Malaysia VEP discussion.

Hammerhammer

On 9/25/2024 at 11:38 PM, Benarsenal said:

I mean, all they have to do is cross check with LTA. Once a car is deregistered here it is no longer in the system, so Malaysia side can just ask LTA whether this car number is valid or not. If not valid then flag up.

That's additional workload that LTA doesn't need... why expend resources to help another party police their own country? Not something tenable actually... and this has to be live and instant checking - cos you trigger the check at the border when a car crosses from Singapore to Malaysia... either you check all or some cars, either way you want to stop it at the border... how to check whether the car is de-registered or not without direct access to LTA's database? Who would allow a foreign country to access your government's databases? 

On 9/26/2024 at 8:23 AM, teomingern said:

Still doesn't work... Singaporeans rent and borrow cars to drive around in Malaysia... the car doesn't belong to you but you're still authorized to drive it... but how would the authorities know? This is the car owner responsibility if he loan his car to somebody so MY police will come after the owner.

If I sold my car it is my responsibility to deregister VEP of the car to save all the trouble later.

They'll just get mules to drive in these cars, just going in once a week will do... they can easily 'export' a fair number of cars... some of these are sold to buyers in Malaysia but others are used for crime...

As you say, the authorities can track only if they tie car registration with the VEP details to the passport of driver on entry to Malaysia; then on exit, the driver is picked up cos he exits without the car... that would require considerably backend cooperation between JPJ & Customs & Immigration plus Police... of course that's their internal affairs but you still don't stop the cars going in actually... stopping the person is after the fact... and some of these people may use false identities if they're a syndicate...

On 9/26/2024 at 9:33 AM, Voodooman said:

If you sell your car, you will deregister and they will have to find someone to register.  If criminal and can be traced to applicant, the risk of arrest and or ban will deter such fronting.  

As for false identity, guess that is why they are asking for so many documents in order to verify the identity of the applicant and the ownership. 

These steps alone will cut down on entry of such vehicles, by making it more difficult for the syndicate to operate.  It is not foolproof but they can't do shit now when they don't know anything and don't even have a paper trail. 

They actually only know who the owner is... but the person driving the car in can always fake the info for registration especially if the tag wasn't de-registered (as I was saying earlier, it's too difficult to do so), and so the car is driven with the particulars of another person but whoever is driving the car could say they borrowed the car or rented the car... any evidence like text message exchanges, car rental agreement can all be faked easily... if it's lucrative enough, the syndicates will find ways which will render this VEP system useless...

Also the person driving in is using fake credentials... recording it doesn't help cos it's fake... you're recording a ghost... that's also why ICA is using biometrics identification at our borders cos it's not always possible to detect fake passports - some countries passports are so low level, it's too easy to fake, that includes the US incidentally...

On 9/26/2024 at 9:38 AM, Si4dr said:

Definitely, but the true owner will be able to show the de-registration of his old car easily with the LTA data... your account with LTA shows the list of vehicles you own... buay zao one... so the Malaysian authorities also can't do anything to you... your VEP registration details of the old car coupled with the LTA registration of the new car will corroborate and it will be clear you sold the car with de-registration... you can just as easily show the Malaysian authorities that you can't de-register cos don't have such a button under your account in the VEP websites plus you emailed but got no response... troublesome but that's part of what we have to go through to go to Malaysia... just prepare all the documents electronically, ensure you have data to login to LTA and VEP websites lor... 

On 9/26/2024 at 9:39 AM, teomingern said:

They actually only know who the owner is... but the person driving the car in can always fake the info for registration especially if the tag wasn't de-registered (as I was saying earlier, it's too difficult to do so), and so the car is driven with the particulars of another person but whoever is driving the car could say they borrowed the car or rented the car... any evidence like text message exchanges, car rental agreement can all be faked easily... if it's lucrative enough, the syndicates will find ways which will render this VEP system useless...

Also the person driving in is using fake credentials... recording it doesn't help cos it's fake... you're recording a ghost... that's also why ICA is using biometrics identification at our borders cos it's not always possible to detect fake passports - some countries passports are so low level, it's too easy to fake, that includes the US incidentally...

Sorry, I am not following you. 

With VEP, they will trace ownership to you. If you are not responsible, you will bao toh the suspect. Anyway, if I lend someone my car, I expect the person to return it and not sell it in MY hor.  This discussion is getting funny.  😂😂😂

Fake credentials, you mean passport?  Guess that is another story for another day. 

On 9/26/2024 at 10:01 AM, Voodooman said:

With VEP, they will trace ownership to you. If you are not responsible, you will bao toh the suspect. Anyway, if I lend someone my car, I expect the person to return it and not sell it in MY hor.  This discussion is getting funny.  😂😂😂

Fake credentials, you mean passport?  Guess that is another story for another day. 

What I am saying is, you already scrapped the car, but the syndicates will get someone to drive in the car... if you haven't de-registered the VEP tied to that car, obviously the Malaysian authorities would pick that up, the person driving in your old car is not you cos the passport details not the same... but the person driving your old car will just say borrowed the car from you... would the customs officer actually call you to verify? May be, may be not... maybe you won't even pick up the call since it's a foreign number calling your mobile, provided you haven't changed your number since registration of the VEP tag which may have been 5 year ago...

So many hypothetical situations, and also allowing an entity from another country to query our government database, in light of all the PDPA regulations we build up in the past years. People must be very free. Lol

What Govt database? All they need to do is check whether the SG registered car is valid. This can be done so simply and easily on OneMotoring by anybody, and takes less than 1 minute.

Edited by Benarsenal

On 9/26/2024 at 10:19 AM, teomingern said:

What I am saying is, you already scrapped the car, but the syndicates will get someone to drive in the car... if you haven't de-registered the VEP tied to that car, obviously the Malaysian authorities would pick that up, the person driving in your old car is not you cos the passport details not the same... but the person driving your old car will just say borrowed the car from you... would the customs officer actually call you to verify? May be, may be not... maybe you won't even pick up the call since it's a foreign number calling your mobile, provided you haven't changed your number since registration of the VEP tag which may have been 5 year ago...

When scrapping just peel off the tag! 

On 9/26/2024 at 10:01 AM, Voodooman said:

When crossing the border, is the idea to cross check the car versus passport/ID in which case only the owner can drive it?

How does it work with loaners/rentals?

They don't care who drives, so long as car has a VEP?

Hmmmmm....... just to summarize  ....... in SG context, at the custom..... CIQ is CIQ, LTA is LTA, CNB is CNB, AVA is AVA, Even SPF is SPF lor ..... Oh what, SG got the Super duper Computer Database wor ........

Ya ....... right ....... for example AVA officer accessing LTA Dbase  .......

Wah ....... Fake VEP Tag sia ...

Amid the rush to secure Malaysia's Vehicle Entry Permits (VEP) before the Oct 1 deadline, some Singapore drivers have fallen prey to scams that offer help with VEP applications. 

Several drivers said they've received fake RFID tags after engaging these services, Shin Min Daily News reported on Wednesday (Sept 25).

Wang, an employee of Zhou Xiaobao Singapore-Malaysia Towing Services, which helps Singaporean drivers apply for VEP, told Shin Min that the company has received at least three complaints of fake RFID tags over the past three weeks. 

His company charges around $200 for VEP application, while the fraudsters are offering the same service for $130. 

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/beware-vep-scammers-are-selling-fake-rfid-tags-singapore-drivers

On 9/26/2024 at 8:42 PM, bsswan said:

When crossing the border, is the idea to cross check the car versus passport/ID in which case only the owner can drive it?

How does it work with loaners/rentals?

They don't care who drives, so long as car has a VEP?

I am saying with VEP readers, they can capture who drove the car into MY which is later found to have cloned another MY vehicle. It is easier to collate the information with computerised records. The driver and owner (they already know) don’t have to be the same person. 

We know SG CIQ recorded those information and I don’t see why with VEP, MY won’t. 

Edited by Voodooman

On 9/26/2024 at 11:14 AM, Benarsenal said:

What Govt database? All they need to do is check whether the SG registered car is valid. This can be done so simply and easily on OneMotoring by anybody, and takes less than 1 minute.

Don't you need SingPass to do so? Otherwise can only enquire about PARF/COE rebate only... not sure if that alone is enough... plus got some fields to enter... probably need a script to do so which shouldn't be a problem... but at peak crossing and enquiring online, I think it's going to take a long time to load... 

On 9/26/2024 at 10:22 PM, Voodooman said:

I am saying with VEP readers, they can capture who drove the car into MY which is later found to have cloned another MY vehicle. It is easier to collate the information with computerised records. The driver and owner (they already know) don’t have to be the same person. 

We know SG CIQ recorded those information and I don’t see why with VEP, MY won’t. 

Definitely that's the case... but how would they know the car crossing the border is registered still if the VEP tag isn't de-registered for a car already scrapped? As I say, my dad's car is going to be scrapped today but the tag is still active and there's no way to de-register it on the website now... so it will pass into the scrapyard with the tag still registered... we'll peel off the tag for sure and I hope it helps... don't want to get into trouble later on due to this clone car issue...

On 9/27/2024 at 7:53 AM, teomingern said:

Definitely that's the case... but how would they know the car crossing the border is registered still if the VEP tag isn't de-registered for a car already scrapped? As I say, my dad's car is going to be scrapped today but the tag is still active and there's no way to de-register it on the website now... so it will pass into the scrapyard with the tag still registered... we'll peel off the tag for sure and I hope it helps... don't want to get into trouble later on due to this clone car issue...

Late last year, my family sold a car that was VEP registered (but Tag not issued yet), TCSens took a couple of days to deregister the vehicle. They asked for documentary evidence as well.  I would guess your dad’s current situation (inability to deregister) is temporary, the button is already there, just not working. 

The onus is for car owner to deregister once the car is sold or scrapped, if not you better have documentary proof to cover yourself.