Malaysia VEP discussion.

Hammerhammer

Frens went in say many shopping ctr now need Touch n Go card to go into carpark n pay when exiting. But best part is many places there Touch n Go cards no stock !! I got 2 old cards both expired haha

5 hours ago, Dafansu said:

VEP registration online is compulsory to enter, only the tag is pending as they just restarted issuing again after the COVID lock-down. Now they don't really check but may implement anytime. 

You 1st time deal with boleh land? 
I won’t say I will chop my didi if they implement, but chances are almost zero.  Till the next scheme comes along. 🤣

10 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

You 1st time deal with boleh land? 
I won’t say I will chop my didi if they implement, but chances are almost zero.  Till the next scheme comes along. 🤣

not first time, but will screenshot and save this so that u can chop if off. Anyway fyi the last gantry when exiting the custom is linked to the VEP.

28 minutes ago, Dafansu said:

not first time, but will screenshot and save this so that u can chop if off. Anyway fyi the last gantry when exiting the custom is linked to the VEP.

Already said I won’t say. 🙄

6 hours ago, Dafansu said:

VEP registration online is compulsory to enter, only the tag is pending as they just restarted issuing again after the COVID lock-down. Now they don't really check but may implement anytime. 

Humm.... I'll hazard a guess....

They'll implement during e 10 yr anniversary¿

The VEP RFID tag can be used to pay the road charges at JB custom, can it be used to pay for tolls? and if so which lane to choose?

Usually we see different types of lane , something like Smartag lane,  MyRFID lane and the usualy TnG lane.

Or VEP tag cannot be used? then i will have to use TnG card liao

Thanks.

@TurboSkyHawk Just came back from Malaysia today, and used ewallet quite extensively throughout the trip. Initially my account is under the lite tier. So I can only top up max RM100 in the ewallet. If you happen to have a big ticket item, may have to use other means of payment. RM100 uses up quite quickly, to be honest, so kind of troublesome to have to keep topping up. 

After that first day, went back and explore the next tier, which is the Pro tier, which has a lot higher top up limits. So used my passport to submit as account verification. After that, my acct got upgraded. With this, you literally can go almost cashless in Malaysia with TnG e-wallet, YouTrip, and maybe just a Maybank ATM if you need to withdraw cash.

The money I exchanged with money exchange only used for petrol, and some other small purchases that doesn't involve the cents. Don't like to keep those coins 😂

@divads1234 

14 hours ago, divads1234 said:

The VEP RFID tag can be used to pay the road charges at JB custom, can it be used to pay for tolls? and if so which lane to choose?

Usually we see different types of lane , something like Smartag lane,  MyRFID lane and the usualy TnG lane.

Or VEP tag cannot be used? then i will have to use TnG card liao

Thanks.

can MYRFID lane, white signage. No need tap, auto open

2 hours ago, Dafansu said:

@divads1234 

can MYRFID lane, white signage. No need tap, auto open

Only if there is this signage on the toll gates... by the way I tried in June hor... at the Kedai Lima toll which opens to the NSHW - didn't work hor... that was like 5.45 am in the morning... sian... had to back out of the toll lane... good thing no one at that hour... which toll did you manage to use VEP RFID to get through? Please share... interested to know... I dare not use the MYRFID lanes thereafter...

From my awareness in driving in twice last month, you can't use e-mallet or VEP RFID on the Tuas side... customs cannot use either, the toll immediately after the customs also cannot use... I tap my TnG card and it deducts from my card balance and not my e-wallet balance even though the card is linked to the e-wallet... in June when I was near KL area, I was forced into a detour through some highway and that highway deducted the toll fee on my e-wallet (can check transaction history)... 

I don't know about Woodlands crossing cos I never used that since forever... ha ha... maybe someone else can update...

I think they're trying to move towards totally cashless payment of toll fees... hence I think slowly won't need the TnG card anymore... once the RFID is installed to all toll gates then buying a TnG card won't be a problem anymore...

I half suspect that the dire shortage of TnG cards is due to the policy to move to cashless toll collections... and not having the physical card means everyone must use the TnG app and e-wallet... so it's only a matter of time that we will be free of buying the card... hoping for that day... cos I top up my e-wallet using credit card... very shiok... even roadside stall also can use... just transfer money to the seller's personal TnG account on his or her phone can already... super easy... pity we don't have something similar in Singapore... Paylah and PayNow must be linked to bank account... should allow link to credit card... safer...

Edited by teomingern

By the way... the road charge at the Second Link customs still needs the balance on the TnG card to pay... Pay Direct doesn't work and of course no MYRFID gantries at all...

How about Woodlands side? Similar? Or upgraded already?

17 minutes ago, teomingern said:

Only if there is this signage on the toll gates... by the way I tried in June hor... at the Kedai Lima toll which opens to the NSHW - didn't work hor... that was like 5.45 am in the morning... sian... had to back out of the toll lane... good thing no one at that hour... which toll did you manage to use VEP RFID to get through? Please share... interested to know... I dare not use the MYRFID lanes thereafter...

From my awareness in driving in twice last month, you can't use e-mallet or VEP RFID on the Tuas side... customs cannot use either, the toll immediately after the customs also cannot use... I tap my TnG card and it deducts from my card balance and not my e-wallet balance even though the card is linked to the e-wallet... in June when I was near KL area, I was forced into a detour through some highway and that highway deducted the toll fee on my e-wallet (can check transaction history)... 

I don't know about Woodlands crossing cos I never used that since forever... ha ha... maybe someone else can update...

I think they're trying to move towards totally cashless payment of toll fees... hence I think slowly won't need the TnG card anymore... once the RFID is installed to all toll gates then buying a TnG card won't be a problem anymore...

I half suspect that the dire shortage of TnG cards is due to the policy to move to cashless toll collections... and not having the physical card means everyone must use the TnG app and e-wallet... so it's only a matter of time that we will be free of buying the card... hoping for that day... cos I top up my e-wallet using credit card... very shiok... even roadside stall also can use... just transfer money to the seller's personal TnG account on his or her phone can already... super easy... pity we don't have something similar in Singapore... Paylah and PayNow must be linked to bank account... should allow link to credit card... safer...

If my memory didn't fail me, the RFID works for me in KL. So I had my e-wallet since 2019. So it will auto-deduct from your e-wallet. I don't think it will work on those tolls near Singapore side, I am not sure also. Usually I just tap and go. 

I do think physical cards will still be needed. They can link your physical card to your e-wallet. At least that was what happen to me at Toppen Shopping Mall. I use the TnG card at entrance and exit, but the fee was deducted from my e-wallet and not the physical card. If they go cashless and card-less, I foresee more problems ahead, esp Singaporean cars when we have to register for VEP, before we can even talk about card-less. They need to scan something for you to go through, so without VEP tag, how to even enter?

32 minutes ago, Aristotle said:

If my memory didn't fail me, the RFID works for me in KL. So I had my e-wallet since 2019. So it will auto-deduct from your e-wallet. I don't think it will work on those tolls near Singapore side, I am not sure also. Usually I just tap and go. 

I do think physical cards will still be needed. They can link your physical card to your e-wallet. At least that was what happen to me at Toppen Shopping Mall. I use the TnG card at entrance and exit, but the fee was deducted from my e-wallet and not the physical card. If they go cashless and card-less, I foresee more problems ahead, esp Singaporean cars when we have to register for VEP, before we can even talk about card-less. They need to scan something for you to go through, so without VEP tag, how to even enter?

Buy TnG RFID lo.

Currently, it is still problematic.  Not fully implement yet.

40 minutes ago, Aristotle said:

Buy the TnG RFID lor... can ship over to Singapore... just paste on windscreen then link to TnG e-wallet in the same way...

7 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Buy TnG RFID lo.

Currently, it is still problematic.  Not fully implement yet.

Everything is halfway lor... that's why it's so difficult to get in for some... right now the border crossing at Tuas/Second Link side doesn't support any of these new initiatives but you just can't buy the card... I think even the EZ-Link/TnG card can't be bought in Singapore anymore... 

Just now, teomingern said:

Everything is halfway lor... that's why it's so difficult to get in for some... right now the border crossing at Tuas/Second Link side doesn't support any of these new initiatives but you just can't buy the card... I think even the EZ-Link/TnG card can't be bought in Singapore anymore... 

That's because ppl never think out of the box lo.

I took bus to cross causeway to top up TnG card.

Just park at Woodlands Old Town.

Just wanted to update here about topping up the TnG cards... something I learnt over the last weekend...

I have 2 TnG cards - one old type and the newer EZ-Link/TnG type I bought from Esso...

I had problems topping up both cards cos none of the petrol stations at the exit toll booth at Second Link side can top up these cards anymore... I usually top petrol at Petronas before crossing back to Singapore... the attendant said the boss tried to apply to have top ups but didn't get approval, then he said the Petron & Shell next door also got problems...

I tried Watson's at a row of shops opposite the Lotus at Bukit Indah Estate... the lady said cannot also - system has been down since forever... she directed me to 7-11...

So I walked over to 7-11 which was some distance away... the cashier took one look at my EZ-Link card and said her machine could not detect it... I asked her to try anyway and she showed me that the screen readout said 'Invalid Card'... dang... so I topped up my old TnG card...

I walked back to Watson's and there's a Caring Pharmacy next door... I stepped in on the off-chance that they can help... and true enough, the sales person said sure! She took my EZ-Link/TnG card and I topped up RM200 into it...

It seems to me that if the shop can use TnG card to deduct from it to pay... then it can also top up... not sure if this is true... but at least I know of another chain of shops that can top up the physical card...

Really so mafan now... sigh...

1 hour ago, Hamburger said:

Look out for TnG top up machine at shopping.mall.

I topped up once at mid valley southern.

The watsons at ksl can do, topped up there recently also, in case you happen to be there. Mine is the new TnG x Ezlink card

Edited by SiLangKia