Malaysia VEP discussion.

Hammerhammer

On 10/7/2024 at 5:13 PM, L23 said:

1. Do you mean MY do not put in enough security measures to protect the data?

2. For the biometrics part, this is for the country to decide to implement or not. 

3. If our system is so good and fast, what happen to Simply GO, ERP 2.0 and many failed projects?

You sound like my friend... Keep saying MY milk powder is poison. Only SG milk is the best..

If MY milk got problem, do you know how many Top Management in Singapore is employed from MY ma? 

I suggest you walk out of the country more before thinking SG is the better than MY...

1. Did you read the article reported in 2019 and in my previous posting?

2. Nothing to do with what I discussing.

3. Did i comment that our systems are flawless? And do we have that many failed projects beside those that you have already listed? Just that comparatively we are not at that low level.

Contrary to your thinking, I enjoy road trips in Malaysia, similar to what I enjoy doing in other countries like Japan, Australia, USA. Furthest I ever drove in Malaysia was to Penang. And I am ok to accept whatever milk in any country so long as got follow proper food safety standards.

On 10/7/2024 at 6:52 PM, therock said:

image.thumb.png.aba191af332a0238d1a4142ad42c6fc4.png

Didn't COVID lock down solved it flawlessly? 100% success rate. [:p] [laugh] [laugh]

In out today registered but without tag… bo taichi 

Just like any other day

😬😅

We are simply too eager to sit out and not go over.
M'sia remains a cost effective place for a holiday, and as the other options become more expensive or crowded, the sheer proximity and the savings make it hard to boycott.. 

The added bonus of clearing carbon helps too...

M’sia still the place to go for those with cars , bikes and bicycles.

If scared this and that, think better stay at home… no need to cum here and run down their ways of running their system.

Sg also not perfect these days after the demise of LKY..

Frankly the way any discussion goes like that is expected of this forum nowadays. Pointing out some concerns about other countries should not be taken as running down the countries, especially when the issues were surfaced by some others along the way and legit. This has nothing to do with anything else. We are still free to decide what to do as i did not force my opinion on anyone. I share some info, if you do not like, why not just ignore instead of spewing some hostile arguments. Same as what some others posted that I will ignore most of the time.

Anyway I am not applying VEP for now. Believe it is up to anyone haha. I will definitely still cross the Custom to do what I enjoy, using other means if need to. Not the end of my world even if this VEP is fully enforced. 

No wonder all the wise men are living in remote mountains.

On 10/8/2024 at 8:08 AM, Heartlander said:

Frankly the way any discussion goes like that is expected of this forum nowadays. Pointing out some concerns about other countries should not be taken as running down the countries, especially when the issues were surfaced by some others along the way and legit. This has nothing to do with anything else. We are still free to decide what to do as i did not force my opinion on anyone. I share some info, if you do not like, why not just ignore instead of spewing some hostile arguments. Same as what some others posted that I will ignore most of the time.

Anyway I am not applying VEP for now. Believe it is up to anyone haha. I will definitely still cross the Custom to do what I enjoy, using other means if need to. Not the end of my world even if this VEP is fully enforced. 

Steady lar bro... 

VEP is a good system to track vehicles and also to make errant drivers to pay their dues.. 
Initial hiccups are expected and we should cut them some slack for .There are diff channels to cross over and let’s not bitch and gloat abt how good our system and yada yada.No wonder Sinkies are hated overseas for their hao lian attitude.. really those black sheeps.. KNN.. 

On 10/7/2024 at 9:31 PM, Neopcn07 said:

Am I correct to say that Registering VEP and applying VEP are different thing?

I think you mean: registering for the VEP tag versus installing the VEP tag... if you don't have a previously registered tag of any sort...

Right now, the enforcement phase is simply to register for the tag. As long as you register online, you're fine. By that, it means you emailed a confirmation slip from the JPJ which you can print out and carry with you in the car... You can take your time and wait for Malaysia side to sort out their website gremlins if other steps after this are screwed - example, verification of documents, de-registration of hung applications...

The other bottleneck is the collection & installation of the tag. For postal & self install option, it can easily take over a month. For booking a collection & installation slot either in Malaysia or Woodlands, that will take I don't know how long cos all the slots are continually fully booked. So I guess this second phase of enforcement where you have to have the tag installed is going to take place only some time next year... who knows when Malaysia gets their act together and sorts this out... 

There's probably a group out there who are simply unable to register even cos of the following reasons:

1. Secondhand car has a registered VEP tag but it can't be de-registered automatically. Need to send documents to JPJ to get them to de-register manually. Who knows how long this takes...

2. Firsthand owners with previously registered VEP tags but already expired or never collected. Also need to do as above but who knows how long that takes...

3. Firsthand owners with previously registered VEP tags and renewed before expiry but the renewal process got stuck due to their system. Also need to write in and ask to restart the process as a new application. But who knows how long that takes...

For the above 3 cases, we're at the mercy of JPJ and how quickly and efficiently and effectively they process our email requests.

My suspicion is that if we go down to the counters at the VEP offices either in Malaya and Singapore, the issue can likely be resolved on the spot but it would require some time to get fixed. Hence the limited number of cases they can handle each day.

Effectively, the offices at Woodlands & Danga Bay are meant to handle all the website gremlins which can't be dealt with effectively over email. While the two new centres in Johor are really meant to cope with the installation workload since most are wary of installing and waiting for activation which may not be given cos the installation isn't done right. So on the balance, it would seem that it's faster to get a physical appointment and get it done since the activation is on the spot.

Which gives me to think that likely we'll see massive demand until end of next year, and so the full enforcement requiring the tag physically installed on our cars plus the active link to our TnG wallets would only be rolled out by end of next year when they've cleared the bulk of demand and basically doing maintenance installations to cover new cars that are registered in Singapore every month... these would number in the 2000-3000 range given the number of COEs available every month from next quarter onwards...

On 10/7/2024 at 9:31 PM, Neopcn07 said:

Am I correct to say that Registering VEP and applying VEP are different thing?

I think you mean: registering for the VEP tag versus installing the VEP tag... if you don't have a previously registered tag of any sort...

Right now, the enforcement phase is simply to register for the tag. As long as you register online, you're fine. By that, it means you emailed a confirmation slip from the JPJ which you can print out and carry with you in the car... You can take your time and wait for Malaysia side to sort out their website gremlins if other steps after this are screwed - example, verification of documents, de-registration of hung applications...

The other bottleneck is the collection & installation of the tag. For postal & self install option, it can easily take over a month. For booking a collection & installation slot either in Malaysia or Woodlands, that will take I don't know how long cos all the slots are continually fully booked. So I guess this second phase of enforcement where you have to have the tag installed is going to take place only some time next year... who knows when Malaysia gets their act together and sorts this out... 

There's probably a group out there who are simply unable to register even cos of the following reasons:

1. Secondhand car has a registered VEP tag but it can't be de-registered automatically. Need to send documents to JPJ to get them to de-register manually. Who knows how long this takes...

2. Firsthand owners with previously registered VEP tags but already expired or never collected. Also need to do as above but who knows how long that takes...

3. Firsthand owners with previously registered VEP tags and renewed before expiry but the renewal process got stuck due to their system. Also need to write in and ask to restart the process as a new application. But who knows how long that takes...

For the above 3 cases, we're at the mercy of JPJ and how quickly and efficiently and effectively they process our email requests.

My suspicion is that if we go down to the counters at the VEP offices either in Malaya and Singapore, the issue can likely be resolved on the spot but it would require some time to get fixed. Hence the limited number of cases they can handle each day.

Effectively, the offices at Woodlands & Danga Bay are meant to handle all the website gremlins which can't be dealt with effectively over email. While the two new centres in Johor are really meant to cope with the installation workload since most are wary of installing and waiting for activation which may not be given cos the installation isn't done right. So on the balance, it would seem that it's faster to get a physical appointment and get it done since the activation is on the spot.

Which gives me to think that likely we'll see massive demand until end of next year, and so the full enforcement requiring the tag physically installed on our cars plus the active link to our TnG wallets would only be rolled out by end of next year when they've cleared the bulk of demand and basically doing maintenance installations to cover new cars that are registered in Singapore every month... these would number in the 2000-3000 range given the number of COEs available every month from next quarter onwards...

I for one benefitted from the improvements made in the vep system following constructive criticisms over it.

The main bottlenecks then for me was the linkage of TnG app to vep over nric, limited appt slots and slow approval time for each step.

Waited and saw the time has ripened. Continued with my old application made pre covid recently. 

Did the usual uploading of docs, made payment and managed to get vep installed before the stated appointment, as some bros shared that it's possible to do so. Took advantage of the light traffic on the first few days of implementation to get it done.

All in all the experience is ok lah. Only significant issue left is those bought 2nd hand cars, like one of my friends.

Now hope to see any improvements made to erp 2.0.......i also adopted wait and see attitude.😄😄😄

On 10/8/2024 at 9:29 AM, TangoCharlie said:

I for one benefitted from the improvements made in the vep system following constructive criticisms over it.

The main bottlenecks then for me was the linkage of TnG app to vep over nric, limited appt slots and slow approval time for each step.

Waited and saw the time has ripened. Continued with my old application made pre covid recently. 

Did the usual uploading of docs, made payment and managed to get vep installed before the stated appointment, as some bros shared that it's possible to do so. Took advantage of the light traffic on the first few days of implementation to get it done.

All in all the experience is ok lah. Only significant issue left is those bought 2nd hand cars, like one of my friends.

Now hope to see any improvements made to erp 2.0.......i also adopted wait and see attitude.😄😄😄

For every complain, there are VEP tags installed on each car as we speak. Many cars have already installed the VEP, but many others also haven't install due to reasons stated and allocation fully booked. Thus the system is working just albeit overwhelmed at the moment. Give it by end of the year things should be back to normal.

On 10/8/2024 at 8:08 AM, Heartlander said:

You said it right but we can't praise you unless you live in remote mountains.

You said it best too, when you said nothing at all.

Please stay to support our economy and the party you always stood up for ya.

😉

On 10/7/2024 at 4:58 PM, Heartlander said:

For passport biometrics, all countries are free to join certain international organisation to ensure system compatibility sort of like 4G/5G and bluettoth and wifi standards. We can roll out so fast because we joined the body very fast, should be among the pioneer members.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biometric_passport

https://www.icao.int/Security/FAL/PKD/Pages/ePassport-Basics.aspx

https://www.icao.int/Security/FAL/PKD/Pages/ICAO-PKDParticipants.aspx

We did implement but we do not collect these sensitive information, and we would definitely put in enough security measures to protect the data.

I am certainly putting the VEP thingy on hold for the time being after getting to know about its history. 

Fun fact - Malaysia was the first country to have biometric on their passport. 😁

On 10/8/2024 at 9:29 AM, TangoCharlie said:

As owner of used car, there is a page dedicated to deregister previous owner.

On 10/8/2024 at 11:15 AM, Zxcvb said:

For every complain, there are VEP tags installed on each car as we speak. Many cars have already installed the VEP, but many others also haven't install due to reasons stated and allocation fully booked. Thus the system is working just albeit overwhelmed at the moment. Give it by end of the year things should be back to normal.

Talked about fully booked. Indeed. Woodlands outlet and Danga Bay outlet all booked, no slots. I tried click on the JPJ Taman Daya de - heng ah got slot for 11th Oct. Dunno where ulu road de - drive in will know. Fingers crossed.