Do you bully P plate drivers?

Tianmo

My wife when she restarted driving in 2018 after attending refresher course. We bought a p plate for her. 

Then after half year she realised lot of 鸟人, yes especially vans, will speed up when she's trying to change lanes. 

She removed it after that. 

• Haha! 11

On 11/13/2024 at 10:53 AM, Arogab said:

OK, ask your kids to join and be active in here daily.  Haha

haha, i think this is my 20th year anniversary in MCF... joined when i first bought my car in my uni days. unfortunately / fortunately? i married late, my kid is just 1 year old.... 

Edited by Estrangable
  • Haha! 12

No le, got P plate on the car or not, many times those vans etc also like to cut infront of me lo. 😅 So nothing got to do with P plate. Lol.

On 11/13/2024 at 12:26 PM, Lala81 said:

My wife when she restarted driving in 2018 after attending refresher course. We bought a p plate for her. 

Then after half year she realised lot of 鸟人, yes especially vans, will speed up when she's trying to change lanes. 

She removed it after that. 

Without fail, every trip we will encounter some Van issues, even her best drive (so far) had one encounter with a Van. There was once 2 vans did the same thing, cheong in front and hog us on lane 2, when both side lanes were cleared. She was driving 80km/h on both KJE and SLE, and had to slow down to 65-70km/h.  My daughter asked me was it the same Van? But it was 2 different vans of the same made, both white, but one with stickers. <_< [laugh] [laugh]

• Haha! 9

On 11/13/2024 at 12:50 PM, 13177 said:

No le, got P plate on the car or not, many times those vans etc also like to cut infront of me lo. 😅 So nothing got to do with P plate. Lol.

Hmmmmm.......... you road hogging on left lane  [sly]

They have to overtake you to come back to left lane. :ph34r:

On 11/13/2024 at 10:22 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

If genuine P plate driver, I won't bully [nod]

But sometimes after overtaking the vehicle, turn your head and look at the driver, WTF its a old uncle driving. :grin:

Some experience drivers misused the P plate so that people won't complaint against them thinking that they are new drivers on the road. :=B:

Maybe can be like this in my case now.

Up till 2 wk ago, my car no P plate, but my father drives me car like once a week. i told him if wan drive, then go slow and dun chiong... 

2 wk ago, my son passed driving and now i put P plate on the car... it's there even if it's not him driving...

Regardless, next time pls give chance ok... even if it's me driving 😅

• Haha! 7

On 11/13/2024 at 2:06 PM, Tianmo said:

Without fail, every trip we will encounter some Van issues, even her best drive (so far) had one encounter with a Van. There was once 2 vans did the same thing, cheong in front and hog us on lane 2, when both side lanes were cleared. She was driving 80km/h on both KJE and SLE, and had to slow down to 65-70km/h.  My daughter asked me was it the same Van? But it was 2 different vans of the same made, both white, but one with stickers. <_< [laugh] [laugh]

Actually, i think got 2 issues:

P-plate issue, and van issue.

my son just passed recently, so i still haven't observed bullying, cos not everyday let him drive. 

and so i won't have taken note had i not read this thread here. maybe will start encountering soon.

but van issue... this i like to comment. Since a few yr ago, i've noticed lots of Hiaces all deserves to be taken off the roads here. Govt should mandatory get Borneo to tune all Hiaces to only 50 hp before delivery... 

TMD, now they are drive like F1, chiong from left-most to right-most lanes and back all the time. The turbodiesel engine too powerful for the van's good... let them have the audacity to drive this pattern. i guarantee if they only have 50 hp, then none of them will dare behave this way.

• Haha! 7

On 11/13/2024 at 6:36 PM, Atrecord said:

my son just passed recently, so i still haven't observed bullying, cos not everyday let him drive. 

and so i won't have taken note had i not read this thread here. maybe will start encountering soon.

but van issue... this i like to comment. Since a few yr ago, i've noticed lots of Hiaces all deserves to be taken off the roads here. Govt should mandatory get Borneo to tune all Hiaces to only 50 hp before delivery... 

TMD, now they are drive like F1, chiong from left-most to right-most lanes and back all the time. The turbodiesel engine too powerful for the van's good... let them have the audacity to drive this pattern. i guarantee if they only have 50 hp, then none of them will dare behave this way.

Only wish more of them will turn turtle into the drain. But alas even if many do that many more will take their place. No different to suicidal JB bikers… just like zombies…. they keep crashing Never ending

On 11/13/2024 at 10:09 AM, Estrangable said:

walau, mycarforum is really filled with boomers and lau cheks.... kids of driving age liao... no wonder this forum so dead sia. 

Midlife Crisis Forum it is 😂

On 11/13/2024 at 8:09 PM, Mkl22 said:

Only wish more of them will turn turtle into the drain. But alas even if many do that many more will take their place. No different to suicidal JB bikers… just like zombies…. they keep crashing Never ending

They won't overturn one - many have lowered suspension and bumpers that hug the road! 

On 11/13/2024 at 6:36 PM, Atrecord said:

I have had a few encounters with Vans recently when I was alone in the P plate car, and most of the times they back off when they see the P plate react differently, either didn't catch up or changed lane to the left. 

I guess like our friend here mentioned, Vans just trying to jiak new drivers, and when they know is not "soft leg" driver in the P plate cars, they goestan jiak kar-gee. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

On 11/13/2024 at 11:47 AM, Estrangable said:

haha, i think this is my 20th year anniversary in MCF... joined when i first bought my car in my uni days. unfortunately / fortunately? i married late, my kid is just 1 year old.... 

Haha, nevermind, 20 plus got car, 20 years on, you just 40 plus, start training now

On 11/13/2024 at 9:39 PM, Tianmo said:

I have had a few encounters with Vans recently when I was alone in the P plate car, and most of the times they back off when they see the P plate react differently, either didn't catch up or changed lane to the left. 

I guess like our friend here mentioned, Vans just trying to jiak new drivers, and when they know is not "soft leg" driver in the P plate cars, they goestan jiak kar-gee. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Just now on CTE, got one van was on lane 1 from moulmein rd till braddel rd, then finally filtered left to lane 3, i tot he was going to exit amk ave 1 (like me), but then saw it chiong out lane 2 to overtake again...

i think these vans not only wanna jiak new drivers, but they also desperately wanna jiak time, and is emboldened by the TPs all likely go and jiak kopi inside office...

IMHO.
Food chain is like that. Big "bully" or "eat" small. 
e.g.   Car "bully" motor which in turn the motor "bully" bicycle which in turn go "bully" pedestrians. 

Good idea for an experiment.

I will hang a "P" triangle sign to see if I encounter different behaviour from other drivers.

Then give them a shock with my suddenly superior driving skills [laugh]

It's like those youtube videos where "pro" disguise themselves as beginner to give bullies the shock of their lives.

Ego problem. A lot of Singaporeans like to "one-up" other people, and on the road is easiest to do so. Like @Jellandross said, is often a result of insecurity.

It happens when you drive very small or old cars too.

I would go so far as to say that driving on public roads is the great equalizer. No matter young or old, rich or poor, hamsum or ugly, smart or stupid, anyone also can have a fair chance to KO anyone else, like in squid game 😂 

That's why driving like a dixk has increasingly become a sort of therapy for the mentally imbalanced ppl.

Edited by Jellandross
  • Sad 1