (edited) If o ly that was true that Chinese made cars are crap .. then Tesla would be just like Apple. Made in China but everyone buys .. I do however feel like I will not buy made in India cars or EV .. lol in case anyone thinks I am a born again Chinese brand advocate, just let me say this. Chinese cars most, if not all, lack the finesse of a ICE car due to the weight penalty of the battery at 700kg. The fact that the suspension is soft and willowy does not help unless u fit it with coilover or in some case tein suspension that Tesla owners has fitted. The steering wheel is lifeless and at BEST can bE consider bothering more then an over glorified electric shopping cart. Some of those that comes with double wishbone in front is slightly better than a golf buggy driven by caddies out in the field. The main draw of EV is just cost considers where u no longer care of on going price hike of oil due to Geo political tensions nor should you even be bothered about it. The instant torque is rather addictive and you no longer drive CAT A cars and get bullied by taxis or extended coe rides Edited November 23, 2024 by Sdf4786k 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 (edited) On 11/22/2024 at 1:24 PM, F355 said: If talking ICE or tyres , yes I dont trust China brand . But when it comes to EVs , I not so sure , even though I have not sat in one yet . They say a good maker of ICE does not mean you will make good in EVs . Its like a good maker of typerwiter trying to produce a plastic keyboard . All remains to be seen . Long long ago my driving instructor told me not to buy honda car. When i ask why, he said they specialise in making motorcycles so how to make a good car? Now, about PRC EV, if it's all just hype, how come europe and US auto-makers feel threatened? They know something that we don't? It cannot be just about cost. People will pay premium to buy good quality products. Fact is, PRC EV and their smart tech have grown by leaps and bounds in recent years. Edited November 23, 2024 by Sosaria 4 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 (edited) On 11/23/2024 at 2:14 PM, Beregond said: Aiya the sales figure will show every thing. Long long ago i drive jap. Then come korean cars. Remember last time ppl talk about how bad kimchi car is? My last 2 and current car are kimchi. Now is china car turn to come up. Jap car no USP anymore. Not cheap, not high tech, not nice design, not badge, the ship has sailed.....long time ago. No point standing by the harbour, it's time to move on Kimchi still got some interesting designs, tries to keep the tech going but not cheap anymore so their USP of value for money is fading.....fast PRC car, like it or not, is the way forward. EVs have levelled the playing field w more modern edge designs, newer tech and feature packed at a price point that's hard to ignore. Even the badges are feeling the heat. Hard truths n no point being in denial Edited November 23, 2024 by Soya 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 Reminder I think lala posted previously 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 On 11/23/2024 at 10:51 PM, inlinesix said: Reminder I think lala posted previously My main takeaway from that beedeo is.... ......to make sure one's specs got good nose pads 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 Question is, do PRC consumers prefer their own brand EVs? Not sure about this. If you look at handphones, PRC brands are like what that guy in the video said, not quite there in terms of features, but 90% there at half the price, compared to premium brands like Samsung or even Apple. But still PRC consumers prefer iPhone over their own domestic brand 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 On 11/22/2024 at 2:25 PM, Spidey10 said: I dunno too....the Japs and Germans have been at this for so long and they still can't get it right...and the chinese come in and got it all figured out in a few years? I dunno leh.....give me another 5 yrs and we will see....hopefully no MSCP gets burn down during this 5 yrs German purposely don’t get it right after few yrs so u continue to buy their parts or buy their new cars If car made everlasting, they will earn less 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vegas Turbocharged November 23, 2024 Share November 23, 2024 in 2005, i believe the only chinese automotive manufacturer was BYD. and their cars of that ERA was at best equivalent of Daewoo 10 yrs before that EV did narrow the gap for the chinese on the electronics portion. they were good and now they are EXCELLENT. but i wun buy EV now so i wun buy chinese EVs lor anyway. EV all can drive like sportscar lah, batt so heavy, CG damn low 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged November 24, 2024 Share November 24, 2024 On 11/24/2024 at 12:00 AM, Sosaria said: Question is, do PRC consumers prefer their own brand EVs? Not sure about this. If you look at handphones, PRC brands are like what that guy in the video said, not quite there in terms of features, but 90% there at half the price, compared to premium brands like Samsung or even Apple. But still PRC consumers prefer iPhone over their own domestic brand The iphone thing is no longer true. I am in China now. Most EVs, in fact most cars I see are Chinese brands. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...