Tianmo Hypersonic November 12 Share November 12 (edited) So, I have had this bright orange/yellow triangle P plates stick to my front and back car screens for 5 months. And in these 5 months, my younger daughter drove to school once or twice a week in the afternoon, with me beside her, otherwise i am the only driver. The same car has 2 different driving behavior, the right lane/lane 1 above speed limit driver, and the left lane/lane 2 speed limit driver. But there is one common thing we both notice when the car is on the road, regardless who was driving. Upon checking ard with her friends and classmates, we found similar situations among ex and current P plate drivers. The issue? Van drivers! This caught my attention because right up to 5 months ago, I did not have this problem, and suddenly I am getting Vans cutting very closely in front of me from the left into lane 2, tailgating very closely on lane 2 when both sides were clear, hogging in front of me on lane 2 of a 4 lanes expressway, driving very closely side by sides on expressways. Of course these happen mostly when my daughter was driving, and the strange thing is it's always the Vans. The bikers usually Siam far far, the big trucks usually give ways, those PHV MPVs as usual, no one can switch lane in front of them, langgar also cannot give way one. I don't usually get such issues because I mostly drive on lane 1, only get some tailgating when I slowed down nearer to hotspot laser gun overhead bridges, but once they saw I rev up after, they usually don't come near anymore, and most Vans don't drive on lane 1. However, I get the Vans problem when I drive on lane 2 myself, just that the difference is when I reacted, they leave me alone and stay far far behind. I know most here likely cannot relate because P plate is like so long ago, but some may have children starting to share the car, and if so, do they encounter such Van bullies? I don't understand the logic, but what could be the reason/s to such bullying behavior from van drivers to P plate drivers? Strange? Edited November 12 by Tianmo ↡ Advertisement 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 12 Share November 12 (edited) dunno yet, kid not of driving age... but for sure i dont drive like a P plate. i also dont give chance to vans or phv.... but then it is sometimes due to i car drive. small suzuki hatch. in the past driving a more powerful car they dont bully. also depends on my mood, suzuki hatch still small and powerful enough to take most of the cat A cars out. vans obviously no problem. just if i wanna waste petrol or not 😁 Edited November 12 by Mkl22 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged November 12 Share November 12 @Tianmoyour Daughter must be very Pretty.? 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
boonhat_91 6th Gear November 12 Share November 12 Your car look like van? Maybe they trying to say hi and welcome. Your car is conti car or sports car? Maybe innate envy behaviour. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged November 12 Share November 12 yes, 1st hand experience, my son got hit by a motobike and left a 6 inch scratch on the side door.... scratch it and run....son says he was just driving and minding his own business and suddenly the biker came close to the car and purposely scratch the side door....haiii.. told son, maybe he was driving too slow and blocking the biker... 1 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MinJunMaru Clutched November 12 Share November 12 Saw this and had to comment. Anecdotally I encounter more bullies when I left the P-plate on, even on an empty road at 2am. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mancypher 2nd Gear November 12 Share November 12 P-plate i can still tahan, cos keep self reminding I was once a P-plate too. The one i cannot tahan is those non P-plate that take their own sweet time to change lane, turn left/right at junction, moving off from green traffic light. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic November 12 Share November 12 Vans kena jiak by normal cars and PHVs and bikes, they dare not jiak big commercial vehicles, only left P-platers to jiak to make themselves feel gooder. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged November 12 Share November 12 no similar P plate experience as my son just passed basic theory test but I got different treatment when driving different car when I drive a getgo, any model, drivers very reluctant to follow behind me, all want to overtake me whenever they have the chance, even in tight basement car park when cruising along on NSHW in my wife's car, the cars in front will switch to slower lane, made me paiseh, got to step more gas to overtake, forcing me to drive faster when driving my own car, it will attract all the beng mobiles to push me I told my wife, this is carism, stereotyping 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged November 12 Share November 12 Anyway,i saw alot of "P" Drivers, driving 90km/h in Lane 1,they Hog the Lane,maybe Driving Instructors teach them not more than 90Km/h. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic November 12 Share November 12 On 11/12/2024 at 3:17 PM, Tianmo said: So, I have had this bright orange/yellow triangle P plates stick to my front and back car screens for 5 months. And in these 5 months, my younger daughter drove to school once or twice a week in the afternoon, with me beside her, otherwise i am the only driver. The same car has 2 different driving behavior, the right lane/lane 1 above speed limit driver, and the left lane/lane 2 speed limit driver. But there is one common thing we both notice when the car is on the road, regardless who was driving. Upon checking ard with her friends and classmates, we found similar situations among ex and current P plate drivers. The issue? Van drivers! This caught my attention because right up to 5 months ago, I did not have this problem, and suddenly I am getting Vans cutting very closely in front of me from the left into lane 2, tailgating very closely on lane 2 when both sides were clear, hogging in front of me on lane 2 of a 4 lanes expressway, driving very closely side by sides on expressways. Of course these happen mostly when my daughter was driving, and the strange thing is it's always the Vans. The bikers usually Siam far far, the big trucks usually give ways, those PHV MPVs as usual, no one can switch lane in front of them, langgar also cannot give way one. I don't usually get such issues because I mostly drive on lane 1, only get some tailgating when I slowed down nearer to hotspot laser gun overhead bridges, but once they saw I rev up after, they usually don't come near anymore, and most Vans don't drive on lane 1. However, I get the Vans problem when I drive on lane 2 myself, just that the difference is when I reacted, they leave me alone and stay far far behind. I know most here likely cannot relate because P plate is like so long ago, but some may have children starting to share the car, and if so, do they encounter such Van bullies? I don't understand the logic, but what could be the reason/s to such bullying behavior from van drivers to P plate drivers? Strange? Have you consider the possibility that it is a problem with the type of car? What car you drive? 🤪 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic November 12 Share November 12 (edited) I either stay a bit further when I see P plate or quickly overtake if they're too slow ai mai ai mai type. Road bullying is a self-pwn act in the first place as the bully has to intentionally put himself in danger before he can threaten others. Typically it's a reflection of the driver's own insecurity especially ppl with bitter lives. They feel that they already lost so much in personal life and so they "cannot lose" anymore on the roads. Edited November 12 by Jellandross 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 12 Author Share November 12 (edited) On 11/12/2024 at 3:59 PM, ER-3682 said: @Tianmoyour Daughter must be very Pretty.? My daughters are not 仙女下凡 that type of pretty, but confirm pretty and chio. Edited November 12 by Tianmo 1 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 12 Author Share November 12 On 11/12/2024 at 4:00 PM, boonhat_91 said: Your car look like van? Maybe they trying to say hi and welcome. Your car is conti car or sports car? Maybe innate envy behaviour. No wor, my car far from look like van, and non Conti non sports car lor. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 12 Share November 12 On 11/12/2024 at 5:34 PM, Volvobrick said: Vans kena jiak by normal cars and PHVs and bikes, they dare not jiak big commercial vehicles, only left P-platers to jiak to make themselves feel gooder. Ala food chain…. Lowest level is pmd on roads? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 12 Author Share November 12 On 11/12/2024 at 5:34 PM, Volvobrick said: Vans kena jiak by normal cars and PHVs and bikes, they dare not jiak big commercial vehicles, only left P-platers to jiak to make themselves feel gooder. Ok, now that you mention, makes sense to me, very valid reason. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 12 Author Share November 12 On 11/12/2024 at 6:48 PM, Vid said: Have you consider the possibility that it is a problem with the type of car? What car you drive? 🤪 Unlikely is the car type, because my daughter went to school and asked ard, and all her classmates and schoolmates she spoke to, current and ex P plates, share same experience with Vans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic November 12 Share November 12 On 11/12/2024 at 9:48 PM, Mkl22 said: Ala food chain…. Lowest level is pmd on roads? That's top of the food chain - jiak everyone on road and on pavements! ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...