Malaysia VEP discussion.

Hammerhammer

On 9/22/2024 at 5:33 PM, Kopites said:

Money talks. Let see whether the erp policy or economic wellbeing which aspect will prevail come 1st october(nov/dec..school holiday)..

JB economy is supported by day trippers. KL may however see less SGeans. 

Demand is more than supply at crossing.  

If no jam, i will visit weekly instead of 1-2 times a month.  

Johor MB priorities for Johorians working in SG.  Don't think too highly of ourselves as a collective body.

Let's see what happens in the next few months. 😂😂😂

Edited by Voodooman

On 9/22/2024 at 9:55 PM, Voodooman said:

JB economy is supported by day trippers. 

Those malls for foreigners, Yes.

The rest are supported by locals (including those working here)

On 9/22/2024 at 12:04 PM, Voodooman said:

My guess is they will likely allow those who have already registered while pending installation to go through, at least for next few months.  

The question is will they allow the same for those who haven't been able to register (lots of second owner with issues) to go through on 1 Oct? 

If the main purpose is to force registration so that they can come after you for traffic summons, they will be less particular about tag installation for the time being.  

For those non registered vehicles, give one warning and let through after 1 Oct, then if still enter without registration, the law kicks in. I think that's fair. 

But as long as we are registered, and it's their backend backlog, it's also fair to say we sld be allowed to enter as per installed vehicles since it's a matter of time the system clears the backlogs and installation done as we move forward. 

The system will be and sld be a long term requirement, since there will be new vehicles register every 2 weeks here, and of those,  x% are replacement vehicles, y% will be driving over. It's not like die die the system will stop on 1 Oct and any vehicle not registered cannot do it anymore, the system will just continue to run leh. 

The backend operation is the complicated part to manage, but the total layout of how the project sld be run is really not that complicated. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 9/22/2024 at 5:33 PM, Kopites said:

Money talks. Let see whether the erp policy or economic wellbeing which aspect will prevail come 1st october(nov/dec..school holiday)..

Why choose 1 Oct? 

So that they have some time to sort things out before the year end super peak drive through mah.

Money talks can always give special period of no checks during year end peak, very difficult meh?

Over here, some ERP gantries also can shut down during school holidays leh. 

事在人为, it depends on how much and how badly they wanted to get it done only. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 9/23/2024 at 12:10 AM, Tianmo said:

Why choose 1 Oct? 

So that they have some time to sort things out before the year end super peak drive through mah.

Money talks can always give special period of no checks during year end peak, very difficult meh?

Over here, some ERP gantries also can shut down during school holidays leh. 

事在人为, it depends on how much and how badly they wanted to get it done only. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Hope they do so in coming school holiday. Planning a trip in December to stock up some sport accessories(clothing,shoes...) for my boy new year. 😁

On 9/22/2024 at 9:55 PM, Voodooman said:

On 9/22/2024 at 11:58 PM, Tianmo said:

For those non registered vehicles, give one warning and let through after 1 Oct, then if still enter without registration, the law kicks in. I think that's fair. 

But as long as we are registered, and it's their backend backlog, it's also fair to say we sld be allowed to enter as per installed vehicles since it's a matter of time the system clears the backlogs and installation done as we move forward. 

The system will be and sld be a long term requirement, since there will be new vehicles register every 2 weeks here, and of those,  x% are replacement vehicles, y% will be driving over. It's not like die die the system will stop on 1 Oct and any vehicle not registered cannot do it anymore, the system will just continue to run leh. 

The backend operation is the complicated part to manage, but the total layout of how the project sld be run is really not that complicated. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

It's their country. Their rules. If they don't want non registered sinkie cars to go over and threaten to jail/fine, then we just don't go.

We won't die. Maybe their biz will. 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 9/23/2024 at 7:35 AM, Kopites said:

Hope they do so in coming school holiday. Planning a trip in December to stock up some sport accessories(clothing,shoes...) for my boy new year. 😁

There's nothing to hope really. 

MY made the announcement in late May, and if you have plans to go in Dec before the announcement, you sld have quickly gone ahead and made arrangements. Even if the system takes 6 months to complete from start to end, you would still make it in time to go in Dec.

If you made the plan after the announcement, then you have to ask yourself why do you want to join the mess after reading about the delays and screw ups? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 9/23/2024 at 10:26 AM, Volvobrick said:

It's their country. Their rules. If they don't want non registered sinkie cars to go over and threaten to jail/fine, then we just don't go.

We won't die. Maybe their biz will. 

Yes, it's their country and their rules, so I won't say it's threaten, they do have their rights to set their own laws. If we can accept then go, nobody is forcing anybody mah.

COVID shut down the causeway so long, who died from the stop border crossing?

We always like to think that they need us, but maybe we need them more? I don't know, but it's not like JB is build for SG only, there are many Malaysians working in SG but living in JB, they have the same spending power as any Singaporeans, some maybe even stronger. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 9/23/2024 at 11:23 AM, Tianmo said:

Yes, it's their country and their rules, so I won't say it's threaten, they do have their rights to set their own laws. If we can accept then go, nobody is forcing anybody mah.

We always like to think that they need us, but maybe we need them more? I don't know, but it's not like JB is build for SG only, there are many Malaysians working in SG but living in JB, they have the same spending power as any Singaporeans, some maybe even stronger. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I can attest! my colleagues who reside in JB earns more than me. hahaha. 😆 

On 9/22/2024 at 7:35 AM, Fellows said:

Another update:

Today went in but it didn’t deduct from my eWallet as compared to last week, still need to tap physical TnG at the JB CIQ counter, enter from Woodlands side. Wait awhile it didn’t open, so take out card and tap on both reader. 

I have totally no idea now whether are all their RFID reader functioning or is it working yet fail to detect at all their counter inside CIQ, that the issue of using RFID, there is always an uncertainty. Malaysia boleh! 🤷🏻‍♂️

I encountered the same last week. Think they may be moving the readers.  I have to use my TnG card too.

I suspect this is in preparation of 1 Oct, they will need to have a VEP lane and non VEP lane at exit lane after custom clearance.

Without the 300,000 Malaysians staying in JB but commuting here daily, the great Singapore economy won't collapse as well although some businesses here will come under considerable pressure.  Just like if we were to stop going to JB collectively, Johor economy will suffer too but it will still survive, as it did during Covid lockdown (as you have correctly pointed out).  It is clearly a mutually beneficial relationship. We should be more humble and not talk like we own Johor and Johorians their livelihood. It is a 2-way exchange.

消消氣,別跟自己過不去.  The many complaints here show that most of us are practical. We want to continue to drive to Johor, despite VEP, to spend our bullock cart money there to help our neighbors at our expenses.  😂😂😂

On 9/23/2024 at 6:42 PM, Philipkee said:

IMG-1920.png

Confirm just with confirmation slip can liao if no rfid

Source - tng app under FAQ at VEP

when was this posted? this has been the arrangement since 2019. There's no official words from JPJ yet.

On 9/23/2024 at 11:14 AM, Tianmo said:

There's nothing to hope really. 

MY made the announcement in late May, and if you have plans to go in Dec before the announcement, you sld have quickly gone ahead and made arrangements. Even if the system takes 6 months to complete from start to end, you would still make it in time to go in Dec.

If you made the plan after the announcement, then you have to ask yourself why do you want to join the mess after reading about the delays and screw ups? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Some people like the thrill of taking risk and getting away with it. Maybe can then proudly say… bo tai chee lay… no one checked or stopped. 😂

On 9/23/2024 at 6:46 PM, Voodooman said:

Without the 300,000 Malaysians staying in JB but commuting here daily, the great Singapore economy won't collapse as well although some businesses here will come under considerable pressure.  Just like if we were to stop going to JB collectively, Johor economy will suffer too but it will still survive, as it did during Covid lockdown (as you have correctly pointed out).  It is clearly a mutually beneficial relationship. We should be more humble and not talk like we own Johor and Johorians their livelihood. It is a 2-way exchange.

消消氣,別跟自己過不去.  The many complaints here show that most of us are practical. We want to continue to drive to Johor, despite VEP, to spend our bullock cart money there to help our neighbors at our expenses.  😂😂😂

Wah lao, do I sound like I am upset to you?  No lah, I am not leh. Actually I was quite emotionless when I posted. 

This doesn't even bother me a bit, since I have no intention to drive in anytime soon. I didn't even register for the VEP, and was just stating some facts. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 9/23/2024 at 7:23 PM, Dafansu said:

when was this posted? this has been the arrangement since 2019. There's no official words from JPJ yet.

Dunno about when. It’s in the Tng app.  

On 9/23/2024 at 6:46 PM, Voodooman said:

one word .... symbiosis .... [laugh] 

Imagine if LTA implement ERP 2.0 on all foreign vehicles😅