teomingern 6th Gear May 29 Share May 29 Mine also going to expire... not driving in yet... let's see what happens lor... their servers sure can't survive the surge in applications and the mail service won't be able to cope with mailing out all the tags to Singapore... and half the tags will be defective on arrival like mine cos you paste yourself and there's no testing to see whether it's working or not... really incredibly silly... they should be implementing a system that isn't dependent on the car owner... the car licenses plate camera system was the best idea but it was too early as the hardware and software and AI wasn't advanced enough until now... just buy China's system... they can even tell who you are from the street cameras... surely it can do something as simple as reading a license plate... ↡ Advertisement 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 9:45 PM, therock said: My fear is those corrupt ones just use this to extort $ somehow from those going up VEP also give them access to your residential address. Pretty risky imo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic May 29 Share May 29 This RFID theft or vandalism thing is a real issue add the massive surge in volume … will be interesting 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 2:07 PM, Yeshe said: Anyone know, if I rent a car in Malaysia to drive, do I use only TnG or the rental company just bill me based on VEP usage? VEP is only for foreign vehicles. For rental cars in MY, need to pay by using TnG card. I believe most car rental Company in MY offers prepaid TnG card for renters to use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 9:49 PM, teomingern said: Mine also going to expire... not driving in yet... let's see what happens lor... their servers sure can't survive the surge in applications and the mail service won't be able to cope with mailing out all the tags to Singapore... and half the tags will be defective on arrival like mine cos you paste yourself and there's no testing to see whether it's working or not... really incredibly silly... they should be implementing a system that isn't dependent on the car owner... the car licenses plate camera system was the best idea but it was too early as the hardware and software and AI wasn't advanced enough until now... just buy China's system... they can even tell who you are from the street cameras... surely it can do something as simple as reading a license plate... Think that is not the purpose of VEP RFID. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 9:54 PM, therock said: This RFID theft or vandalism thing is a real issue add the massive surge in volume … will be interesting why do you say it's a real issue? btw do you know how many cars in Msia already have TNG RFID? it's placed at the same places - headlight or windshield. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 9:45 PM, therock said: My fear is those corrupt ones just use this to extort $ somehow from those going up they got many other easier ways to do it. Don't need to wait for this to roll out. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 10:38 PM, Shibadog said: why do you say it's a real issue? btw do you know how many cars in Msia already have TNG RFID? it's placed at the same places - headlight or windshield. The number of users will increase significantly.. I hope my fears are unfounded Crime in M'sia is a real issue 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 10:40 PM, therock said: The number of users will increase significantly.. I hope my fears are unfounded Crime in M'sia is a real issue like i said, it's already very common on msia cars. No need to wait for SG cars to install it. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Macca Clutched May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 9:40 PM, keanC said: I tried to deactivate for my coe expired car. It reply unable to connect backend server. Same error as you. 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 29 Share May 29 (edited) On 5/29/2024 at 8:23 PM, badlammy said: If not wrong, can just deactivate on vep portal. So then the next owner of the car just reactivate the one already on the car? Or have to apply for new one? According to them have to reapply a new one, so then what happens to the old tag? Edited May 29 by Benarsenal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 9:53 PM, Kopites said: VEP also give them access to your residential address. Pretty risky imo. If our gahmen systems can be hacked, sure theirs will very soon too! They won't lose to us. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 11:41 PM, Macca said: Same error as you. 😅 May I know which link to deactivate? I login the main portal, can't find any deactivate button...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 6th Gear May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 10:44 PM, Shibadog said: like i said, it's already very common on msia cars. No need to wait for SG cars to install it. From what i know, initially many pasted on their headlight then moved into the wind screen n finally now behind the front licence plate which seems to work well too, according to my my buddies. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged May 29 Share May 29 On 5/29/2024 at 9:55 AM, Bluepica said: Hi, Those who got their VEP tag and registered for the VEP during the first wave, I'm sure your car VEP is going to expire soon. Mine expiring in Sept 2024, however I have not receive any auto generated email from JPJ although their FAQ stated an email will be send to owner 6 months prior to expiry date. I also can't find any FAQ on how to renew our expiring VEP on their website. Does anyone know how to go about it? Expiring of VEP means the VEP tag also expiring too cos the tag only valid for 5 years, same duration as the VEP. Does that mean we have to registered for a "new" VEP ? mine too....1st batch...but can't remember when gonna expire....was hoping no expiry date... you go find out and share with us bros here.....kam sia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 29 Share May 29 Bolehland will be boleh. All the threats….. aiyah it’s one man in the north yapping. Doubt Johor side will give a damn. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2024 at 1:40 AM, Stary said: May I know which link to deactivate? I login the main portal, can't find any deactivate button...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
thebestbees 2nd Gear May 30 Share May 30 @badlammy I’m at the same page as you. But it doesn’t have the deactivate button for me. Maybe because I register for VEP but didn’t activate my VEP RFID? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...